We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean simplicity”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We traveled with a flexi-drive program that gave us the choice of over 100 motels/B&Bs in Costa Rica. They pre-booked this place for us for our first night. They said it was their second choice in the San Jose area (first choice was booked). However, we enjoyed it. At the end of our trip, we stayed the last night back in San Jose. We booked the first choice this time and did not enjoy it nearly as much as this place (it was the Hotel Britannia..we wrote a review on it as well)! We regretted this decision significantly.

Our goal for hotels on this trip was basically sufficiency. We were only looking for everything to be good enough - clean, enough space for some bags, quiet enough to sleep, breakfast enough to fill you up for a bit, etc. I say this because we really liked this hotel, but it was not fancy, the bed was not out of a W hotel, etc. You get the point.

The front has very cozy patio seating (feels like the secret garden). They have a nice, simple restaurant and bar with live music (meals might be a little small if you're use to big plates). The bed's mattress was 5-6 inches, but we got a great night's sleep. We also had a cute little porch! You couldn't hang out there, but it was cute.

The staff was very friendly. They have 2 computers with free internet access. It was in a safe area and a good location within walking distance to many popular places.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fleur de Lys
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2010

Don't stay here if you can avoid it. The hotel rooms vary from acceptable to downright awful. The worst are dark and smelly and the best are OKish. The staff don't seem to have any interest in their guests and the area the hotel is in is not good. During our tour we stayed here on three separate nights and had a different room each time, but I never felt comfortable here and was glad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 night at the start of our trip round Costa Rica and one night before we came home. It is situated in bad part of San Jose and advised not to go out after dark.
We found this hotel not up to standard it was dirty and the bathrooms smelled of urine. The beds were always clean and comfortable,but my main complaint is that some rooms had no outside window. The window in the room looked out to a corridor were ever one passed it felt very cautrophobic. The celling fan did help to move the air about which did help the situation.
The food at breakfast time was dreadfull and if you did not get there early no food was left and what was left was cold. The food in the evening was better but very expensive.
We went on a tour with a company and I shall be complaing about this hotel to them,we payed a lot of money for this trip and expected better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DecerningLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed here four nights, in three different rooms, during a tour which started, ended, and had a mid point in San Jose. All the rooms were different and we learnt from other family and tour members that they vary considerably in size and brightness. All were clean, with comfortable beds, coffee making machines, TV etc. The hallways, particularly the main first floor landing, are elegant with polished floors and floral arrangements. We only ate breakfast here, which was perfectly ample if unexciting, but were told by others in our party that the evening meals were very good.
Overall this hotel is probably a good stopping off base for a touring holiday. It is very convenient for walking to the centre of San Jose, reasonably comfortable and has a friendly small hotel ambience.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed at this hotel before and after a tour of National Parks and before our final return. 2 of the rooms were dark with no outside windows, however the third was very bright and airy. There is no lift and some rooms are on upper floors. A good hotel for our stop overs.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crimpsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed here at beginning and end of Costa Rican trip, in different rooms both clean and comfortable. Free wireless internet & computers for guest use. Coffee available downstairs and in the room. Breakfast adequate, not exceptional, but enough to fill you up. The position is very good & although we had front rooms, we were not really disturbed by the train.

Don't expect luxury, but a good basic hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Good location; rooms were good, not great. we realy enjoyed the ambiance of the bar, and the restaurant was surprisingly good. We would stay here again

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellenint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 77 in San Jose
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 77 in San Jose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#20 of 77 in San Jose
410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £32 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing