We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
688 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel is one of the oldest in the city center and is a historical building. The rooms are a bit tired but for the price its a good value. Breakfast was included in my rate and it's served on the top floor. The buffet room is not decorated nicely but the view of the city from here is nice. The hotel is across the street from the National Theatre and the Gold Museum. In March 1963 President JFKennedy was at this hotel, so if its good enough for the president it should be okay for you.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    295
    273
    131
    76
See reviews for
148
349
85
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The desk clerks were cranky and reluctant, especially the Front Desk Manager. The halls smelled strongly of cleaning chemicals and the room was hot and stuffy. Hot water was sporadic and one night, no water at all from the bathtub. On a Saturday 9:a.m. they loudly power sprayed the front patio, The waiters in the restaurant and at breakfast were always congenial and helpful. The food was quite good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed there three times in July and made different experiences. Rooms were always clear and nice with having the old colonial flavour. First booking was via opodo and they could not find our reservation. So we were lucky there was vacancy. Our taxi to the airport was confirmed by the hotel, but did not show up. This brought us in a messy situation.

Last day a large group stayed there and there was much noise in the whole building with people partying.

Be prepared to have a noisy location, but we enjoyed the style very much and the central location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riekebusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I have been to Costa Rica several times and finally spent a night in the Gran Hotel Costa Rica. This one-time jewel of San Jose hotels is feeling its age. The room price was reasonable, and the staff was friendly, but the room was just fair. It was dark and musty. A sign in the bathroom said to wait for hot water, as they were redoing the plumbing, but after eight minutes, I took a cold shower. I will definitely visit the outdoor cafe again for a drink and to people watch, but it is unlikely I will stay here again.

Room Tip: You will pay less by purchasing a room online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The thing the Gran has going for it is it's location. It is right next to the National Theatre and within walking distance of pretty much everything, except the Jade Museum. The charm of the hotel is it's lobby with live piano twice a day and it's outdoor cafe. It is classic in it's feel and decor. However, our room the first two nights were in a room where the window faced the center of the hotel. In a hotel that does not have air conditioning that made the air flow limited. The other down side was that they were doing some construction, which we were not told about, and therefore had men walking by our window until about 4:45pm and started hammering outside our window at 7am the next day. We left the Gran and went exploring the northern parts of Costa Rica for a couple of days and returned to the Gran for our last night before going to the airport. This time we were put in a room that had outward facing windows which made it nice, but the plumbing is from the decades passed which left you no other option but the turn the hot water handle and walk away for about 10 minutes until the water became hot. The bed was also very hard, but if you don't mind that stuff you cannot beat the location. :)

Room Tip: Be specific about where you would like your room. Outward facing windows are valuable with no a/c!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallisaw, OK
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Gran Hotel about five years ago, and really liked our stay. The hotel is in walking distance of about anything you might want to see or do in downtown San Jose. The staff is fun, friendly and helpful. The food is very good, if maybe a little overprices. You can sample much more Tico cuisine at other establishments for a much better price. Still, we haven't been able to find anything comparable to their food for the price anywhere stateside. The rooms are sparse but adequate. Can be noisy at night. We had no problems with hot water, temp, requests from the desk. Don't expect to find five star treatment or amenities. You can get everything you need at the hotel for a price, but it's easier and cheaper to walk a half a block to the market. Gran Hotel is unbeatable if you want to be right downtown in the larges metro area in CR. This is an incredible historic site, well worth the visit. Wife had a ball at their little casino, and won about 400 USD (that's like a billion colones in local currency) there our first night. I won another 400 USD in another little casino just down the paseo. What a vacation bonus!! Gran Hotel is within walking distance to El Mercado, shops, restaurants, embassy, banks, museums, sodas, bus stops, etc. The National Theatre is just across the entryway. Traffic is a mess if you plan to drive. If you can manage downtown LA, Chicago or NYC, then no problem. Otherwise, keep in mind that if your bumper is in front of another bumper, you got right of way if you have courage and a big vehicle. If not, you're stuck. There might be better deals on rooms in San Jose, and bigger and grander rooms, but it's hard to beat the historic and cultural flavor of the Gran Hotel.

Chuck

Room Tip: Very friendly staff. Book by phone, and just ask for what you would like. They do a good job tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chafraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I went to CR on business and brought my 6yr old daughter along. We stayed at the Gran Hotel and loved it! The room was beautiful, with a view of the old theater and plaza. Importantly, don't go for one of the cheap rooms. (I suspect that is what happened for those who didn't enjoy their stay.) Get a slight more expensive room--preferably a corner room over looking both plazas. Those rooms are completely renovated and quiet too.

Room Tip: go for a more expensive room... preferably a corner one over looking both plazas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#29 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the absence of a major first-class hotel in the country, the Constitutional Congress of the Republic of Costa Rica enacted the law number 34 on November 22, 1928, which was actually a contract subscribed on October 3, 1928, by and between the first owner of the hotel, Dr. Luis Paulino Jimenez Ortiz, and Cleto Gonzalez Viquez, President of the Republic. It granted a series of fiscal benefits to the contractor, in exchange for the construction of the hotel. There was also a provision according to which the Government was granted for twenty years the right to have at their disposal for free two apartments at the hotel for lodging foreign diplomatic representatives of extraordinary nature. Grand Hotel Costa Rica is today operated by the Elite Hotels and Resorts Costa Rica hotel chain. It is the only hotel in Costa Rica that was declared a historical and architectural monument by the government of Costa Rica. Located in the heart of the San Jose between national monuments, squares, museums and pedestrian streets, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica is just a few steps away from the cultural landmarks and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing