We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sanctuary for weary travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Excellent sanctuary for weary travellers”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This review is solely regarding the integrated restaurant. If you are looking for a fantastic veranda with old world Spanish presidential charm this place can't be beat. We had the Corvina Ceviche and Shrimp Salad and both were delightful. The cafe o'lait following was excellent as well. The desert Fruzzata was unique and a melody of flavors unique to any other.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your nice comments on our restaurant. Please come back soon and try another delightful dish of which we have a nice menu full of it. Bon apetit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    295
    273
    131
    76
See reviews for
148
349
85
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Hotel is located in the center of San Jose. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the prices very fair. They had a young woman playing the piano who was very good. The waiters were very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioner and fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad we could meet and surpass your expectations. Please come back soon to your home away from home to the Gran Hotel Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The general manager was kind enough to prepare our Guanabana into a fresh fruit drink for us. Thank you so much! Also, he warmed up the tamales I had made and brought them in a beautiful bowl. We ordered a few drinks, but most of all dined on the food I brought from our rain forest ranch in Limon. I always come to the Gran Hotel afer my trips working on my ranch.
Randall was very nice and I hope to be back in January.
Pura Vida.. gracias,
Doctora Laura Huffman Leyva

Room Tip: Look for a centralized, safe hotel. This is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you liked staying at our property. We are looking forward to welcome you back in January at your home away from home the Gran Hotel Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, especially the seafood risotto and focaccia. Try a G&T. Very good dessert, excellent waiters... Even ones on their first day! Piano player, lit fountain, outdoor seating, perfect temperature. A nice downtown experience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and we are glad we could meet and surpass your expectations. Come back soon to your home away from home and we will be more than pleased to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I read some of the other tripadvisor reviews of this hotel and would like to add my thoughts. It has an old-fashioned charm that I really liked, though some reviewers clearly don't. It is clearly not the 'W' Hotel (a good thing, in my opinion), and if you are a stickler for 'W' amenities in your hotel, this may not be the place for you. I appreciated the historic architecture, the history of the hotel itself and the cleanliness of the room and the common areas. Most of all, the hospitality was classic Tico: there was a front desk receptionist whose name I never got, who was genuinely welcoming. We had a very early flight and would be checking out before the included breakfast; without our asking, she offered and followed through on very homey, delicious brown bag breakfasts to go. It was as if Mom was sending us off to the airport at 4:00 am. I really appreciated the personal touch of this and took a mental note that I would put this on tripadvisor. Gran Hotel is definitely not as pump-and-thump trendy as a 'W' hotel, but I will always stay here when in San Jose. Muchas gracias!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awwwwyeeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are glad you like our classic old world charm hotel and hope to welcome you back soon here at your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The yellowed photos on the wall show the Gran Hotel Costa Rica in its glory days. The hotel exudes a beautiful decrepitude. The halls and rooms are cut up. The furniture is shabby, but the beds are comfortable. The ballroom is magnificent, but hosts only the hotel breakfast -- which is ample and delicious. The location can't be beat -- in the center of the city, beside the national theater and the pedestrian mall, and near the city market. The service was excellent, from the waiter at the hotel restaurant, to the maid service, to the valet who had our car ready at the appointed time. A farsighted management could restore this gem.

Room Tip: Our four children had a large room overlooking the plaza in front of the hotel. Yes, the plaza was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reevesdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We apologize for the hot water inconveniences and have already fixed this problem. We hope to welcome you back soon to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Room was average (wouldn't say it was to a 4* standard) with a fan instead of AC. Shower was stone cold!!!
Breakfast was great with a nice view over San Jose. Good and friendly service. Location excellent as a base to explore the city - but there isn't that much to see in SJ!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandor T, Director General at Gran Hotel Costa Rica, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your much appreciated comments. We are sorry about the water heater problem, since your stay we have changed the equipment and solved the problem. We hope to welcome you back soon at our historical property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 85 in San Jose
1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 85 in San Jose
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#29 of 85 in San Jose
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Costa Rica

Property: Gran Hotel Costa Rica
Address: Central and Second Ave. Between 1 & 3, San Jose 527-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#7 Casino Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the absence of a major first-class hotel in the country, the Constitutional Congress of the Republic of Costa Rica enacted the law number 34 on November 22, 1928, which was actually a contract subscribed on October 3, 1928, by and between the first owner of the hotel, Dr. Luis Paulino Jimenez Ortiz, and Cleto Gonzalez Viquez, President of the Republic. It granted a series of fiscal benefits to the contractor, in exchange for the construction of the hotel. There was also a provision according to which the Government was granted for twenty years the right to have at their disposal for free two apartments at the hotel for lodging foreign diplomatic representatives of extraordinary nature. Grand Hotel Costa Rica is today operated by the Elite Hotels and Resorts Costa Rica hotel chain. It is the only hotel in Costa Rica that was declared a historical and architectural monument by the government of Costa Rica. Located in the heart of the San Jose between national monuments, squares, museums and pedestrian streets, the Gran Hotel Costa Rica is just a few steps away from the cultural landmarks and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing