We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It needs a serious upgrade”
Review of Hemingway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hemingway Inn
Ranked #36 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Booked in here as part of a group. The hotel needs an upgrade, attention to detail is sadly lacking. The room had nails and screws sticking out of walls, the ceiling fan didn't work ( no AC ) none of the plug sockets worked in fact I would say they are dangerous, poor shower. Bed, pillow and bedding had seen better days. I didn't partake in breakfast as it appeared a little disorganised, they is a lovely hotel on the opposite corner that serves decent food. The area appears pretty good during the day and security at the front gate is good. Despite the above I would like to congratulate the hotel's management, one of our group left their wallet by mistake and the hotel arranged to send it to the bus station we were heading to without asking - very good customer care. Overall there are better hotels for a similar price in San Jose.

Room Tip: Good hotel opposite for meals. If you turn left as you leave the hotel and walk a couple of blocks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Pros
- Central location
- Helpful and friendly staff
- Room was okay, a bit shabby but fine - bathroom was small but functional with a hot shower
- TV included
- Very small and enclosed balcony
- Good value for the price
- Hot breakfast was included in the price and was okay
Cons
- No elevator so you had to lift your luggage upstairs - it was kind of a maze to get to our room
- A lot of street noise at night - if you are a light sleeper this may not be the place for you

Room Tip: Ask for the Hemingway Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

descriptions seemed far better than the hotel actually is: it's more hostellike, rooms could need some renovation and new mattresses! the neighborhood is ok during daylight but turns into redlight at night..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed two nights in December. Safe, pretty, central location. A couple of great restaurants close by for dinner. Breakfast is included with copious amounts of coffee. Service from the team is exceptional - they really cannot do enough for you, and the bonus, as in most parts of Costa Rica is there are bilingual speakers everywhere, both Spanish and English.

The room - stayed in the Ginsberg room (room 9) - small room, single very comfy bed, awesome shower, nice breeze as has two window aspects up top. I have heard from people staying here with me that the larger rooms are really quite nice. The communal areas are really quite funky, with lots of nice little touches.

I didn't mark this as 5 stars purely because my room was the "box room" of the hotel. However, I have already pre-booked for my last night before flying out home.. so it has already served it's purpose!

Room Tip: San Jose is fairly noisy everywhere, but being up a hill, the noises from downtown don't travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taz046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here on two occasions and the experiences were great. The owner is a cool guy and he's protective of his guests which is a plus because its a little dangerous at night.
I stayed here for just $25 a night in October 2010 and $35 a night in March 2011.

Clean bathrooms and comfortable beds. I definitely recommend this place for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

While clearing customs another USA citizen asked where I was going to stay & where I was going ? I replied I don't know & this is how a travel most times away from home. After thinking hard & long he said I know a friend who owns a hotel in the city of San Jose. Off I was to the Hemingway Inn. Upon arrival & check-in I asked if the owner Calvin, was in; hearing he was not I left a message for him. After getting some rest, Calvin called & introduced himself.
Calvin very knowledgable about the city, history of the country, sights & tours of what my interest were.
The entire staff that I came in contact with was nothing short of helpful, willing to assist & made me feel right at home as my new central american family. Surprise birthday parties, chefs coming twice a week for special meal preparations, music/tv for late night or early morning gatherings near & under the open roof area, Eveyone is invited, it does NOT get any better than this.
The rooms are clean, hardwood floors & paneled walls with art throughout.
Located in the heart of the city, safe area, excellent value for the money and friendly customer service orientated staff. FUN TIMEs.
I will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in room # 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melvin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHotel, General Manager at Hemingway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you Melvin. The management and staff are grateful for your visit. We value your business and friendship. We are constantly working on ways to improve the Hemingway Inn and to make it a better place for current and future guest.
Our door is open to travelers and our staff looks forward to assist our guest in anyway possible while at the Hemingway or during their Costa Rica vacation.
Thank you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

When you stay at the Hemingway you will be taking care in special way, the place is close to all the atractions of San Jose. The staff Calvin, Ellis, Pilar will take care of all the details to make your staying confortable and full of information and clear connections with all Costa Rica. The breakfast is gourmet and delicious. The interactions with other costumers is easy and full of histories and information to make your trip to Costa Rica enriching and full . They will provido with all the help you need to make you comfortable.
Jaime Koss

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimekoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa 69
Hotel Casa 69
#3 of 68 in San Jose
642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway Inn

Address: Avenida 9, Calle 9 | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £25 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway Inn is an authentic Spanish mansion in Barrio Amón. Hemingway Inn is a famously photographed building in San José, Costa Rica. Though the city has grown around it, it was originally built as a large hacienda for the family of a wealthy coffee plantation owner in the 1920´s. Though none of the seventeen guest rooms are the same, they all have singles, queen or king beds, WiFi/Wireless Internet, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, telephone with free calls within Costa Rica (and ability to make international calls with a credit card or charged to your bill).Hemingway Inn is in an excellent location, in the historic quarter of Barrio Amon San José, within easy walking distance of all the museums, great restaurants, the National Theater,Parks, souvenir shopping, banking, the central market and the infamous night life circuit.It will be a pleasure to host you at the Hemingway Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hemingway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingway Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing