We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is not worth the value.”
Review of Hemingway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hemingway Inn
Ranked #33 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Pros: The hotel has Character and allows me to bring over guest/date without any extra cost.
Cons: My cleaning lady seem to have a bad attitude when I asked for something to be taken care of, However the rest of the staff were friendly. My room Is so basic, no drowers of any kind and poor furniture arrangment incl tv. Floor seemed like it had'nt been mopped in awhile. I was there 2 nights and room service was only recieving new towels….I only mention it because of my overall expierence. On my first night, I woke up in the morning with alot of mosquito bites on my neck and upper back. I dont think it was the bed since I Looked closely, but was fine next night in the other bed in room. Breakfast I did not care for…..If you dont drink coffee in the morning your screwed. No juice available w/o purchase.

Room Tip: No a/c but fans keep room ok.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mario j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Hemingway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a place where anyone can be comfortable. Calvin , the Proprietor, has brought a number of activities such as wine tastings which will not be found at nearby hotels, and has interests outside the norm such as gold prospecting tours as well as reliable references for any Medical/Dental needs.The staff is very organized (good job as always Pilar) ,The Taxi is always on time. You will meet interesting people in the lobby or the small bar, (if you are interesting also) and it is close to all the museums and cultural stuff during the day and after dark as well. And Herman the Chef is always doing it right, not always fancy but always good homecooked food.
I like it. I think you will too.
.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredh136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

The inn has character. The location is perfect for any traveler. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The entire staff are courteous and warm. The room includes an excellent breakfast each morning. I didn't want to leave and started planning my next trip before I reached the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marquimark2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were on a tour with Intrepid. Good value for San Jose CostaRica which is expensive for 65 year olds. Herman(?) the cook was amazing. I watched him cook 3 delicious disparate things from 3 feet away in about 3 minutes with love of cooking. The rooms were all different. Great lcentral location. Extremely friendly staff. The owner is an interesting if you get to talk to him. They have a nice guitar to plunk at.
Go to the archeology museum beneath the Plaza del Cultura. I would pay you to do this if I were a rich person. Best Museo in Central America.

Room Tip: Who cares when you are in love???
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed here for 2 different nights in 2 different rooms but they were pretty much similar. The place is nice for a budget traveler with a good atmosphere, helpful owner & a very good location. The area is nice, clean & safe and within 5-7 min walking from the main central area, yet far enough from all the noise & the night crowd. The hotel entrance & the rooms are clean with no funny smells. However, although I expected a basic room, but both rooms were below my expectations. The furniture was pretty old and in one room the bathroom door was broken & didn't close. The shower was very bad with very low & uneven water pressure.
So if you need a clean, budget & very basic place for 1 or 2 nights maximum, then this hotel will serve the purpose.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Well, I was booked here for two nights plus one night with Intrepid travel. The place is good, don't get me wrong. It's really safe and clean. A little bit noisy in the evenings, but from 11 PM to 7 AM it's quiet and I honestly got a few good nights sleeping. The iacuzzi is, at the moment, unaviable (it looks like they're doing a few maintanance works) and the open air space is really limited so if you're planning to spend most of your time on the outside enjoying Costa Rica climate this might not be the best place for you.

There's a little restaurant in the open patio. Breakfast is good and it's either included in your rate or you can get it for 5$, The menu changes every day and it does look really good (shrimp or carbonara linguini, shrimp with rice, quesadilla, tilapia) so if you're a solo female traveller like me and you don't really feel like walking out at night you don't have to. There's also a fridge and a microwave for the guests to use.

The hotel can arrange tours for you and it's situated just a few meters away from the Museum of Jade entrance, which is worth a visit if you ask me. It's also really easy to get to the National Theatre and the Gold Museum (it's just 10 minutes by foot). Overall, one of the best places you could stay at if what you want to do is explore the city and take daily tours. Also, the Hemingway Inn has got character -- there are some really nice paininting on the walls, a nice garden and small but decent rooms (well, I was in H. Miller and that was kind of small, but other rooms looked much bigger and brighter!).

What let me down the most is the hotel personnel. they did ok, but they didn't seem THAT friendly. As stated before, the place's got character. But the people working here just don't seem to have the same characteristic. They were nice and all, but they did lack enthusiasm or at least that's what I felt. Plus, 50$+tax for my room was a little too much to stay here if you ask me. They now have a special so breakfast is included in the rate, but I don't see how that price could be justified. I stayed in a 5 stars hotel with a giant swimmingpool and breakfast for the same price here in San Jose so -- not sure this is the best value! Sure, this is a more characteristic experience than a big chain hotel, but there are just a few places you can walk to from here and if for some reason you decide to stay at the hotel and not to take a tour or walk around you'll get kind of bored.

As a conclusion, it depends on what you like. And on what you're planning to do. You'll have a great stay if you'll just wake up, go out and get back late in the evening to go to sleep. That will defenetly work and you'll be happy with it.

Room Tip: Unless you're on a tight budget, ask for a room with a window. Mine didn't have it so it'...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Enrica1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My room had beautiful hard wood floors, fine quilts on the beds, two ceiling fans, shuttered windows to let in the breeze, some stained glass, murals on the walls, a walk in shower, a very solid strong box for my valuables, and all for about $53 a night including tax! The bed was also one of the most comfortable I`ve ever slept in, on the soft side which is what I like. Even though there was some street noise (not that bad), I slept 10 hours my first night!

The breakfast is free, served until 10, and includes beans, rice, eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit, and coffee with real milk. It is served in an open air patio, and a squirrel shows up to join us every morning. It is very tame, and obeys the front desk clerk who motions her hand for it to climb back up the tree...lol In the late afternoons you`ll often find flocks of parrots resting in the large tree in front of the Inn.

I recommend this place to most everyone. If you meet any friends while in town, guests are allowed with no fee, though it`s probably not the best hotel for loud drinking and partying due to the diversity of the guests and proximity of the rooms.

The owner is very friendly, and I`m sure he will do all he can to make your stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve182360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 77 in San Jose
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#45 of 77 in San Jose
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#15 of 77 in San Jose
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
#35 of 66 in San Jose
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Costa Rica Guesthouse
#2 of 66 in San Jose
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway Inn

Address: Avenida 9, Calle 9 | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £34 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway Inn is an authentic Spanish mansion in Barrio Amón. Hemingway Inn is a famously photographed building in San José, Costa Rica. Though the city has grown around it, it was originally built as a large hacienda for the family of a wealthy coffee plantation owner in the 1920´s. Though none of the seventeen guest rooms are the same, they all have singles, queen or king beds, WiFi/Wireless Internet, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, telephone with free calls within Costa Rica (and ability to make international calls with a credit card or charged to your bill).Hemingway Inn is in an excellent location, in the historic quarter of Barrio Amon San José, within easy walking distance of all the museums, great restaurants, the National Theater,Parks, souvenir shopping, banking, the central market and the infamous night life circuit.It will be a pleasure to host you at the Hemingway Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingway Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing