We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemingway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hemingway Inn
Ranked #41 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

It was a nice hotel, very clean...although my room didn't have hot water (apparently they were having issues one night?). The staff (except overnight guy - hard to tear him away from poker) wer super friendly and really helpful booking tours for me.

Room Tip: Heminway room was great! Loved how they painted it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    35
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
5
36
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Good hotel with basic but good services. There was nothing surprising but you don't need to be always surprised. The only complaint I have is when we asked for early breakfast or even package or just apple would be fine because our flight was in the early morning and It was not the best morning without breakfast until after check-in at the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ujan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The rooms were very basic and walls were paper thin. Hot water was not always available. However, the breakfasts were good with excellent pancakes. It is a bit of a walk to the area where the national theatre is located and the area was interesting at night time! Not somewhere you would want to walk at night. There was a very good restaurant if you turn left out of the door and walk a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed one night after cancelling our second night. The first room we where given was awful we asked to move which they did. We didnt have hot water for a few hours. I think depends on what room u get but I think its overpriced 70 us dollars 2 people a night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We've stayed our last night in Hemingway Inn before leaving Costa Rica. It was the first working day of the receptionist, and she had trouble finding our reservation and with credit card machine. So, after checking into our room, we could pay, because the boss was back. The credit card machine did not work again, so we went to an ATM and payed cash. So far so good (well, the bed was sagged, and it was not very clean) and we had a nice stay in San José. The people were very friendly, and the stay was fine. Now we're home, they took the money from our creditcard because, it was a 'no show' according to booking.com and hemingway inn. This wasn't the case of course, because it was the clumsiness of the receptionist who couldn't find our reservation.. Anyhow, now we've payed twice and trying to get our money back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FW B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice hotel, welcoming environment, staff always helpful, owner is great. Good location, close to everything. I recommend to stay there, you get a good deal for the money. I have no complains about this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

When I travel I am always looking for something out of the ordinary.. a place that allows and even promotes networking and learning, making new contacts and learning new and unusual things about where ever I am traveling.. Hemingway Inn is exactly such a place. If you want pristine rooms, big flat screens, and expect everything to work perfectly, then there are other places in San Jose with a more formal environment that may be better suited to your needs. But at the Hemingway you can easily settle in to a conversation with someone new and interesting at almost any time of the day.. ask questions, get pointed in the right direction.. and be brought into the fold if that is what you would like. Travel for me, is more about learning and making new connections and if this is what you prefer or if you are new to San Jose then Hemingway should be high on your list. I can honestly say that my time in San Jose was made much more productive because of my stay at the Hemingway. I paid $40 per night including breakfast and tax etc.. would suggest room # 7.. has a window to the courtyard, a little quieter.

Room Tip: Room # 7 if you are on a budget..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#25 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#22 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#44 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 104 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway Inn

Property: Hemingway Inn
Address: Avenida 9, Calle 9 | Barrio Amon, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway Inn is an authentic Spanish mansion in Barrio Amón. Hemingway Inn is a famously photographed building in San José, Costa Rica. Though the city has grown around it, it was originally built as a large hacienda for the family of a wealthy coffee plantation owner in the 1920´s. Though none of the seventeen guest rooms are the same, they all have singles, queen or king beds, WiFi/Wireless Internet, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, telephone with free calls within Costa Rica (and ability to make international calls with a credit card or charged to your bill).Hemingway Inn is in an excellent location, in the historic quarter of Barrio Amon San José, within easy walking distance of all the museums, great restaurants, the National Theater,Parks, souvenir shopping, banking, the central market and the infamous night life circuit.It will be a pleasure to host you at the Hemingway Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hemingway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingway Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing