We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
284
321
216
73
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
321
216
73
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel miradorindoor poolcosta ricabreakfast buffetgold museumfront desk staffvery nice hotelhot waterwalk aroundpollofloorbellmanparquetoursteatropedestrianneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Vacuum used by maint crew for a plumbing problem was dirtier on the outside than on the inside. Hall carpets need better cleaning. Lavatory faucet in 611 was loose from the granite top. Thermostatic feature of shower faucet is not working. Often hot water came out of hot line and cold line at the shower and lavatory. Shower head does not have a good setting. Shower head needs to be simpler and more effective.
Door key cards are unreliable. Food in Tropicana dining room can be good at times and very average to poor at other times. Breakfast was reliably good.
Pool was good fun and relaxing.
Dinner was variable. Final dinner on the 17th floor restaurant was good. Hotel very well adapted for service to the large Caravan tours. Drum beats from Cultural Center 3 blocks away can keep you awake at night until 3 or 6 am.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

To be short and sweet, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The food(Breakfast buffet) at the Tropicana restaurant in the hotel wasn't that good but I am a vegan so depending on your food preference, you may disagree. The treadmill needs to be upgraded. On Friday and Saturday nights, the loud music outside in the club may be a problem for light sleepers. But all in all, the hotel was great. The things I've already mentioned are trivial, in my opinion. Oh....the view of the mountains is a plus.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
Thank Johnny40017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Never seen so many Americans in one place (btw - I'm American). If you want to get out of your cocoon and explore the local people and culture, this is not the place for you. Lobby seems to be always packed with tour groups.

That being said, if you want lodgings with "no surprises" (i.e. no adventure) rooms and facilities are very nice. Fitness facilities among the best I've seen in a hotel. Didn't eat there, but the resaurant looks mediocre (like a Denny's). Bar couldn't make a mojito or gin & tonic, and the bar food was poor.

Location was great - good restaurants and sights not immediately adjacent, but within 6-8 blocks.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmhultin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed for a long weekend with a friend. The hotel staff were great and friendly! They had great recommendations on where to eat. They were helpful with calling cabs for us and providing us with wake up calls. Room was clean and comfy. The pool was nice and warm!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank sesarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

If you have to stay in downtown san jose then it is perfectly fine. I only realized after that it is better to say in the nicer hotels outside of downtown like doubletree, intercon or marriott. cabs are plentiful anyway and cheap. everything is walkable from this hotel. and there is a nice park and plenty of restaurants around it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews