We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveller rating
291
323
218
74
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
323
218
74
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el mirador indoor pool costa rica the red light district breakfast buffet gold museum front desk staff downtown area very nice hotel walk around hot water central market pollo floor bellman key parque
Filter
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 952 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This hotel is located within walking distance of a grocery store and shops accross from a lovely park. Walking is a bit tricky given the poor condition of the sidewalks. The hotel itself was beautiful with a huge floral arrangement in the lobby and a heated inside pool and spa. The food was buffet and good but not exceptional. Plenty of fresh fruit with breakfast. Staff was helpful. Rooms were nice but the king bed seemed to be two beds pushed together so there was a noticable hill in the middle of the bed. Loved the selection of soft or hard pillows. I would select this hotel for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for two queen beds instead of a king
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_F_team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. I've never stayed in an H.I. that wasn't. This is the highest building in the area, so there are some great views of San Jose. The restaurants were mixed. The penthouse one is the kind of place that seems more interested in how the plate looks than if the food is good. My wife and I had the same meal, but the steaks were much different. Waiters were not too friendly. The downstairs restaurant where we had breakfast was the complete opposite; the food was good and varied. Oh, the bell hop never did show up to get our bags when we were leaving....

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Spent 1 night in Aurola at end of Caravan tour, having spent 2 nights at start of tour in Barcelo - there is no comparison, as the Aurola is old, tired, dirty, and noisy. Room small with deep cuts in window; noise from street and hall significant, even on 10th floor. Pool and jacuzzi nice. Small bar and a nice piano played in lobby on arrival. 17th floor Mirador restaurant nice. 1st floor buffet ok but smaller than Barcelo had. Found rugs frayed and rooms not as clean as Barcelo. However, Aurola is right downtown if one wants shopping or ability to walk - though San Jose does not offer many sights to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

-perfect place in the middle of the city-center, close to a lot of restaurants, museums, shops, parks, very friendly staff, worst thing: breakfast / food

Room Tip: corner rooms
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meyer-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I stayed here on the last day of a 10 day tour and it served it's purpse. We didn't arrive till late afternoon and had to leave early in the morning so not much time was spent.

The lobby was lovely. The bell boys friendly. Room pretty basic although bed was comfy. Beautiful indoor pool.

Located right in San Jose although I never had time to explore. The pedestrian walk is just a couple of blockes away. Would of been nice to take a walk.

Breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews