We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses and minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pluses and minuses”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed here at the end of a tour, with a group.
- the indoor pool was HOT, not warm, in fact, hotter than the whirlpool
- the 17th floor restaurant supposed to be great was only mediocre, especially the fillet mingion
- internet good but cut out in the middle so people lost connecions
- line for the egg station at breakfast
- shower was warm, never hot, in fact the pool was hotter :)
- staff very helpful
- great views of the city and surrounding mountains

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    280
    186
    61
    40
See reviews for
101
251
93
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My sister and I stayed in this hotel as part of a tour. The hotel was down the street from the Gold Museum and the main plaza. The area was okay for San Jose. Overall, the hotel staff was very friendly and the internet use was much cheaper than in other areas of Costa Rica. The room was very spacious and clean and the food was good. I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

This hotel is located within walking distance of a grocery store and shops accross from a lovely park. Walking is a bit tricky given the poor condition of the sidewalks. The hotel itself was beautiful with a huge floral arrangement in the lobby and a heated inside pool and spa. The food was buffet and good but not exceptional. Plenty of fresh fruit with breakfast. Staff was helpful. Rooms were nice but the king bed seemed to be two beds pushed together so there was a noticable hill in the middle of the bed. Loved the selection of soft or hard pillows. I would select this hotel for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for two queen beds instead of a king
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_F_team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. I've never stayed in an H.I. that wasn't. This is the highest building in the area, so there are some great views of San Jose. The restaurants were mixed. The penthouse one is the kind of place that seems more interested in how the plate looks than if the food is good. My wife and I had the same meal, but the steaks were much different. Waiters were not too friendly. The downstairs restaurant where we had breakfast was the complete opposite; the food was good and varied. Oh, the bell hop never did show up to get our bags when we were leaving....

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Spent 1 night in Aurola at end of Caravan tour, having spent 2 nights at start of tour in Barcelo - there is no comparison, as the Aurola is old, tired, dirty, and noisy. Room small with deep cuts in window; noise from street and hall significant, even on 10th floor. Pool and jacuzzi nice. Small bar and a nice piano played in lobby on arrival. 17th floor Mirador restaurant nice. 1st floor buffet ok but smaller than Barcelo had. Found rugs frayed and rooms not as clean as Barcelo. However, Aurola is right downtown if one wants shopping or ability to walk - though San Jose does not offer many sights to visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2011

-perfect place in the middle of the city-center, close to a lot of restaurants, museums, shops, parks, very friendly staff, worst thing: breakfast / food

Room Tip: corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meyer-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I stayed here on the last day of a 10 day tour and it served it's purpse. We didn't arrive till late afternoon and had to leave early in the morning so not much time was spent.

The lobby was lovely. The bell boys friendly. Room pretty basic although bed was comfy. Beautiful indoor pool.

Located right in San Jose although I never had time to explore. The pedestrian walk is just a couple of blockes away. Would of been nice to take a walk.

Breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#33 of 78 in San Jose
321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Property: Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing