We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Although the neighborhood has deteriorared some (especifically after hours), thos hotel continues to provide beauty, comfort and safety. It is an old hotel that maintains very very well. Elegant, clean, and very well habitable. Forget the image of the old Holiday Inn at this place. It is a luxurious and well kept Holiday Inn and a fantastic rates.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bongocuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Management Company at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Wow! what a great review! You have made our team very happy today with your kind words! We try so hard to make every guest feel special and when we get it right, we are pleased!

Please come see us again!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

We opted to pay a little extra to stay on the 15th floor with a separate concierge, continental breakfast, free "happy hour." The services easily made up for the extra cost, and the views were wonderful. The last night we had people next door and found that the walls were thinner than we realized, so bring ear plugs (a must for Latin American travel anyway).

Room Tip: Check on the "executive floor."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This high-rise provides great views of the city and is comfortably furnished by US standards. Valet parking is a very nice benefit in crowded downtown. Beds are comfy and shower and sink powerful. Toilet, however, was problematic. And there was a sickening smell of what seemed like a diesel fuel spill in the lobby. And that, unfortunately, carried into the cafe/dining area. Not sure if this was an isolated incident but it lasted for the 15 hours we were there. Front desk seemed to have LOTS of paperwork to do and check in and check out were both slow even with 2 or more employees. Allow extra time if you've got a deadline.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to answer the Tripadvisor’s survey, your review is very important for us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed most of our services and amenities, and also the great views from our building. We want to apologize for the inconveniences that you had, it’s a shame we were not informed about them, while you were still here. I can assure this is not the standard. Hope to serve you again soon!
Best regards,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel is centrally located in downtown San Jose - it has an indoor pool with bar service, a nice albeit small workout room, prompt laundry service, front desk staff and restaurant staff are not very helpful and tend to make several mistakes but the bell-men were fantastic. If you rented a car they have a fenced in parking lot next door (the bell-men take care of parking, etc.) and they don't charge for the parking. They also have an in-house gift shop and travel/attractions agency where you can make reservations for all sorts of adventures.
They let one of my coworkers use the piano for 15 minutes but it took a lot of insistence and having us call the owner of the hotel to clear with him first.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and come with TV (and cable), safe, and free internet. We didn't have a fridge nor a microwave. On Sunday morning we were treated (or tortured) to some sort of park concert with religious music starting at around 7:30am that you could hear quite clearly through our closed windows - we were not amused nor pleased. Maybe rooms that face away from the park don't have to deal with this.
Warning: only go to the Kokomo Club if you are looking for some action of the "escort" variety, some of our male coworkers found this out the hard way and freaked out.

Room Tip: Chose a room that doesn't face the park to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to answer the Tripadvisor´s survey. All your comments are important for us, as the way to improve our hotel services and fulfill your expectations completely. I will report the inconveniences you had at our hotel to our manager in charge.
Also we would like you to know that concerts in Morazán Park are made for everyone to enjoy and not to annoy customers, so we contacted the manager of these activities.

Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is in the heart of downtown San Jose within a couple of blocks if many attractions. The hotel is very dated with 1980s decor. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. If this hotel was remodeled it would be very nice. As it is now it is below par for a Holiday Inn. It should be a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! We are happy to know you had the chance to get to know some of San José’s cultural attactions. We would also like you to know, the feedback we receive from our guests’ is very important for us. Be sure your comments will be taken into consideration. We want to improve our services and fulfill your expectations completely.
Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Dowtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We, too, booked two nights as book ends to our conference at Los Suenos Marriott in Heraduras. It was a wonderful stay and made our trip in and out much easier. We got such a good rate on an American Airlines vacation package that it was cheaper than just the flight alone would have been. On our return, our driver took us to the mercado where we purchased many souveniers, including freshly ground coffee, coffee infused chocolate balls (yummy--wish I'd bought more!), wooden bows and textile items. The hotel provided a free breakfast buffet in their first floor dining room which was quite good. We had drinks in the bar and dinner in the restaurant on the top floor with a lovely view! We got a corner room on both stays and had a nice city view.Access to each floor is restricted to guests with keys to the elevator for that floor, so we felt safe and secure. Staff was helpful and gracious. The hotel is within walking distance of the Natonal Cathedral and some nice shops with quality Central American merchandise. The bell captain arranged transportation to the airport at dark thirty, providing a nice finish to a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Our corner room was spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarahigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear guest,
We are so glad to hear you had a great time in our hotel and in Costa Rica! As you had the opportunity to experience, San José has plenty of cultural places worth seeing. Also, we would like you to know we are constantly trying to improve our services, so it is very satisfying to know you enjoyed our services and amenities. Hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were here the last night of a Caravan tour. The hotel itself is very nice - nothing special, but clean. The location is right across the street from Central Park and a huge event was going on - we were told if we went outside not to take anything (passports, jewlery etc). Walked just a little the next am - lots of police around but the cleanup was just starting from the event. The farewell dinner was not good at all - one of the worst meals of the entire 10 days but breakfast was super and they even opened early (just continental breakfast early) for those on early flights. Close to Gold Museum and other attractions if you want to walk, tho we did not feel safe, even early in the am.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the park - tho we did not hear any noise after 9 pm when the event was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurolaHolidayInn, E-commerce executive at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenient with the dinner you had, I assure this is not the standard and I personally will inform our Food and Beverage manager. We would also like you to know that San José has many cultural activities going on, for all citizens and visitors; national police is always near in order to provide security. Hope you had the chance to get to know some of San José’s cultural activities!
Hope to serve you again soon,
Sincerely,
Alejandra López
E-commerce
Holiday Inn San José Downtown Aurola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing