We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown San Jose so so, but Holiday Inn great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I havent been to Costa Rica in about 4 years. Each time I go there I get sad how downtown San Jose is going down the toilet. It has become a semi dangerous capital. So nowdays a lot of people are choosing the Escazu area near the Multiplaza. I went to that area for a couple of nights to have dinner and hang out. Yes no doubt it is a great fancy area (near the multi plaza) but not much to do there at night!. Escazu is like a fancy big shopping center then after 8pm there isnt much to do. And this is why I still keep choosing to stay in downtown SJ, there is more happening every night, perhaps is not the safest location to choose from but nonetheless I still like it and the Holiday Inn pays off for that. The location, the service, cleanliness, safety and conveniently located easy to get out of downtown to anywhere. I recommend you at stay here no doubt

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We appreciate your review of our hotel and we hope you visit us again soon.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Due to circumstances we forgot one of our passports on Friday in Tortuguera (about 3 hour drive and over one hour by boat away from the Hotel). The staff (dennis and Silvia) managed to get our pasport the next day already in the Hotel as we needed it badley as we traveled back home on Sunday. Silvia kept us informed about the status quo and did a perfect job.
Location is perfect, close to the parque and musea. Nice indoor swimming pool with jaccuzi.
Bed is very comfortable.
Very good price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We are so happy we were able to help you get your passport. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and location.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the holiday inn on my way out of costa rica. We went out to dinner and when we came back, there were three suspiciously dressed women (obviously prostitutes) being registered as guests at the hotel by two young men, who were staying on my hallway.
I went up to my room and had to sit in the hallway because the wifi does not work in the rooms. While in the hallway, one of the prostitutes came out in a towel, follow by the man. The man went to his friend's room, knocked on the door, asked for a condom. HIs friend did not have one so the man asked me for a condom. Shortly after the man was in the hallway searching for condoms, a family with young children came back to their room.
I emailed the hotel and asked why prostitutes were being allowed to sign in as guests in a family establishment and never received a response.
I know sometimes appropriately dressed "escorts" are taken to hotels and the concierge is not aware that the women are being paid. But these were prostitutes taken off the street... obviously from the park out front.
Other than street prostitutes being allowed, the hotel was nice. Again, no wifi in the rooms. And there was some street noise heard, even on 8th floor.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor for a quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atx1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

All guests of our hotel are registered and pay for their accommodations. We can not throw guests out of the hotel based on their alleged suspicious attire, nor can we police grown mens vocabulary choices. When we see inappropriate behavior we act on it.

We do on occasion have issues with the internet but overall the WIFI is pretty dependable. We are sorry you encountered this issue as well during your stay.

We wish you would have notified the front desk at the time of this alleged incident so we could have assisted you in real time and made you more comfortable.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel service gets 5 stars. Tony the bellman was awesome he lived in the Bronx for 30 years and was very helpful during our stay. The Hotel is right in the middle of downtown so its a short taxi ride to anywhere in town. Almost all the touristy things like Rafting the Pacuare and Tortuga Island all have their meeting points literally 20 yards from the entrance to the Hotel. The room we had was amazing with mountain and city views. I will be staying here again next week its the best service and rooms for the price. The security is like Fort Knox so if your thinking about sneaking people into your room its not going to happen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed our great location. We do take security seriously and are vigilant to ensure only registered guests are allowed on the guest room floors.

Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times and will be going back next month. The HI feels more like a 4 star hotel that a roadsise Express you will find in USA. The restaurant is great for breakfast as well as daytime and evening meals. The menu includes some Costa Rican typical items and a good variety of international plates. The rooms are big and housekeeping really work for the guest. If you can ask for an upgrade to a junior suite it is worth it. The extra seating area makes your stay a more pleasant one. Most rooms have a stunning view but the higher you stay the more you will feel the constant earth movements that Costa Rica has grown accustomed to. The entire country is part of the Central American seismic zone. Please, nothing to be scared about. From the Aurola you can wander off into the exciting downtown San Jose shopping district as well as the historical monuments sorrounding the central square. The crown jewel of this district is the must see Teatro Nacional.

Room Tip: I prefer the front view of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was a good one! Our location is amazing for anyone wanting to experience all the excitement and culture that San Jose has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you want to feel like you are in the US, this is a great option. They had the cleanest rooms we stayed in while in Costa Rica, great water pressure in the showers, and exceptional customer service. We arrived in the evening and left in the morning, so we really cannot say much about the area. There is a pretty park-like area out front. The food and drinks are pricey. We noticed (a little too late) that the cheapest beer at the bar is $5 USD, but is only $3.50 when ordered through room service. We ended up saving a few dollars by ordering room service for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Our property is managed by an American company and the GM is American, so our standards are very high. We hope you will come and see us again soon/

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

To unwind and relax prior to our return two-legged flight back to NYC, we booked one night here. We expected a typical Holiday Inn, but were very pleasantly surprised to find that this one was more like a five star Hilton. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool (which didn't appear to be chlorinated) as well as the ping pong table. The beds had terrific mattresses. The breakfast buffet featured the best waffles I think I've ever eaten. A great way to pamper yourself .

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room for the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.8 mi away
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
#33 of 77 in San Jose
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £56 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing