We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 1 September 2013

this hotel was great. the staff were so helpful from the front desk to housekeeping and everyone in between. my room was very clean and comfortable. the bed was amazingly soft and yet still supportive, even with soft pillows tags for more comfort. the room has everything you need and the free wifi works very well. the dining is very good also, and traditional breakfast (gallo pinto).
my only issue, which really isn't the hotel's fault, is that during the night it seems to be dangerous to walk around outside. I stayed watching tv but I would loved to go out and walk. But like I said, it wasn't the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: get higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and are happy our staff was able to make you comfortable. Being in the center of the city.. like any city, requires caution at night, but their is usually no problem walking to the local restaurants.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel is very well located but the air conditioning was making a lot of noise. We asked them for a new room but they took a lot of time to do the change. The bedroom was nice, but a very silly policy about the minibar, where you have to open a credit and then they will unlock the minibar (its the first time I see this, I mean If youre paying more than 100 usd for each night in a hotel you will not care about paying for a chocolate bar or some crisps). The breakfast was the best, the restaurant was good but very small portions and its a bit overpriced. The other facilities like swimming pool or gym were good, not great but good.
The location is very good, but it can be a little unsafe to walk around even during the day. San Jose its creepy and scary. Taxis can be found in front of the hotel, but you will have to pay more than the normal price just to be sure the taxi driver is not going to rob you. Be careful all the time, take care of your documents and leave them always in the safe. I NEVER GOT MILES FOR MY RESERVATION AS THEY SAY THEY GIVE.

Room Tip: ask for a bedroom in front of the park and also in the high levels, the views are amazing. Check car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davcos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry if our min bar policy inconvenienced you. We do require any guest paying cash to either provide a credit card or a cash deposit to utilize the mini bar.

We do provide miles depending upon your airline and/or credit card. You can email the hotel directly or contact Holiday Inn to ensure your account is credited.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I always come here to stay.I hit Dos Esquinas for dinner and here before coming in or going out of the country.First name basis with most of the people here.Love it.Its here or the sleep Inn.Staff Helpful and go out of there way to accommodate you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blakes8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We appreciate your return visit to our hotel! Our staff is happy to welcome our return guests!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel lies close to the city centre. It has certainly seen its best days, i.e. the furniture/equipment is old fashioned and needs improvement.

Pluses:
+ close to the city center
+ friendly and professional staff
+ fitness center and pool
+ large rooms
+ good value for money

Minuses:
- although the breakfast buffet offers some selection, it is somewhat limited. The hotel could do better in offering more selection of food and fruit in the morning.
- noisy (I stayed on the 6th floor)
- old fashioned equipment

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the corners of each floor. They are slightly bigger and offer more sunlight/view d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerote1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We are pleased you found the hotel to be a good value. We continue to improve the hotel and hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to San Jose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I only spent a short night at this hotel, but it was a welcomed sight after driving 4 hours from Playa Flamingo and spending another hour or so in San Jose bumper-to-bumper traffic.

The hotel presents itself beautifully and is a safe-haven gem among the busy downtown scene. The staff were all very helpful, spoke great English (some) and particularly Tony the bellman was awesome as he formerly lived in the Bronx. The room we had was very clean, comfortable and provided fabulous mountain and city views.

We ventured out to Mercado Central which was about 4 blocks away for a bite to eat upon arrival. It was very crowded and being the eve of Feliz de Madre there were likely more vendors out than normal (although I would not know as it was my first time).

I made a point to rise early for a glimpse of the Iglesia de la Solidad or neighboring Plaza Artigas to find the statue of John Lennon for a quick picture. No one seemed to recognize this other than hearing "Beatles". Anyways, it's right through the arch of Chinatown if you're curious (about 4 blocks away). While looking for breakfast, we happened upon a few parks and the Teatro National. I did notice that the locals bound their properties by barbed wire, locks and fences.

Nonetheless, the property is wonderful and I would recommend...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed our calm oasis in the heart of the bustling city of San Jose. It is a long drive from Guanacaste and especially hitting rush hour in San Jose which can be gridlock.

We hope your Costa Rica trip was amazing and please come see us again soon.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

my family wasn't very happy with the location. When we first came in at night, it was like a slum area and traffic was bad. It's hard to drive going to the hotel because of the bumpy roads and tight streets. So location is not very good. We can't find any restaurants nearby too.i loved how the hotel was designed, but the pool area was bad. It has some unfinished construction and when i used my goggles in the pool, i could clearly see the cracked tiles and the dark spots on the sides. There were even some objects dloating on the pool. but it's not that bad. And we ran out on towels. The jacuzzi wasn't working either. Such a bummer. I loved the table tennis and the chairs though. . The room ? I liked it. The view was so great. But we didn't have fridge and the toilet was not working properly. It seems like someone threw a hard rock in there. The tv wasn't working properly. But the room itself was great. Also ! I had problems with the key. They gave us two cards and it didn't work the first time. And within 6 days of staying there, we had to change keys like 4 times. It didn't work pretty well for us. And without your key you'd be stuck in the elevator. Service ? The people in the front desk weren't really friendly . But the chef that made the eggs in the breakfast buffet is really really nice. :)) also the guy who took care of our car was pretty nice. But i really can't communicate well with them because they don't speak english. But that's okay. It's understandable. Value ? It was pretty good. Breakfast ? they had the same things for 4 days. sometimes change is good. But breakfast kicked us out on the last few days and we do not know why. So disappointed. That really blew us off.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are located in downtown San Jose and like any city the area is busy. San Jose is not a modern city, so many buildings can look run down to visitors. Their are many restaurants located in a two block radius of the hotel. We are sorry the front desk had difficulty with assisting you in English. Many of our staff are bi-lingual but of course many speak their native language. We do train the staff in English.

The restaurant offers the buffet in the morning as well as cook-to-order breakfast options, but after 4 days, the choices could seem limited to some.

The pool area should not have been out of towels and we have addressed this with our team. We were working on the hot tub during your stay, and it is now repaired.

We wish we could have provided a more satisfactory stay for you. We hope you will visit San Jose again and give us an opportunity to provide a better experience.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My son and I stayed there for a night before an early flight to Chicago. The hotel was in walking distance to most of the San Jose sights. Many restaurants and shopping near by. The hotel was of a true 4 star quality. A mini fridge, good air conditioning, in room safe, all the amenities and we had a beautiful view of the city from the 9th floor. At check in the girl couldn't be more helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room facing Central Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norman2, Marketing Director at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found so much to do just outside our front door! We hope you come to San Jose again to stay with us.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing getaway in the heart of Central America at the Holiday Inn ® Hotel San Jose Downtown – Aurola, conveniently nestled in the center of lively San Jose, with panoramic views of the beautiful Central Valley. Conveniently located within walking distance of a variety of local attractions, guests will enjoy superior modern amenities and facilities such as free high speed WIFI access, an on-site business center, large meeting rooms, swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, pub bar, and two restaurants. Discover a hotel where technology and hospitality come together in perfect harmony, where you can stay connected with modern Internet wireless access, and disconnect with a relaxed Costa Rica ambiance and modern luxuries. Whether visiting for a leisure getaway or a business connection, this San Jose hotel offers a peaceful, productive atmosphere where you can get the most out of your San Jose experience.Conveniently located within walking distance of all the best downtown attractions as well as downtown businesses. You will enjoy people watching in Parque Morazan, located just outside our front door. This park features a number of sculptures and monuments which decorate the expanse of urban green, including a beautiful domed structure, known as Templo de Música, or the Temple of Music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing