We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveller rating
284
321
216
73
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
321
216
73
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel miradorindoor poolcosta ricabreakfast buffetgold museumfront desk staffvery nice hotelhot waterwalk aroundpollofloorbellmanparquetoursteatropedestrianneighborhood
Filter
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 939 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The location was great and the service was the best. We had a corner room on the 14th floor, and the view was wonderful. We especially felt safe at the hotel...security was appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalbert6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Great location and amentities for the price! I like the location and it was very pretty and roomy. The breakfast buffet was excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This hotel is within walking distance of most things to see in central San Jose, although San Jose is a pretty rough city and walking other than during daylight and business hours may not be a good idea. The staff was courteous, but quite stiff by Costa Rican standards. The hotel says it is Five Stars, but that is a big stretch. It may have been so once, but it is faded. We stayed two different times over two weeks. First room was a little worn but generally well-maintained. Second room was notably shopworn. Cleanliness was good in both. In general, the place feels like it is in decline. We ate at both the first-floor buffet and the top floor elegant restaurant. The food was mediocre and the service was less than mediocre.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdxhej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Aurola upon our arrival to San Jose for a Caravan tour. We stayed two nights at the beginning and three nights at the end of the tour. The hotel itself is lovely, clean, the staff including housekeeping and bellboys were all very respectful and courteous. We ate free with the tour but they did not offer free breakfast after the tour. We walked a couple of blocks to the local supermarket for food which was fine with me. All other hotels in the area offered free breakfast. That being the only drawback, we enjoyed ourselves greatly and made many new friends in San Jose. The downtown area at first seemed liked it could be a dangerous place and I am sure that it can, but we didn't walk around with big bags, camera or anything of value showing. Most of the gift shops and restaurants accept you credit card so there wasn't a need for colones. The more you walk around San Jose, the more you will enjoy it. Beautiful weather, beautiful people, beautiful trip! We are already making plans to return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaimie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

My wife and I had a one night layover in San Jose at the Holiday Inn Aurola on our way to and from the Caribbean coast. The staff was great, the room was perfect and they had transportation arrangements with the local taxi service to take us to the airport for a flat rate ($25 US). We were delighted by the vouchers for welcome fruit punch cocktails at the second floor bar we received on our arrival. The hotel accepted currency in US dollars or CR colones. They also had a business center we could use to print out our boarding passes for the next morning's flight ($3 US for 30 min of $10 US for 24 hours). All in all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzolvin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews