We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best mid-range option in SJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best mid-range option in SJ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The room service, staff friendliness, location, amenities and room/hotel design and atmosphere were fantastic and not only made the hotel a terrific value, but an overall great hotel that we plan to stay in again over future visits. We don't understand how people can knock the smallish yet free breakfast (3 options with cereal, casado-style and just eggs, all with fruit) and weight room, which had more machines/benches than many of the JW Marriotts I've stayed in! If I had to suggest improvements, it would be to include a remote for the weight room TV and put a sign near the jacuzzi telling guests how to turn on/off the hot tub and waterslide (check out others' pics of the cool set-up!). And perhaps for 1 in a million people, it could use some A/C. But that's pushing it for any hotel, much less for a mid-range oasis like ST. Thanks for your hospitality and we look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: It's worth the $5-10 per night upgrade for a room with better window and second-floor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    324
    89
    21
    11
See reviews for
156
390
166
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We spent our honeymoon here in 1997 and returned this December. Addition of new wing and small pool & awesome jacuzzi makes the place even more beautiful than it was originally. Excellent hotel with very helpful front managers. Good central location just 5 minutes walk from the Teatro Nacional. Hotel is full of character as is the surrounding area which can look a bit rough in places. Plus the ladies of the night on each corner for a few streets, but they are quiet & don't bother you. I would highly recommend this place for people who do not want to stay in the monolithic Holiday Inn 2 blocks away but prefer someplace they will remember fondly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmulli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Charming older hotel in central area of San Jose. Renovations seem to be restoring a bygone character. Spacious, high-ceilinged, clean and comfortable- and well-appointed rooms containing handsome traditional furniture pieces manufactured in San Jose at a very reasonable tariff. The Santo Tomas was a wonderful introduction to our Costa Rica trip for my son and I. Good kitchen too.

Room Tip: Any room on first floor is quiet and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgoodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a lovely gem of a hotel in San Jose. It's a 5-10 minute walk from the Centro Mercado. The staff is friendly and charming, and the hotel is very well kept and up-to-date with well-maintained grounds and beatiful period furniture. I am picky about bathrooms and beds and Santo Tomas had the best I'd experienced in Costa Rica. Lots of hot water, great lighting and a lovely little pool in the central courtyard. This would be a perfect base for exploring San Jose, but alas, we were only stopping through on our way out of Costa Rica. The only downside - the receptionist wrote down the wrong room number when we asked for our wake-up call. We woke up on our own, but still - it was an international flight. Regardless, the hotel arranged for taxi service and provided all kinds of helpful information on the local eats and sights.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms in the back, surrounding the courtyard. The interior windows are crucial for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I live in a rural area of Costa Rica, about an hour west of San José. We have stayed at Hotel Santo Tomás 3 times in the last 3 weeks and have found it really convenient and suitable for our occasional needs to spend the night in the big city. The price is very reasonable (pay extra for parking your car); breakfast is included; and the rooms, beds, and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. The Sony televisions are sharp and clear, with a good selection of cable channels. We enjoyed great service from the friendly, bilingual staff. We’ve been very pleased with our discovery of this small (35 rooms) hotel.

The restaurant has just been remodeled and we recently ate dinner there during our latest stay. “Comida tipica” (typical Costa Rican fare) is offered, but they also have a larger menu and my husband found his beef tenderloin in mushroom sauce to be quite tender and tasty. Breakfast was fresh but nothing out of the ordinary.

The location is very convenient for starting trips to Tortuguero or Limon, or for taking care of errands downtown. Our recent stays have been occasioned by both of these reasons. For errands downtown, we leave the car in the parking lot and take taxis which pass the hotel with great frequency.

Obstacle: Finding the hotel can be a big problem. Street names and numbers are RARELY posted in Costa Rica, including San José. If you drive yourself, be sure to study your maps in advance and be aware of which way the one-way streets run, AND take the hotel’s phone number so you can call as you approach it and ask them to open the gate to the “parqueo” (parking lot) which is closed and guarded. Allow yourself plenty of time in case of construction, traffic, re-routing, etc. Avenida Siete (7th Avenue) is two lanes both going one way and there’s nowhere to pull over without still being in traffic and getting honked at. So far, we have encountered no taxi drivers who knew of the hotel, but when you tell them that it’s on Avenida Siete entre Calle Tres y Calle Cinco (7th Avenue between 3rd Street and 5th Street), they can find it.

I rated the location of this hotel as "very good" due to its convenience for getting around in the downtown area by taxi, but others might rate the location as "poor" due to the difficulty to drive there.

As for us, now that we know how to find our way there, we’ll continue to book rooms at Hotel Santo Tomás when we find it convenient or necessary to spend the night in San José, including 2 nights coming up in mid-December.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility limitations should specify a room on the first floor, but there will still be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had a delightful stay at Santo Tomas. The staff was friendly and warm. The food was inexpensive. We really liked the lay out of the hotel. We met many new friends sitting near the pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Picked this hotel because it was close to the Caribe Bus Terminal. Enjoyed the outdoor space. The balcony room was very spacious and comfortable with a great view of the pool and jacuzzi. Personel were very nice and helpful. Wireless internet service was nice. Will likely stay here again if heading to Limon the next day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tortolita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing