We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good.. .Warm and Welcoming!”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Good.. .Warm and Welcoming!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a quite a good hotel in the heart of San Jose.. .I did not get a chance to try the free breakfast since my flight was very early in the morning but loved the big flat screen TV in room and both wired and WIFI within the room.. Staff is friendly and fluent in English..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel2findoneself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Hi travel2findoneself, thank you for taking the time and effort for your review. The free hot breakfast, served from 7 to 9 am you missed, consists of a Fresh fruit plate, toast, jam, fresh juice, coffee, tea, cooked eggs and gallo pinto , a local Costa Rican dish of beans and rice with spices and our home made hot sauce or a wonderful curry sauce. Also cereal is available. All served by the pool and open air garden terrace area. And you are correct we are in the heart of San Jose , just four blocks from Central avenue and most attractions. The Free Wi-Fi you mentioned is available thru out the entire hotel, all you need is the password. Your title states the atmosphere we are trying to promote - “Very Good.. .Warm and Welcoming!” Again Thank You very much for your nice review ! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    330
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
157
392
171
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is budget hotel. Owner is very helpful, gave me his card, greets everyone at breakfast.
Once you drive in through the sliding wall, the traffic and congestion are gone.
Breakfast is nice.
He has pool and Jacuzzi in small courtyard, extensive exercise equipment room.
Staff is nice.
It's few blocks walk to main plaza, Gold Museum, National Theatre.
Rooms are big and clean.
You don't need air conditioning in San Jose. It never goes above 80 from what I'm told.
Bathrooms are big. It's old place, comfortable, clean, an escape for a day.

Room Tip: Two rooms we had were roughtly equivocal, main floor, big open hallway in the Spanish tradition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbhallll2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Hi Mbhallll2, this is from Thomas the owner. thanks for your review and score of three. You are correct we do have budget rooms for cost restricted clients, that include all of the wonderful facilities you described, as well as Free Wi-Fi and a hot cooked breakfast. And we also have other room types to fit most budgets in the middle price range, that is why the hotel is rated 3 Stars. Most clients find it to be a wonderful bargain an ideal location as you described for seeing the city and day tours. I am sorry you did not mention why you scored us a rating of three , I would really like to improve on your ideas. Please feel free to contact me with your other suggestions, I would really appreciate it , Guest feedback is very important. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was my first trip outside of the U.S with my significant other. We decided to be adventurous and plan as we went. I found Hotel Santo Tomas here on tripadvisor; we were going to use it as our headquarters for the first 2 nights in San Jose. Even though the city and it's surrounding areas might have seem chaotic and a dirty, this hotel stood up as a Victorian-like oasis for travelers. We were greeted warmly and even given the chance to check-in after hours. The following morning we were welcomed personally by Thomas Douglas -the owner, during an appetizing breakfast. Nice to hear a familiar accent!! He took personal interest and concern regarding our plans and gave us the best advise, hooked us up with car rentals, other hotels and even let us crash for free in one of his rooms the day of our departure flight from Costa Rica, super cool guy!!
From then on, the trip was a DREAM! His staff was always on point treating us with the utmost respect and devotion (Miguel, Alejandro and Doris. Great guys!). Suffice it to say that haven't gotten the opportunity to meet such resourceful and dedicated people, our trip would have not being the same.
If you want to experience real-life traveling accommodations in Costa Rica, look no further.
We are extremely satisfied, and we are definitely repeating!!!

Room Tip: The entire top floor has the new rooms, try to get one there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LueGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi , This is from Thomas the owner and I thank you personally for your wonderful review about the hotel and staff. Especially about the new rooms on the top floor, they have been very well received. Your comment about our free breakfast is heartwarming and we always strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience while staying in the hotel and or during your travels around the country. As a client of Hotel Santo Tomas, during your stay in Costa Rica , if you incur any problems and need any assistance 24/7 we are there to help. It is mine and my staffs goal to have you enjoy a safe and happy holiday. Again thank you for your review and look forward to your return to Hotel Santo Tomas. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The cab ride from the airport had us wide-eyed and culture shocked. The hustle and bustle of San Jose nearly overwhelmed our party of three from laid back Key West...nearly. The accommodations and staff of Hotel Santo Tomas helped to put us at ease. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for exploring downtown on foot. The front desk staff was friendly and VERY helpful. Thomas, the owner, greeted us at breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. He shared many helpful tips and personal experiences that boosted our excitement and confidence for the rest of our journey. He even offered to help us with any questions or concerns during our time in Costa Rica via e-mail. I would highly recommend Hotel Santo Tomas; GREAT STAY!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
WOW , in one fell swoop you have described what I try to do on an everyday basis in the hotel. You are right San Jose is a busy city and full of life. Many people come and stay several days to take tours and enjoy all of the other activities that are just steps away for the hotel. It is always my pleasure to assist our visitors with whatever they require and our goal is for you, the client to leave with a wonderful impression of Costa Rica and Hotel Santo Tomas. Fantastic that you had such a great experience while you were her. I hope you may return in the future and any of your recommended friends will be taken care of. Happy Travels Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very nice hotel with great staff. We enjoyed the pool and happy hour. The hotel is walking distance from downtown which is very convient. I usually stay away from urban centers when on vacation but downtown old San Jose was a delight with the pedistrian walkway and many things going on, We would be happy to return here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeSDillonCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi Luke, wonderful description you present about San Jose, sometimes it get a bad rap, especially from travelers new to Latin America. You are correct the location here is ideal for walking and seeing the sights and an excellent spot for enjoying day tours from San Jose.Thanks so much for your kind review and looking forward to your return visit. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas for 3 nights in July, 2012. This is a boutique type Hotel with almost all the facilities and charms of a large hotel in a resort area. I liked the design and architecture of this hotel and its rooms which are good for singles, couples as well as families with children. The rooms are very clean with spacious, well-lit, bathrooms. Hotel staff are friendly and courteous and finally, the hotel was not very expensive at all. Most of the places I wanted to go (in downtown San Jose) were within walking distance from the Hotel. The restaurant offers good foods, although the choices are limited and its only open for breakfast (free) and dinner. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Santo Tomas and would like to stay there agian on my next trip. - PB from Canada

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophierani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi PB, thanks so much for your concise and accurate comments about the hotel and facilities. I strive to provide exactly what you described at a great price. I really appreciate especially about the design and architecture, as very much of the hotel was designed and built by myself and many hard workers who put their heart into the fine details. Wonderful that you had a great experience here and will love to have you return. Warmest regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel in June/July 2012. In our oppinion very good value for the money. It has a great location with just a 2 minute walk to the main pedestrian street and the Plaza Cultural with among other things Museo de Oro.

It is also on the list of pick-up locations for different transport services. (took a minivan from Monteverde with a bunch of other people that had to change busses at a hub outside of town, but not us, we just sat tight all the way to the hotel door.)

The frontdesk staff was very helpfull in helping us to book taxis and trips.

Also the inhouse restaurant is a plus.

We used it as a hub and returned 3 times on our way to and from different places during our 3 week trip. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martoscaoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi to Oslo, Norway and a big thank you from Thomas , the owner of the hotel. I know I spoke to you on several occasions and am very happy you had an outstanding experience while here in Costa Rica. Just the fact you returned three times says it all. As you commented, we are an ideal spot for tours and seeing all local attractions. I am really please you enjoyed our restaurant and happy hour from 4 to 7 PM with Carlos our bar tender. Happy Trails Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing