We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet respite in City”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Our family spent 2 nights in San Jose prior to leaving Costa Rica. We ate at the restaurant the first night. The food was tasty.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, beds comfortable. The service was excellent and the pool and hot tub were fun! There's a slide from one to the other.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Hi Debora, your title is what many guests have said about the hotel in the past as well. Once behind the doors it a totally different atmosphere, what with the floral gardens and pool and jacuzzi. The location is such that you can walk to everything, only four blocks to central avenue the main street in San Jose. All of your other comments are what I believe guests are looking for in a hotel, glad to know we delivered. Thanks so much for you recommendations . Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas for New Year’s 2012/13, and it was a great place for us. The hotel is owned by a long-time resident of the country, although he was originally from the United States. He has put lots of effort into making this a nice place to stay, and his hospitality is evident by his attention to each visitor and his willingness to do anything to help you have a good time in San Jose and Costa Rica overall. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds, and the hot shower was perfect after a swim in the pool/spa on a cool December evening (a note that the hot water in the showers take a bit to get there at night when no one has been using it so be patient). Although the hotel is on the edge of the main part of San Jose, we felt generally secure and had a very safe place to park our car during our stay (something like $11/night). Also, because it is near city center, it means a quick walk gets you to everything in city center that you would want to go to. The free breakfast is nothing fancy but still nice (gallo pinto, eggs, toast, juice, and fruit), and the staff were all courteous and helpful. Also, a note that the wireless internet in our rooms was not the best. They did have wired internet too but we were not able to use it given there is not a connection on a MacBook Air. Oh, for good wireless internet... In total though, this was definitely a very good place to stay for the price and helped us enjoy our time in the capital city of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hola Nicmonson, Very nice, complete review and I really do like what I am doing ! Must be from my southern background of Alabama and North Carolina heritage. Wonderful that you had a great experience here for your New Year. I am pretty much everyday in the breakfast area to meet and greet clients and just help them with whatever they need. All of my staff are trained as well and we provide full service 24/7 , something that most small hotel don't do. A big Thank You from me for such an outstanding review of the hotel and services.
Best Wishes Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Santo Tomas for 2 days. There are some great public areas including the pool which are great for relaxing outside of your room. We stayed in a really nice 'deluxe' room on the upper floors which was really nice and then a cheaper room downstairs the next night which was obviously much smaller. The inclusive breakfast was adequate and the restaurant staff were always nice which goes a long way. We ate dinner 1 night in the restaurant and it was ok. Met Tomas a few times and he was very nice. Very fast wifi available throughout the hotel. Location is only 1 block from a large supermarket.
Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: There is a big difference between the room types in size, comfort and price so bear this in mind whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hi Dale S. from Australia, Hope the rest of your walkabout goes well and happy we could help you with your travels in Costa Rica. The hotel does offer several different areas , that are open and covered as well a nice hot jacuzzi and pool, by the restaurant. There are 5 different routers located in the hotel , but they all use the same password, just log on to the strongest signal , no matter where you are and you will have great WiFi speed ! Thanks so much for the definite recommendation, good info for our clients . Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

nice central city hotel, book only the renovated rooms, breakfast is not great (another guest asked for a second piece of toast and was denied), dinner is slightly better but not much -- typical casados. Otherwise service was ok. One of us missed a flight connection and the hotel didn't charge us for that night. Prices seemed adequate.

(4 for the rooms and service, but only 2 for the food)

Room Tip: book only the renovated rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Christoph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Hi Christoph O, Thanks for the review that you placed. Most likely you stayed in our cheapest room at around 58.00 US for two including our free hot cooked breakfast. We do not advertise a free buffet, but our free hot cooked breakfast does consist of , fresh Costa Rican coffee or tea , two fresh juices, a fruit plate, toast, jam, eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto ( a Costa Rica breakfast dish ) and hot and curry based spices for the meal. Our dinner menu does not list a typical casado, but if you requested one, than my chef will make it. We do offer, chicken, pork , fish , pastas and beef , with such plates as , Almond Chicken Breast, Chicken Cacciatore, Normandy White Sea Bass, ect.ect and more international dishes. It quite pleases me to know that you thought our prices were adequate, most clients comment here on Trip Advisor , that selection, portion, price and quality are very good. I remember giving the free night away to the person that missed their connection , about a $58.00 value, I thought it was a nice gesture to help the group. Again I apologize for not being able to meet your standards, I will continue to try harder. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 9 days in February. I used it as a base for taking day trips in all directions of the city. Thomas and his staff were very helpful in sitting down with me and planning out those trips. I also had a great time walking around the downtown area which is within a few blocks of the hotel. My room was on the first floor and I found it quite adequate. Although dated, it was clean, had hot water in the shower, WiFi, TV, in room safe, and I felt it was quiet. The breakfasts were basic but filling. I would stay there again and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

A big shout out to Seattle Solo Traveler from Costa Rica. How nice it makes me feel that after such a time you went and placed such a fine review. That just means we did it right and created wonderful memories and an outstanding experience ! That is what travel is all about, I have traveled the word and know how important it is sometimes just a smile and friendly atmosphere can be. Your comments about being a ( Great Value and Location ) are just two of the items that just keeps new clients coming and returning along with the Free WI-Fi , Hot cooked breakfast, pool and jacuzzi, to name a few more! Again, a heartfelt thank you for you excellent review. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Although we only stayed for 1 night before catching a bus to nicoya, Santo Tomas was peaceful, with great food, incredibly friendly English speaking staff and the most comfy bed I have slept in in a long time.

I would definately recommend it and will certainly stay there on my return to San Jose.

Well recomended.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Hola Anthony, Thanks so much for taking the time to place your positive comments. In a very short , concise sentence you have summed up what most travelers are looking in a hotel ! I hope you are able to stay with us on your return trip out of Costa Rica. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I have spent a lot of time in hotels, but until I stayed at Hotel Santo Thomas I have never seen an owner making the rounds at 7:00 a.m. breakfast to make sure everything was fine with the rooms and to chat with the hotel guests about their travel plans. We had car trouble and Thomas (owner) gave us as much help as he could (we made it to our destination). The front desk staff were also very helpful. For this reason I give the hotel an "excellent" rating instead of a very good. The clean comfortable rooms (no bed bugs), along with a small(ish) pool, weight room, good breakfast, access to parking and reasonable prices make this centrally located hotel well worth staying at. If you are a light sleeper and not used to city noises, bring ear plugs. We found the hotel surprisingly quiet given its location. I would stay here again and I would recommend the hotel to friends and family without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreenSnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Hi GreenSnapDragon in cold Toronto. Thanks so much for letting me know that you made it to your destination. As you drove away, I though to myself that is one determined group of travelers ! As you stated, I was there early and almost all morning I am in the hotel, making sure that every thing is going well for the clients as well as my staff. Most of my staff has been with me many years and I have a wonderful team of people supporting myself and each other. Your other wonderful comments are genuinely appreciated and my staff has read them and send a big ( Gracias ) . Hope you and family can return in the not too distance future . Happy New Year to everybody. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £47 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing