We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Hotel”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We had a great experience with this hotel. When we first arrived the area looked a little old but once we were inside it was wonderful. The room was large and very clean. The staff were more than helpful. They helped arrange our tours for us. They had very early taxis ready and the two evening meals were good. Only four blocks from main downtown great for walking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hi Connie, A Great Small Hotel, outstanding , that is just what we try to do every day. Yes we are in the historical district of San Jose , Barrio Amon. It was established by the French in the 1700 's and was the first city in Latin America to have public street lights in August 9, 1894 , Paris was the first. A great experience is what the hotel business is all about for us. And as you stated only four blocks from Central Avenue, the main pedestrian street in San Jose, close to all museums and attractions. Thank you for your wonderful comments! Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Thank you for your kind hospitality.Your staff are very professional and did every thing to make my stay there a positive experience. The owner Senor Tomas is a very fine gentleman with a very a very friendly and out going personality.I highly recommend the hotel as a great place to stay and relax and feel at home in San Jose ,Mucho Gracias Amigo....Until next time...Thank you again for a wonderful stay...

Room Tip: Upstairs is a very comfortable place to have a room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hi Mike, Always our pleasure to assist and as you said make it your home away from home. That is what we strive for everyday. Looking forward to your next visit Safe Journeys Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

located very close to Parque Morazon, I found the Hotel Santo Tomas to be a very pleasant stay that I would recommend to my friends without hesitation. Hotel is staffed 24hrs a day with friendly and knowledgeable employees who were very helpful with all of my questions (especially Mauricio). Room was clean and bright with good size bed, writing desk and small sitting table. Also had ceiling fan, air con, tv and small safe. Some of the hotel amenities included an exercise room, swimming pool, free wifi, breakfast, one computer for guest use, and tour options.I had a first floor room close to the swimming pool but hotel was very quiet at night and slept soundly. Area to the east of the hotel was a little sketchy at night but nothing out of the ordinary. Very enjoyable stay and will stay here again on any future trips. Also a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hola Luis, a big thanks for the great review and your comments. Very nice and good value is a solid title that tells prospective guests what they are getting. Thanks for listing the different facilities we have, you missed our hot jacuzzi and flat screen TV's, something other area hotels don't offer ! Happy to hear you were able to have a great stay in the hotel .
Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We planned to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 4 nights instead. Nice clean room, friendly staff and breakfast included. The staff is really helpfull and nice and we got great help planing the rest of our trip.
Will absolutely stay here again if we ever come back to CR!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swetess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Hi Swetess, So wonderful to have clients from Sweden in the hotel ! A nice thank you from me, Thomas on your comments about the hotel and service. Especially the cleanliness and service, most important in a hotel. All of my staff is trained to assist in what ever a client needs 24/ 7 and we have bilingual staff on all the time. Safe Travels Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed at this property now for the 3rd year in a row and love staying here! The owner and staff are very helpful with any of your needs including booking trips around Costa Rica. The location
of the hotel is pretty good with several nice parks close by including a nice zoo. The main tourist
drag is just a few blocks away where you will find lots of nice places to eat. The best place to get the most for your dollar for Colonies is the national bank just one block away. There is a nice large grocery store nearby. Just ask staff how to get there. Hotel has a weight room that is sufficient to get a decent workout in. I also run and find going to one of the nearby parks your best bet as traffic is sometimes bad. The hotel has a nice small pool and a hot tub. The rooms
don't have A/C but it is not necessary as the weather is not hot in San Jose and there are overhead fans in all rooms. The free breakfast is really good here from 7-9am. I will continue to come back to this place anytime I stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hola Mike , Wonderful to hear that you are one of the many return customers that we have. Yes we have a great location and it's our pleasure to assist clients in tour, car rental and travel planning 24/7/365 , we always have bilingual staff available, as well. Very rewarding to hear that you appreciate the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast that we serve. Happy hour by the pool area is also from 4 to 7 pm with Carlos our bartender and Manuel our fine chef! Looking forward to your visit next year Mike ! Warmest Regards
Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Hotel is very reasonably priced and comfortable. A good value. Rooms are large and very clean. Not luxurious but comfortable for a night or two. We stayed here the first and last nights of our Costa Rica vacation, going to the pacific in between (which was gorgeous!). Staff was nice and very helpful. The only problem was with the rental car company CR-SAVS. We rented a small SUV for the trip to the beach property where we stayed for a week. The car looked fine, but when we returned it (covered in Costa Rica dirt road dust) the rental company Rep claimed there was an area of small scratches on the rubber bumper, visable with dust in them. We would not have been able to see the pre-existing scratches in the sun, on a clean bumper, when we accepted the car. We had no problems with the car, not even a flat tire which the rep seemed surprised about (yes, the roads can be very bad--be prepared). The company is attempting to charge us $140 for several small scratches at the bottom of the RUBBER bumper of the SUV. The car was in a private space, and never left unattended during the week we had it. We are absolutely positive the scratches did not occur in our possession, and feel CR-SAVS is attempting to extort money from us. The Rep said he would call us before we left the country to let us know their position on the bumper and if they would assess a charge: we never heard from him but see the credit card charge. Think twice about using CR-SAVS for a rental car.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hi Connie, Your first sentence says it all- reasonably priced, comfortable and a good value! With respect to CR-Save car rental company, I have been using them for years and this is the first such incident we have had. I truly apologize that you have had a misunderstanding. I am glad to hear that the rest of your travels were wonderful and that you had a great experience here in the Hotel Santo Tomas. Safe Travels Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas is an old Colonial place with amazingly large & comfortable rooms (make sure that they are NOT facing the front of the hotel, as it can be a bit noisy), Once inside, you can forget that you are away from the heart of a busy city such as San Jose. It is within a walking distance of the major city attaracions and a good place to start your trip in Costa Rica. Breakfast in amazing and the staff are warm and helpful too. Great Value

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel are quieter, also the better rooms seem to be upstairs, worth paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivien49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Hi Vivien, Great Value, I'll take that any day ! I think in today's economy that is just what most clients are looking for. We also have great day tours that we can assist clients with 24/7 for their journeys here in Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas is also a great place to end your travels as well. Especially if you are returning from the east coast and leaving the country the next day. We offer taxi service at the hotel and clients may even pay with a credit card for their airport transfer at any hour. Your comments about forgetting that you are in the heart of an active city is correct , with our jacuzzi and pool surrounded by the floral gardens and seating areas makes for a quiet atmosphere by our restaurant El Oasis. This is where we serve the Free Hot Cooked Breakfast from 7 to 9 am , restaurant open from 4 to 10pm also. Thank you very much for your outstanding review . Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#7 of 78 in San Jose
1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £45 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing