We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay in San Jose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas was a lovely, quiet hotel in San Jose - it was actually quite empty in the low tourist season. Spacious clean rooms and great outdoor seating areas for hanging out with your friends in the evenings. The front desk staff and bartender were always very nice and helpful - giving us recommendations for tours and restaurants around town. Breakfast was made-to-order eggs, delicious pinto gallo and fresh cut fruit.

Only downside is that driving in downtown San Jose is a pain! Just take taxis and tours that will pick you up from the hotel to avoid a lot of headaches!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laureno650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Lauren O, Outstanding review, Thank You! Yes we highly recommend that everyone either taxi or bus in to San Jose and let us assist them with a car rental for the next morning , delivered right here to the hotel after their free breakfast and off they go or we assist them with the many day tours that are available. Love meeting and chatting with the guests in the morning over coffee. Safe Travels Thoma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    322
    86
    20
    11
See reviews for
153
384
166
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

$35 cab from airport. Accommodated a very early 7:30 am check in. Attentive front desk. Met Thomas the owner who was very helpful suggesting food stops, things to do and currency. Room is large, clean and comfortable. Wifi works great. Excellent covered and raised patio, perfect for relaxing after wandering Central Ave. Lots of cozy seating on property. Restaurant attached has really good food and casually professional service. Excellent location and close to museums, bakeries and the myriad of things to do downtown. Stay here! It's awesome and very reasonably priced.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi TommyP. Very nicely written, short, concise and a very informative review. Thank You ! Free, reliable fast Wi-Fi is something that is really important to guests and in the hotel I have installed 5 different routers for the guests use , so no matter where you are on the property there is great high speed ! Love your statement ( Stay here! It's awesome and very reasonably priced ) doesn't get any better than that, again a sincere than you .Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My sister and I spent two days at Hotel Santo Tomas, and we really enjoyed the hotel and felt that the staff provided excellent service. Two individuals in particular being Adrian Alexander (the cook), and Ricardo. They both took time to chat with us after our dinner where we had the opportunity to swap food recipes, culture, and learn about each others lives. My favorite part of traveling is the opportunity to meet and interact with different people, and Ricardo and Adrian Alexander definetely contributed much to our trip and our perspective on Costa Rican life.

The owner was very nice. The hotel was beautiful, and exquisitely designed. I would recommend this hotel to anybody without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhagerty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hola Mhagerty, Most outstanding comments about the staff: Thank You , they both have seen what you wrote and send a Big Hearty Smile! I There are lots of terraces, gardens and niche spaces designed in to the property for clients to do exactly what you said. Lots of great information gets traded and travel tips are spread around. We also assist many clients with their tour and rental car needs. Great Review - Than You from Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townshend, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This review may seem a bit odd, as I didn't actually get to stay there. As it turned out it was a bit too far away from my dentist and that is what I'm in CR for. However, the hotel is really nice and you can tell it's the owners heart and soul. Which brings me to my next point. Thomas the owner is a good guy. He held me a room for a two week stay and when I arrived and realized how far from my dentist the hotel was, he graciously cancelled the reservation for me with no charge. If I come back for just vacation, I will def go back and stay. Enough said.

Room Tip: I would go for a balcony room overlooking the beautiful pool/courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimNDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Tim, Thanks so much for the kind words, I fully understood your situation and was glad to help. Sometimes we can make exceptions to policy and this was one of them. We have many clients use the hotel for dental work for extended periods of time and we usually assist them in booking tours and taking short trips in their between time with the dentist. I am sure your new dental procedure will be fantastic , I have seen many many clients leave with a big new radiant smile ! Again thank you so much for the kind words and looking forward to seeing you again! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

More than comfortable and clean accommodations in a central location, Hotel Santo Thomas is an impressive old coffee plantation house that takes you back in time while welcoming you with open arms. I'm so glad that Thomas, the owner, suggested I take a stroll and explore the property. Impressive. In addition, the staff is friendly and attentive - professional and courteous service through and through. I didn't get a chance to use the gym or charming pool, but these, along with other amenities are available to enhance your stay. Very nice breakfast included too. I'm happy to recommend Hotel Santo Thomas!

Room Tip: I was downstairs but wish I'd booked a room upstairs, where I'd imagine you'd feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi Roger, great having you stay with us and wonderful you enjoyed just rambling around the property, that is what it is here for. I left lots of nice areas for sitting and relaxing to create a nice holiday, time for planning your travels and asking us plenty of questions along with letting us book your tours and rent a a car! Your comments are just incredible well written and I genuinely thank you for you clear, concise review of the hotel. Again Thank You from Thomas Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Hotel Santo Tomas is adorable. From the rooms to the garden it is just such a cozy beautiful place. I loved the hot tub. My room was always very clean and I felt very safe in the hotel. The wi-fi worked very well. There is a supermarket right around the corner and it is a quick walk to the center of town. I found the area very comfortable and had no problems, even at night. Also, the owner and the staff were so kind and helpful and always with a smile on their faces. They made my trip a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: You will love the rooms beside the tiny courtyard with the fountain. It felt tucked away and seclude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi Connie, Great having you stay with us and I love your title “Absolutely Charming”! We have many single females stay with here, as they are looking for clean, safe and a great value in San Jose. Glad we could assist you with all of your needs while here in the hotel. We have five different room types to fit the number of travelers and budget conscious guests. We have been doing this for over 23 years and it's wonderful to have another happy customer. Fantastic review Thank You ! Safe travels and Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on arrival in Costa Rica. Hotel seems a little dated looking, could do with some updating. Bed was comfortable. Pool area is well designed and pretty but the water was turbid and rather uninviting. Breakfast was uninspiring, and I would have liked milk for the coffee. Good location.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi Johnny, thanks for the review. Part of the hotel is dated, it was built 105 years ago , you stayed in one of our economy rooms. At US $52.00 including the FREE hot cooked breakfast, which consists of eggs cooked to your selection, small fruit plate, two different daily fresh made juices, toast, jam, fresh Costa Rica coffee or tea and gallo pinto along with sauces to liven things up is about an $8.00 dollar value across the street. Toss in the fast , reliable Wi-Fi and most clients are pretty happy. My new rooms upstairs , especially the superior twins or balcony view rooms for just a few dollars more are a great value. The pool was a little cloudy because of the heavy rains we have been having , it is now sparkling clear. Again Thank You for the review . Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing