We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Was here a couple weeks ago and love this place. It's an old charming hotel, with beautiful floor tiles. I adored the location, everything is walk able, such as market, restaurants, and bars. There are many places to sit down and relax, there's an upstairs area with a view of the court yard and pool. The breakfast is basic but included and they have a bar/restaurant if you want to stay in the hotel. Also they can help you with different tours & recommend many things to do & see while you are in Costa Rica. We met the owner and he is a really nice guy full of suggestions on places to eat, which is right up my alley since I am a Foodie. I recommend this place while any one is in San Jose

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieNewportBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hola Jackie, Outstanding review you have written: Thank You! I have many clients such as yourself , lets call them urban explores who come and really enjoy what San Jose has, beautiful parks lots of places to people watch and tons of good day tours we can assist with. I encourage informed wandering and this is something I do in any places I travel to in the world myself, it FUN! My staff and I are here to assist , again thank you for the great review. Safe Travels, Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    334
    93
    21
    11
See reviews for
161
397
172
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Convenient location close to downtown but not so nice for walking at night. Would not recommend for families with small children.. Pool was dirty. Small breakfast compared to other hotels we stayed at. Beds were comfortable. Did not like all the steps . Staff pleasant, Only recommendation for restaurants was their own at the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the anex were very nice but the 24 steps up metal stairs not so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Hi Joycear, Thanks for the review, yes we have a great location for seeing all the sights and all day tours pick up and drop off right here at the hotels front door. Yes, as in most big cities you have to be attentive while walking at night. I have stayed in many hotels in the US and others parts of the world where I had to use common sense during my stay. I do apologize for the pool being cloudy, we had worked two days on the filtration system changing the sand and it caused the pool to become cloudy. It is now sparkling clear, just like the jacuzzi. Many families with children do stay here and enjoy the facilities , especially the water slide. The breakfast you had is FREE and is an 8 dollar value across the street. I don't advertise it as a buffet. With economy rooms at $52.00 including the FREE Hot Cooked Breakfast, ( you won't get that at a Marriott), which consists of two fresh made juices, small fresh fruit plate, toast, jam, eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto( local dish, cultural experience we offer) with spices to liven it up and fresh brewed Costa Rica coffee. This is a typical Costa Rican breakfast and many clients appreciate that it is free. There are two stories in the hotel and yes there are stairs. I have never counted them , so thank you for that number. If a client has a physical problem or just to over weight to climb the stairs , we will happily change their room reserved if possible. Again Thank You for the Review Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas is a great hotel in central San Jose with an ideal location. Large, comfortable rooms are a pleasant surprise. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Fast, reliable wifi is available throughout the hotel. We were able to store our luggage while on a tour with no difficulty. Reliable taxi service was arranged for us at the front desk. The sitting areas are great for enjoying a drink or a snack. Although the breakfast was minimal and plain, it was available at an appropriate time and was prepared quickly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCL5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Hola DCL5021, Great review , thanks for that . We have five different room types to fit a broad range of clients , I am happy you found your large and comfortable. there is free luggage storage , while you go off to Tortuguerro and other parts of the country. Also fast, RELIABLE WI-Fi is really important and there are five different routers in the hotel to log on to so that no matter where you are in the property you have a strong, fast signal. Again Thank you so much for the outstanding review . Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here on the first night and the last two nights of our two week vacation. It was our first time to costa rica so aren't too sure what to expect. We really enjoyed our experience at the hotel and city.

Check in was quick and easy. Price was as quoted on the internet based on currency exchange rate which was an excellent price when comparing amenities, location and reviews. They helped us to the room with our bags and answered any questions we had. We decided to stay in a balcony room and agree with all the comments about the size, quality of furnishings, comfort of the bed, shower (need new shower heads), cleanliness and central location. We've traveled around to a few central america countries and thought the neighborhood safe, had cool architectural buildings, amazing parks and didn't have any concerns....of course you always want to be aware of your surroundings regardless of what country you are in. We walked around on the pedestrian strip mall at night and went out looking for a place to eat for dinner two of the nights we where there.

We ate at the bar/lounge and had drinks which we enjoyed. We didn't get a chance to eat breakfast since we left early for a location, tour and then flight. My wife did bump into the owner briefly one morning and said he seemed nice. Wished we could have officially met him in person since everyone there was great and several others said he was helpful.

A couple of things stood out at Santo Tomas. One was the emails we received from them. Prior to arriving, they sent tips about getting a licensed taxi or taking the bus from the airport and the typical cost. When we checked out we got another email thanking us for our business and asked if we had any issues or problems to let them know. Which we found very classy and a nice touch. The other item was the "HOT" tub. Most of the hot tubs in costa rica are cold. We did a lot of activities and soaking our muscles each night sure felt good at the end of the night;) After, three class 4 white water trips, two zipline courses, two atv tours, ultra-light flying, rainforest hike, four volcanoes, six national parks and countless towns it sure was divine.

I highly recommend staying in a balcony room anytime you're in San Jose. We'll for sure be back to check out the museums since we didn't get a chance this trip with them closing early at 5pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcclain072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hola Senor McClain072, What a wonderful review and I personally than you for taking your time and energy to present something so informative and well written. This has already been a great help to other clients , just by seeing the votes received as helpful in such a short time period. Great also you took the time to read the tips and suggestions we send when someone books on the hotels website directly , as you stated you also get the BEST PRICE ! Many clients stay 4 or more nights to enjoy the day tours we arrange and also to just sit in that HOT tub and relax, recharge and refresh with a cold drink by the pool area. In reference to the shower heads, we have a bi weekly inspection on those that I have now to changed to weekly, gotta keep those energy efficient heads in order. Thank you for that comment. In closing again I Thank You for your kind words and comments. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel Santo Tomas was a lovely, quiet hotel in San Jose - it was actually quite empty in the low tourist season. Spacious clean rooms and great outdoor seating areas for hanging out with your friends in the evenings. The front desk staff and bartender were always very nice and helpful - giving us recommendations for tours and restaurants around town. Breakfast was made-to-order eggs, delicious pinto gallo and fresh cut fruit.

Only downside is that driving in downtown San Jose is a pain! Just take taxis and tours that will pick you up from the hotel to avoid a lot of headaches!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laureno650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Lauren O, Outstanding review, Thank You! Yes we highly recommend that everyone either taxi or bus in to San Jose and let us assist them with a car rental for the next morning , delivered right here to the hotel after their free breakfast and off they go or we assist them with the many day tours that are available. Love meeting and chatting with the guests in the morning over coffee. Safe Travels Thoma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

$35 cab from airport. Accommodated a very early 7:30 am check in. Attentive front desk. Met Thomas the owner who was very helpful suggesting food stops, things to do and currency. Room is large, clean and comfortable. Wifi works great. Excellent covered and raised patio, perfect for relaxing after wandering Central Ave. Lots of cozy seating on property. Restaurant attached has really good food and casually professional service. Excellent location and close to museums, bakeries and the myriad of things to do downtown. Stay here! It's awesome and very reasonably priced.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi TommyP. Very nicely written, short, concise and a very informative review. Thank You ! Free, reliable fast Wi-Fi is something that is really important to guests and in the hotel I have installed 5 different routers for the guests use , so no matter where you are on the property there is great high speed ! Love your statement ( Stay here! It's awesome and very reasonably priced ) doesn't get any better than that, again a sincere than you .Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My sister and I spent two days at Hotel Santo Tomas, and we really enjoyed the hotel and felt that the staff provided excellent service. Two individuals in particular being Adrian Alexander (the cook), and Ricardo. They both took time to chat with us after our dinner where we had the opportunity to swap food recipes, culture, and learn about each others lives. My favorite part of traveling is the opportunity to meet and interact with different people, and Ricardo and Adrian Alexander definetely contributed much to our trip and our perspective on Costa Rican life.

The owner was very nice. The hotel was beautiful, and exquisitely designed. I would recommend this hotel to anybody without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhagerty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hola Mhagerty, Most outstanding comments about the staff: Thank You , they both have seen what you wrote and send a Big Hearty Smile! I There are lots of terraces, gardens and niche spaces designed in to the property for clients to do exactly what you said. Lots of great information gets traded and travel tips are spread around. We also assist many clients with their tour and rental car needs. Great Review - Than You from Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing