We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This a duplicate review as I am consolidating two reviewer accounts.
"We stayed at Hotel Santo Tomas on Feb. 22nd, 2013. It was a great point to walk to the downtown area or relax in their pool and hot tub. Our second floor room was spacious, clean and had a very nice bath and tiled shower. The breakfast was tasty and filling with several options from which to choose. Thomas, the owner was present at breakfast and was very helpful answering questions about the area. They have a tour operations desk in their lobby to help set up day tours and travel. We didn't use their help, but wish we had as our week in other parts of the country progressed. We really enjoyed our stay. It was like an oasis in the city. We parked our car in their guarded lot next door for $11 a day. Daytime walking around town was good. It is not advisable to walk anywhere in San Jose after the crowds thin out in the evening. We recommend this hotel. If we return to San Jose we will stay there again."read less

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hi Janaronnie, Thank You for the wonderful review. I think your really describes in a nice, concise manner , what it is we offer here at the Hotel Santo Tomas. We have been doing it now for the past 24 years and continue to strive to make it better. For our future clients , it really is a good idea to use our knowledge base to help fine tune your travels or just do it all from scratch. Directly contact my hotel thru our email or skype and let use help. Most outstanding review , Thank You ! Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

My partner and I stumbled across this hotel after a very tiring overnight flight. Despite our early arrival the owner and front desk staff were incredibly kind and accommodating!!! The room was spacious, overlooking the pool and it was a comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and in the evening we had some nice ceviche in the hotel's restaurant. The owner - Tom, was very friendly - with some great suggestions regarding tours and our itinerary. We would stay here again.
Jennifer and Trish

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Trish, I have many travelers and their partners stay with us, I have been doing this for over 24 years and it's always great to meet and greet new clients. Great to know we got you off to a wonderful start here in Costa Rica . Looking forward to having you stay again! Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If you really, really want to stay in San Jose, then this hotel isn't a bad option, with some reservations. A sign requesting tips for help with baggage greets one on the way up to the rooms, and envelopes left on the dresser for tips for both room and desk staff are not good introductions to the hotel. I understand that tipping is the norm in some countries, but San Jose was our last stop in Costa Rica and we hadn't met such blatant requests for tips until then. That said, we stayed in this wonderful old building for two nights in a room upstairs. Getting to the room was a little difficult, for the stairs were steep and dragging suitcases up was not a pushover. We had help on the way up, but no one was around to help us on the way out at 5 in the morning. The room was large with two large comfortable, double beds. There was space for storage and the water was hot. Breakfast was ordinary - a small plate of fruit, a small serve of eggs and a two pieces of toast. For $US100 a night I would have at least expected fresh milk for coffee. Some nice outdoor areas in which to relax. Of the three desk staff with whom we dealt, only one was courteous and efficient. Jocularity is no substitute for either of those attributes. We we're able to refrigerate our wine purchase in the hotel fridge until we needed it. Overall, a comfortable stay, but not a good vibe in the place, particularly not for that price.

Room Tip: There are a lot of rooms, check before you accept; there is variation in size and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi In60s, Yes, I have signs requesting that you tip for baggage service. I don't know of any small three star or four start hotel in the world, that provides baggage service now, let alone free. Many times, clients think just because they are in a Latin country, they are superior and won't tip. NO ONE has to tip, if this made you feel uncomfortable, I apologize. A good travel tip is to pack your bag and then take out half. You booked your room thru Expedia, if you had used the hotels direct website you would have saved $$$. The FREE breakfast consists of a small fruit plate, two fresh made juices,toast, eggs cooked to order, gallo pinto ( Costa Rica dish) fresh made spices to liven it up, toast , jam, tea, and Fresh Brewed coffee, about an 8 dollar value across the street. With respect to the front desk staff, Costa Ricans are a pretty sensitive bunch and I have trained my staff that if they have an angry, disgruntled or grumpy client to just try to keep the conservation short. The descriptive word you used in your review was (Jocularity) which one of the dictionary definitions is ( a jocular man who could make the most serious people smile ) I have spoken to my staff and they will be more serious in the future. I apologize if his attempt at humor insulted you . As most other reviews show my staff does a a pretty good job. Thanks for the review. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Nice and fairly big room, friendly staff and good location close to the centre. We were a family of four and stayed in a room with two double beds, which worked fine. Stayed there on our first and last nights in Costa Rica since we were arriving late and leaving early.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Thomas, great having you and your family stay here with us. I have had more clients from Sweden this year , than in the last 24 ! Many times the European traveler will stay the first three or four days after arrival just to adjust and do some planning and then off they go. I am more than happy to personally assist in this, and really enjoy it. Ask for me personally for travel help and tips! Again Thank You: Happy Trails, Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We only stayed here one night, but I would come back if I had too. The host/front desk was very friendly. He carried my girlfriends bag upstairs and let us know all that was going on (when breakfast was, etc.).

The room was small, but clean and looked great. The bed wasnt too firm nor soft, somewhere in the middle. The bathroom had a small pedestal stink with a large shower. There was a safe in the room (actually it was just a nightstand cupboard that locks. I would assume a hammer could pry it open). Outside our room was a nice little relaxing area with some sofas and chairs. Seemed like a cool place to have a cup of coffee and read.

The hotel has a restaurant on site. We went for some drinks and dinner. A little expensive for what you get, not too bad though. The food was good, nothing great, but we were tired from our flight and didnt want to venture out, and this hit the spot.

In the morning we had to leave before breakfast was ready (7am). So at 6:30am we went down and asked the waiter/service person if we could just grab a cup of coffee. He didnt have a problem with that and let us in to get a cup before we had to leave. Thought that was awesome. I need my coffee!

Nice one night experience. Nothing bad to write about. Cool little place if your not looking for anything too fancy.

Tip: The outside doesnt look like its all that when you pull up, but it gets A LOT better once your inside. I was a little scared when the driver stopped and said, here's your hotel. I was like "Seriously? Here?" But no worries, all is good once you are inside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wurms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Wrums, Very nice and well written review - Thank You ! Lots of couples stay here and just chill the first there for four days, a few day trips and a long soak in the hot tub and you are ready for the rest. We assist in all types of travel arrangements , day tours, overnight Tortuguerro, rafting, car rentals, ect. and just anything you need , contact us us for assistance, it will be our pleasure. Great Review thank you again , Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A good old hotel, reminds one of the high colonial period. The bed was old style, but comfortable. The people at the front were polite, respectful, helpful. Breakfast was tasty. The bathroom was not all that great. But still, for the price, quite a good way to start the vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hola Hamfat, I would have thought you were a southern boy like me , with a TripAdviosr name like that, I love it, as Emeril the famous chef says, pork fat rules! You stayed in one of our economy rooms and they are a bit small, but as you said for the price - Hey!! I have five different room types, with different prices and room configurations and many have new bathrooms. Grab one of the new ones in the new, second floor addition located in the back of the hotel. Very nice review , Safe Travels HamFat- Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here during our week long adventure in Costa Rica back in August of 2013. After flying in and taking a shuttle to the hotel, we arrived at Santo Tomas. The check-in process was easy and we were shown to our room. The room was very spacious, and had all of our needs. The one oddity was that the bathroom had no "ceiling" and was open to the room since the room ceiling was quite high. The only issue this caused was that after a shower the steam took a bit to get out of the room, but no biggie. We quickly discovered the bar and bartender Carlos, who was excellent. He even made us dinner one night when we didn't feel like going out (and the chef wasn't available), and told us a lot about the country and city. The hotel was in a prime spot close to downtown, and we easily walked to the downtown market streets and the nearby park. Lots of stores / grocery stores / restaurants were very near by. We didn't venture out at night much, but across the street there are 2 good restaurants, and of course the mini-restaurant in the hotel. Can't forget about the full breakfast each morning either, complete with fresh fruit, gallo pinto & eggs. The hot tub was wonderful after a long day exploring the city or nearby nature exhibits. The front desk (and owner) assisted us multiple times in booking local tours, walking tours, and were generally very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat if we come across San Jose again!

Thank you for everything Carlos, Tomas, and the rest of the staff!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be a little quieter, but overall you shouldn't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Buck, Man you are a great writer, super good review and you really covered all of the bases. I think perspective clients will be able to form a pretty good idea of what the place is like. Yes, you are correct our location is great for seeing the city, taking the many day tours we offer and just chilling, by the pool, long tall drink the hot tub! fantastic Review Buck, thank you so much for it. Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £45 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing