We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here with a friend from March 22-24th, the original plan was not to be at this hotel except to sleep, but not every vacation goes as planned. I ended up getting sick that weekend and it ruined the rest of the plans so my review would probably be better had we not spent so much time here. I'd reccommend this hotel if you are looking for a good price and don't plan on being there much. But it's definitely not luxury or anything if that's what you're looking for.

Here are some cons: Our room wasn't exactly clean upon arrival. Some trash on the floor and tables, and a cup of water with a cigarette butt still in our bathroom.Even though there's a huge no smoking plaque in the room, it definitely reeked of stale cigarette smoke. There was no a/c in our room. Also, we were in this little nook that had a courtyard/open air right outside. So don't ask me why the previous person in there was smoking inside the room. The only problem with this courtyard setup is that there are 2 other rooms in this nook. Since there is no a/c, we had to open the window for cool air so we got to listen to our neighbors. And sunday at 5am listening to children screaming/running in and out of the adjacent room was really great. Shutting the window does not help the noise. Also, I wasn't thrilled with the location except for it being located downtown.There is a bar across the street, and some grocery stores and shops just a few blocks away. But I didn't feel the greatest about the street we were on-kind of sketchy especially when it got dark. I also felt this way though at a different hotel in San Jose, so maybe it's just me, but I am a 23 year old girl.

Pros: It's a cool building, old and lots of character. They've got a pool, but we didn't check that out. The front desk is 24 hours, which was really nice. Had I not gotten sick, we were going to take a daytrip to see a volcano. The hotel has a bunch of trips they can help book for you. The guys working up front were always helpful to us, called us cabs several times, made us restaurant reservations. I forgot his name, but he also helped me a couple times to call a friend who had a local number there. There is hot water, the room was decently sized. Beds were comfortable, nothing amazing but I slept just fine. Also-located downtown if that's where you want to be. It is a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport.

Overall I'd reccomend this place if you're looking for a decent price and aren't planning on being there much. Also, the front desk is very helpful which could really make or break your trip.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor, I forgot the room number but its just down the hall from the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Victoria, Well as you said your sickness affected your review. That's too bad you had that occur during your travels. Lets just say your Pros section is really good and I thank you for that. I hope on your next trip, it will be a healthy one. Always a bummer to be sick traveling. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    330
    91
    21
    11
See reviews for
157
392
171
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here on the last night of our 2-week vacation before flying out early and had a mostly very positive experience. Hot tub and pool were great--hot tub nice and hot! Good location. Room was fine, but we had booked an upstairs room online for $10 more or so, and they put us in a downstairs room. I asked for either upstairs or partial refund, and was told I could have credit at the bar/restaurant. Fine with me since we planned to relax poolside while our kids played, but then it turned out that the offer was a 10% discount on credit card or 15% discount on cash purchases, so I would have had to spend around $100 to get my refund in full. I said this was not acceptable and they refunded and re-ran the card at the lower rate. Not a big deal, but it was a pain in the neck after a full day of travel on boats and buses with two kids--not what I wanted to deal with before hitting the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hola Heath M, We have lots of family's stay with us and enjoy the pool and restaurant. I am the person that received your call about the room difference and to be honest I did not even think about you having to spend $100.00 to make up for the difference. My mistake, I apologize, I was just trying to find a quick solution for your $10.00 dollar difference, jeez. Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a great time in Costa Rica, and enjoyed the Hotel Santo Tomas a great deal! The owner, Thomas, was a gracious host, and the hotel was charming, clean, and we felt very safe. The kids had a ball playing in the pool, and we found an amazing corner bakery 3 blocks away. The food in the restaurant is very good, and the service is outstanding.

Room Tip: upstairs balcony rooms are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6_skiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hola 6_Skiers, Wonderful review, Thank You ! Always great to have everyone enjoy themselves and leave with great memories of Costa Rica. That is what we always try to do, let you , relax, recharge and refresh before you leave! Again Great Review , Thank You - Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the first and last night of our trip because of its proximity to the airport. It had an authentic Costa Rican look and feel. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was close within walking distance of markets, eateries and bars. We had a great experience here overall. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Zabe6, I have many , many clients do what you did and start and end their travels here at the Santo Tomas! We also assist them with all of their tour, travel and car rental needs as well. The rental cars will be delivered right here to the hotel and picked up as well , hows that for service! Very nice review, Thank You, Warmest Regards: Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A superb hotel for exploring the city centre, an excellent location for sightseeing and really close to museums, parks, markets and in the middle of the hustle & bustle of downtown San Jose.
A lovely colonial styled hotel with a warm Costa Rican hospitality and very helpful staff.
An off road gated parking lot is included and a swimming pool with jacuzzi is most welcome after a days tramping around the city.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hola Shaunt61, Wonderful to know you enjoyed the pool and hot tub at the end of the day. A cold tall, drink at Happy Hours with Adrian the bartender from 3 to 7 is always good! I have many couples stay with us and really enjoy the open garden areas and dinner, by the pool. Again Outstanding Review, Thank You , Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here on or first night in San Jose.

The hotel has its own gated parking lot which I didn't think much of at first but throughout the night as we heard windows being smashed we were thankful for it.

The room was a good size, the bathroom was large, the restaurant was okay, but the location was fantastic. It was only a couple blocks to the closest park and was less than a five minute walk to Central Ave where we spent the day walking, shopping, eating and watching street performers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Christine, Great title, love it. I don't really know what you heard , but it sounds strange to me, we don't have riots in the streets here and have never had, not one mass shooting, like some countries are having, sad to say. Yes you are correct we do have an excellent location and we assist many clients with their travels. Nice review , Thank You - Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Tucked in off of the street is a nice little oasis of hospitality. A European-style hotel the Santo Tomas is a fine place to stay while you are in the city of San Jose. If you rent a car, consider renting it from the hotel - they arrange delivery and pick-up. I spent four nights there while conducting business around the city and found everything I needed. The hotel staff is friendly and willing to serve and the owner (an ex-pat American) is available for advice and insight if you need it. Since he has lived in San Jose for more than 20 years, the advice is excellent!

I will return here again if business brings me back this way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosfrijoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hola Carlosfrijoles, Wow , what a nice review. Thank You! It is always my pleasure to assist and all of my staff is trained to do the same. I think , this is one of the nicest reviews I have had in a long time. Great info for travelers searching for a great recommendation! Warmest Regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing