We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations, an oasis of calm”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
1 review
“Above expectations, an oasis of calm”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed alone and with friends for a total of four nights. The owner and staff were, friendly, efficient and took great care of us and to assist us in all our onward arrangements as well as giving us valuable information about the city. The hotel had charm, was clean, had all the amenities we needed, the beds were comfortable and each room had its own character the food was good and the bar staff attentive and friendly. It might not look much from the outside but it's a gem, I will certainly visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Hi JeanD, Great review and wonderful to know we were able to more than meet your expectations. Fantastic you will visit again. Warmest regards Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    331
    92
    21
    11
See reviews for
158
393
172
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Santo Tomas. We stayed the night of our arrival and the night before our early morning departure. The first night, we drove right by it because it was late and the neighborhood was a tad unsavory. We doubled back and went in to find a lovely colonial style hotel with beautiful rooms, a pretty fantastic pool for our kids (ages 9 and 10) and truly welcoming hotel managers! There is secured parking if you have a rental car that they will open up for you once you arrive and we felt very safe there. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to my fellow travelers as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hola Michelle G, Outstanding to know , again we have a happy family that has stayed with us. Also I have many single female travelers and lots of dental patients stay as well. You are correct it is 1908 colonial in the original home of almost 9000 sq. feet and the new upstairs annex is another nice addition, along with the floral garden areas and view terraces. Check out the hotels website for photos of that pool area your children enjoyed!
Cool spot to relax, recharge and refresh, before traveling on. Again Very nice review - Thank You so much : Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and our two young daughters stayed at the Hotel Santo Tomas the night of our arrival in San Jose and again a week later on the night before we left to return home. We were comfortable and well cared for. The breakfast was great, and the children completely enjoyed the fine little swimming pool. There are lovely common places, upstairs and down, to sit and relax. The rooms were quite clean and the shower was strong and warm. As many guests have noted, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hola Mec C, Wonderful that you and your family enjoyed all of the facilities, that are in the Hotel We have many families stay and do just that, hang around the pool, enjoy Happy Hours from 3 to 7 in the nice hot jacuzzi or sit in some of the open air terraces or patios and surf the fast free WI-fi. There is no other Downtown San Jose hotel that has all of these amenities ! Great Review and Happy Trails to you and family: Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Santo Tomas for 3 nights in March. The room was large and had the 3 most important ingredients for us. Comfortable bed, good shower and cool for sleeping. Owner was very hands-on and very much in evidence. Staff helpful and breakfast okay. Hot tub was lovely! Hotel was also nice & quiet.
Very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianepattinson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hola Midlifer, Great review, Thank You ! You nailed three of the most important items for most clients. Happy Travels, Warmest Regards: Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our first time staying in a local hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica. We liked the hotel, but it is an older hotel, with all the charms of the passing of time. It also has some of the wrinkles of that time passing. Like everything in San Jose, it was in a crowded neighborhood, and hard to find, even for the taxi driver.
At first, the staff seemed cold, but warmed up as we stayed there, and ate in the restaurant. The staff in the little eatery were very attentive. The food was also okay, but our son's filet mignon was incredibly tough.
We got our wake up call on time, and they had a taxi waiting for us early the morning, as we had requested.
If you are looking for four star accommodations, this isn't the place, but I would recommend it, and stay again.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, which opened up into a common area which meant the noise for the street, and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigitalRodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi DigitialRodney, OK review, thank you. Yes we have five different room types to fit most budgets and when you toss in the free breakfast, Free WI-Fi, great location, lovely floral, garden areas, swimming pool and hot tub- Something almost no other downtown hotel have, we turn out to be a really good value , as most other clients have stated in their reviews. The original home was built in 1908 and the new section upstairs is designed in the original manner. Pedestal sinks, mosaic tile floor, solid , shiny,mahogany wood floors, wrought iron railings, ( see website photos) 15 foot high ceilings , ect. That is a Costa Rican experience! With respect to your sons steak, I will check on that steak , but if you had it cooked well done then it will be not as tender.
Again Thank You for the review. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for one night on our way out of Costa Rica. Pretty colonial Victorian hotel, professional staff and friendly welcome. Spacious, clean and flawless room with balcony. Two blocks from San Jose center, ideal location for walking in if you choose to do so. Not the nicest looking location; seedy, prostitutes outside etc- but Im sure no worse than any where else in the town. Felt safe and secure once inside.
Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, but not awful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykitchnvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hola Kitty, Spacious, clean and flawless room, Hey that's about as good as it gets. Thank You, Yes: San Jose and the valley is an area of 2.6 million persons and as such there are all types of characters around. Latin America is an interesting place and that is why people travel outside of their normal zone, to have a cultural experience! I have been here 28 years and really enjoy all of the diversity. As you stated a great location to see all of the parks, museums and take the many day tours, arranged by our professional, front desk staff. The FREE Hot Cooked Breakfast is a typical Costa Rica meal of a small fruit plate, , two fresh made juices, eggs, cooked to order, toast, jam, Fresh Costa Rica coffee or tea, gallo pinto and homemade sauces to keep it lively, all in all about an $8.00 dollar value across the street!
Again Thank You and Happy Trails Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We chose Santo Tomas for only one of the two nights we spent in San Jose, and regretted not booking both nights at this hotel. The hotel felt safe and our room was spacious and clean - good price/quality ratio. Great yard as well!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Pas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hola A_Past12, Great short review, I love it - Thank You! Your phrase (good price/quality ratio) Means a great value, something I think most travelers are looking for today. Lots of couples stay here for three or four days, enjoy the hot tub at night and take some of our nice day tours . Again Thank You Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,439 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
882 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing