We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Santo Tomas five nights. It is an old hotel with a lot of character. The location is great and I could walk to almost everyting I wanted to see in San Jose. I stayed one night, than took a tour, which they recommended. I was able to leave my luggage in a secure room while I took the overnight tour. The tour picked me up and dropped me off at the hotel entrance. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. There is a nice courtyard with a small pool, which I didn't get to use. I thought the food in the restaurant was a little overpriced. I ate there twice and it was very good. Breakfast is minimal but sufficient. The street looks rundown when the shops are closed; however there was never a time when I felt unsafe, and I was there alone. The hotel has a very secure/locked front gate. The hotel is located on a heavily traveled street, so there is street noise, which didn't bother me but may bother some people. If you are looking for a new, luxurious hotel than this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for an old hotel with a lot of character, good beds, friendly staff, great location and a great price, than I would recommend this hotel to you. I would also recommend the public bus system. It costs less than $1 and will take you to any part of the city you want to go to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Joy, What a truly wonderful, concise and accurate review! I hope new perspective clients really read it, as you have just stated exactly what you receive at the hotel. No need for me to say any more except a Big Thank You !! Warmest Regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room, though a bit dated, was good and clean. It a bit annoying that you are constantly asked for tips with separate envelopes for reception staff and cleaners in the room, a breakfast place tip jar and signs up asking you to tip those carrying bags (though noone did carry ours). We always tip but feel that one tip jar at reception would be better. The area is a bit sketchy but otherwise quite centrally located. Breakfast overcooked and not good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hola Natlie Z, Good inexpensive hotel, that works, we have imporved on the pinto, yes one of my new staff members was not up to speed on his eggs, I apologize for that. Thank you for the review. Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel Santo Tomas has a really nice interior. It's reasonably priced and the rooms are cute as well. Service was friendly and efficient, and thankfully they have 24-hour desk service because my boyfriend and I had to call a cab to the airport at 3:30 am. My only complaint would be the adjoining restaurant - service was friendly, but was way overpriced for the quality of the food we were served. Other than that, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hola Kristin H., we have lots of couples stay with us and enjoy happy hours in the hot tub with a tall drink! The restaurant is not a soda and is located by the pool surrounded by gardens , so a quiet atmosphere has a small price, I will check on the food. We have a great front desk staff 24/7 , wonderful to know we were helpful . Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed alone and with friends for a total of four nights. The owner and staff were, friendly, efficient and took great care of us and to assist us in all our onward arrangements as well as giving us valuable information about the city. The hotel had charm, was clean, had all the amenities we needed, the beds were comfortable and each room had its own character the food was good and the bar staff attentive and friendly. It might not look much from the outside but it's a gem, I will certainly visit again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hi JeanD, Great review and wonderful to know we were able to more than meet your expectations. Fantastic you will visit again. Warmest regards Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Santo Tomas. We stayed the night of our arrival and the night before our early morning departure. The first night, we drove right by it because it was late and the neighborhood was a tad unsavory. We doubled back and went in to find a lovely colonial style hotel with beautiful rooms, a pretty fantastic pool for our kids (ages 9 and 10) and truly welcoming hotel managers! There is secured parking if you have a rental car that they will open up for you once you arrive and we felt very safe there. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to my fellow travelers as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hola Michelle G, Outstanding to know , again we have a happy family that has stayed with us. Also I have many single female travelers and lots of dental patients stay as well. You are correct it is 1908 colonial in the original home of almost 9000 sq. feet and the new upstairs annex is another nice addition, along with the floral garden areas and view terraces. Check out the hotels website for photos of that pool area your children enjoyed!
Cool spot to relax, recharge and refresh, before traveling on. Again Very nice review - Thank You so much : Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and our two young daughters stayed at the Hotel Santo Tomas the night of our arrival in San Jose and again a week later on the night before we left to return home. We were comfortable and well cared for. The breakfast was great, and the children completely enjoyed the fine little swimming pool. There are lovely common places, upstairs and down, to sit and relax. The rooms were quite clean and the shower was strong and warm. As many guests have noted, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hola Mec C, Wonderful that you and your family enjoyed all of the facilities, that are in the Hotel We have many families stay and do just that, hang around the pool, enjoy Happy Hours from 3 to 7 in the nice hot jacuzzi or sit in some of the open air terraces or patios and surf the fast free WI-fi. There is no other Downtown San Jose hotel that has all of these amenities ! Great Review and Happy Trails to you and family: Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Santo Tomas for 3 nights in March. The room was large and had the 3 most important ingredients for us. Comfortable bed, good shower and cool for sleeping. Owner was very hands-on and very much in evidence. Staff helpful and breakfast okay. Hot tub was lovely! Hotel was also nice & quiet.
Very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianepattinson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hola Midlifer, Great review, Thank You ! You nailed three of the most important items for most clients. Happy Travels, Warmest Regards: Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,490 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing