We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santo Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santo Tomas
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Try to avoid staying in the first floor rooms overlooking the road. The sound from vehicles passing is very bothersome. When heavy vehicles like buses pass, the place actually vibrates. The rooms upstairs are partitioned by wooden walls that are not very dense, so noises in the corridor and adjoining room can be disturbing.

The room was small, just a ceiling fan, no air-condition, but that was indicated in their advertisement.

Generally, staff was very helpful and courteous. Meals were tasty and not expensive, however the free breakfast was a disappointment in terms of content and amount. Various artifacts, including original paintings and fresh flowers adorn walls, corridors and sitting areas. That was great.

Although the neighbourhood tended towards the seedy side, I did not feel unsafe while in the hotel. The hotel definitely has some good things going for it, but the fact that it was once a private residence remained evident.

Do not expect any toiletries except a small bar of soap, tissue paper and a bottle with some type of rose-scented water.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    322
    86
    20
    11
See reviews for
153
384
166
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Hotel Santo Tomas claims to be a Boutique Hotel. My sister and I just spent 2 weeks there because I was having dental work done and had to be in San Jose. I didn't want to spend a ton of money and so chose Santo Tomas. The room was large and clean, the towels were threadbare. The bed linens were terrible the bedspread ripped and falling apart. Laundry service, which we used, was quick but don't expect bleach or proper folding at $6 a kilo. Some front desk personnel are very helpful while others seem to not know much in regard to tours available. I didn't notice or it may not have been on the website that the restaurant is only open for dinner Tues - Sun. The free breakfast is less than one would expect. There is no elevator so if stairs are a problem, don't stay there. The food at the restaurant is fine, but don't expect exactly what the menu states, as they subsitute at will. We ate there often and sampled many items. The waiter at the restaurant is good. There are no mini fridges in the rooms so if you have medication that must be refrigerated, as my sister did, you have to put it in the lobby frig with the soda and beer. The beds were not very good either. Water pressure was great and had hot water most of the time. We did walk alot in the area and felt fairly safe, but was told on many occassions by many people to not carry a camera as it would get snatched. Did not go out at night since we were warned about that also. The pool was very small and not so very clean and the hot tub water was not clean, we didn't use either of them.
The owner is American, so exactly why his standards aren't a bit higher surprises me. With not very much cost, it could be a great little hotel. Decent towels, better beds and pillows thicker than 1/4" would be a good start. Bed linens that are inviting instead of ripped old nasty stuff, another good investment. Better landscaping in the courtyard, newer gym equipement and better lighting would help. If they continue to include and promote a free breakfast than they should offer a nicer one or don't bother. I actually heard someone complaining about the weak coffee and heard the front desk person tell her that that's how they like it in Costa Rica. Bull.....had great coffee everywhere else. No decaf with breakfast either. We stayed because it was less than $100 a night, and their website promotes it to be more than it really is. All in all, it wasn't so terrible. Next trip will not be staying there.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Good restaurant, good rooms, the pool area looked really nice but I didn't get a chance to use it. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We arrived at night in the dark, but could feel the history of the building, the old coffee market where buyers and sellers of coffee came together. Our room was wonderfully done, with small extras, a water service on the dresser, and a nice old lamp at the bedside. The outside grounds were charming, the pool beautiful. We had a wonderful soup at the restaurant that evening and visited with the staff. In the morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast included in our price, and visited with other travelers.
Although we only stayed one night, the staff was helpful as can be. They helped us contact a car rental agency who brought our car to the hotel and spent two hours in the lobby helping us with good places to drive to.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the true taste of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maidiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had planned the lodging only for the first part of our three week backpacking trip, meeting in San Jose (one from Nica, one from the US). The second half was a literal gamble. When leaving Dominical, we went online for discounted rooms in San Jose and up popped the HST for $55 (breakfast included) in the historical district - we were very intrigued after looking at the promising website. We called and asked their availability and the rep said they only had one room available...for $40....but there was a 'catch'. With great humility, the rep informed us that our room was not for 'fat people'. While one might be offended, we thought this was pretty funny and insisted on hearing the story. Basically, the room was added in between the old and new parts of the hotel and the door was too small for anybody that was larger in size. Because of this, it was given at a considerable discount. Because we were up for an adventure, we held the room and hoped for the best and possibly a great story.

After a 6 hour bus ride, we made it to HST, and with eager anticipation got to see our room. We were delighted! As the pictures show, it is really a small hallway to get to our room but we LOVED it! The room itself was very clean and very comfortable and included a safe and the opportunity for room service.....although we later determined it was unlikely that a serving tray would get through the frame so we went to dinner. lol Speaking of dinner.....their cesar salad could use a little help. It included generic ham and white cheese, of the sliced sandwich kind, and a salad dressing that tasted mass produced in a warehouse. That said - the bolegnese we had was the best my boyfriend had ever had and their house wine was cheap and delicious.

The location is fantastic! The bus stations are a quick taxi ride away, lots of beautiful buildings and museums are within a very short walking distance.

The staff was very helpful and even let me check into my flight online without charging me for using the internet. They have a very 'anything you want' service mentality and it is much appreciated. That said, the envelopes left in our room for tipping the concierge/housecleaning staff were....awkward.

Will only to to Hotel Santo Tomas going forward!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8WillyNilly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We love this hotel and ended up staying here on 2 different occasions. Its a great value for those wanting to be in downtown. The staff/customer service is excellent. Brian was especially helpful and friendly. We reserved the deluxe superior suite with a balcony that was very clean, roomy and quite adorable.

The restaurant serves an incredible and diverse dinner menu. The server Carlos is very friendly and accommodating and the food is beautifully presented, reasonably priced and tastes amazing. Best meal I've had in San Jose. Note: I thought the breakfast was average so was hesitant about eating dinner at the restaurant, but we discovered breakfast is served by the housekeeping staff and not the chefs/staff who serve dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Perra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

The remodeling projects at the Hotel Santo Tomas appear to be completed and that makes a world of difference. The Hotel is now our preferred accommodations for our annual vacations.
My wife and I thoroughly ENJOYED dining on the "upstairs" addition to your gym. It was like dining int he stars. We dinned there twice that week, thanks to your server (Carlos), menu, prices/value and your first class chef(s)! Our tab was only $77 (USD) for a three course meal, a bottle of wine and two irish coffees on the way out.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfCje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.7 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Property: Hotel Santo Tomas
Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 20 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing