We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again!”
Review of Vesuvio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vesuvio Hotel
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 24 August 2010

stayed there for 3 nights and couldn't sleep because of the noise. the walls are partitions, not proper walls. there is no natural light in the room. the only tiny window gives onto a wall! if you want to shower, make sure you do it when no one else is having a shower in the hotel. I had to wait for the water to run again to rinse myself. the included breakfast was adequate. the area is run down. 2 of my mates had leaks in their rooms and i had hairs from previous customer left in my bathroom. it is a shame as the hotel is located about 20 minutes walk from san jose centre, which is convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear chrisbracknell:

Thank you for the feedback on our hotel and thank you for choosing Hotel Vesuvio for your lodge accommodation in San Jose, Costa Rica. We really appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so that we can fix these items to maximize our guest’s happiness. The guest satisfaction is our highest priority in Hotel Vesuvio. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had in your stay in Hotel Vesuvio. I am glad to inform you that this month we have changed our breakfast for an American breakfast, which I am sure you will like it.

We agreed with you about Hotel Vesuvio being the perfect location 10 minutes walk from downtown San Jose, near to banks, shops, restaurants, night life and museums I Hope you stay with us next time you come to Cost Rica and give us the opportunity to please you.

Laura Jimenez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2010

Dark, dingy, airless rooms. and a breakfast that barely deserved the name. This is the sort of Hotel that gives the star rating system a bad name. 3 stars??
We stayed here for 3 nights in total on two separate occasions, and really wished we hadn't.
The list of faults the we and our fellow travellers experienced would take too long to list here, but the highlights include, condoms under the bed, dodgy light fittings and un openable doors. stay here only if its really cheap or you are desperate, or both.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimS1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The breakfast was neither fresh nor any good. And the walls were paper thin.
What was most bad with this hotel, was when we woke up in the middle of the night with blood-sucking insects in our bed and bites all over our body. When we showed the bloody sheet to the staff and told them we wanted a new room, we only got a new sheet for the bed. Terrible way to treat a guest. When we were going to the airport we specified that we wanted a public taxi, but they still ordered a private one from their hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
1  Thank IKK_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear IKK_Oslo:

Thank you for the feedback on our hotel and thank you for choosing Hotel Vesuvio for your lodge accommodation. We really appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so that we can fix these items to maximize our guests happiness. We agree with you about Hotel Vesuvio being the perfect location. It has so much to offer for family vacation. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had in your stay in Hotel Vesuvio. We already changed the continental breakfast for an american breakfast, which I am sure you would like. I Hope you stay with us next time you come to Cost Rica and give us the opportunity to please you.

Laura Jimenez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

On their webpage you will see a beautiful building, a happy couple hugging, a smiling lady using her laptop in her room, picture of a gourmet meal, an 800 number, etc. If you book online, your confirmation will not include a per night charge. I called the 800 number (which was just a US customer service agency serving multiple hotels) and was told my price would be $xx/night. Upon check in, Julio told me it was $xxx/night. I produced a copy of the confirmation email, again without any rate on it, and was firm about what the rep told me on the phone. We settled for $xxx. I brought up a discount program I and this hotel are a part of; he acted as if he had never heard of it. Since I’m not a VIP yet, I did not push any further, I just wanted to get a pulse.

Next, I was given a key to a room that was currently occupied. How did I know? Opened up the closet and there were clothes hanging in there. The bed sheets were strewn about . Pointed these shocking findings to Julio and he gave me another key, and in his exact words, “Try this one.” Well, “this one” turned out to be Room 203 and was indeed un-occupied so I settled down. Close inspection showed a double and a twin bed, hard mattresses, 10” inch old-school TV (remote optional), outdated wall plaster/paint, stains on the carpet, a night light that does not work, a bug on one of the sheets which I immediately killed, about 4 sugar ants in the bathroom, and a ceiling fan. Ceiling fan can only mean one thing – AC might not be present. I was trying to be optimistic but since I did not see a thermostat…. anyways, be careful if you booked in the summer. I went back to the desk to ‘check-out’ a remote control and room safe key. Much to my chagrin, the safe key runs $x a night. It was at this point I blatantly referenced that his hotel is getting a review on TripAdvsior and be sure to check out another review forthcoming .

Third, Wi-Fi (remember the smiling lady with the laptop?) was available but was NOT free. $xx/day or $xxxx/month. If you want to free Internet access, you can use the PC near the front desk or hook laptop to a LAN cable next to that PC. The table is only big enough for one user at a time though.

Fourth, the noise level is outrageous in this place. The walls are paper-thin. I can hear conversations in the next room. I hear the guy upstairs walking. The floor creaks in the hallway. I can hear toilettes being flushed. I can hear workers unloading goods for the restaurant. And perhaps the worst noise of them all – the birds! And I’m not talking about the average blue jay or even an owl. These were Discovery-Channel-Rainforest-Endangered-Species types that like to croak all day and all night. I saw several ‘American’ couples there. One couple even brought their youngsters.

Fifth, the ‘free’ breakfast is a Continental breakfast without the pastries. So your options are fruits and OJ.

Finally, the hotel service was sketchy at best. Julio appears to be the General Manager of the place. His name was on my confirmation email. The check in incident alone dropped him down my list of people I think highly of. The night shift manager was a little better; he offered a wake up call on the day I left. However, I wouldn’t give him high marks either since he contributed to some of the late night conversations with co-workers that kept me up at night (very inconsiderate). The only helpful staff member was a young lady that worked in the morning. She offered me a map and pointed out to many of the attractions around town. She even helped me located a church for Sunday mass, if I were inclined (btw, I did attend mass. Also, the maids did a wonderful job cleaning up my room. I didn't try the resturant so I have no comment here.

In conclusion – stay here only if you have no other option, or if think sleeping is overrated, or if you’re strapped for cash. I did not have a decent night's sleep on either night I was there. I felt sluggish when the resident 'roosters' step up their croaking and I had to wake up . Then again, once I got my breakfast and coffee, all that was behind me and I was off to take in (and give back just as hard) all that San Jose had to offered.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axxxtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Oz:

Thank you for the feedback on our hotel and thank you for choosing Hotel Vesuvio for your lodging accommodation in San Jose. We really appreciate it when our guests let us know what they love about our hotel or what we can improve on, in order to maximize our guest’s happiness. We agreed with you about Hotel Vesuvio being the perfect location 5 minutes walk from downtown San Jose, near to banks, shops, restaurants, night life and museums. Also I am very glad to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly with you. We are constantly evaluating our staff to provide the best possible service. Thanks for taking your time to let us know how you feel. We understand that you were not satisfied, and for that we really apologize. I am glad to inform you that since july 2009, we have free internet for all our guests and we are now offering a much bettetr breakfast (american breakfast). Also would like to inform you that our safety security box is now free. We appreciate customers who let us know when things are not right so that we can improve. Thanks for your comments.

Laura Jiménez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

On the eve of my maiden voyage to San Jose, I booked the Hotel Vesuvio for a short 2 nights stay. Granted this was not my first choice. La Amistad, Freebird, Castillo were all contacted but none had both nights that I needed.

The good points about Vesuvio:

1. Nice exterior.
2. Eco-tourist friendly and family-oriented
3. Cheap prices ($45/night)

Alas, all good things come to an end. The Bad follows.

On their webpage you will see a beautiful building, a happy couple hugging, a smiling lady using her laptop in her room, picture of a gourmet meal, an 800 number, etc. If you book online, your confirmation will not include a per night charge. I called the 800 number (which was just a US customer service agency serving multiple hotels) and was told my price would be $43/night. Upon check in, Julio told me it was $50/night. I produced a copy of the confirmation email, again without any rate on it, and was firmed about what the rep told me on the phone. We settled for $45.

Next, I was given a key to a room that was currently occupied. How did I know? The bed had sheets were strewn. Pointed this to Julio and he gave another key, and in his exact words, “Try this one.” Well, “this one” turned out to be Room 203 and was indeed un-occupied so I settled down. Closed inspection showed a double and a twin bed, hard mattresses, 10” inch old-school TV (remote optional), outdated wall plaster/paint, stains on the carpet, a night light that does not work, a bug on one of the sheet which I immediate killed, about 4 sugar ants in the bathroom, and a ceiling fan. Ceiling fan can only mean one thing – AC might not be present. I was trying to be optimistic but since I did not see a thermostat…. anyways, be careful if you booked in the summer. I went back to the desk to ‘check-out’ a remote control and room safe key. Much to my chagrin, the safe key runs $4 a night.

Third, Wi-Fi (remember the smiling lady with the laptop?) was available but was NOT free. $7.99/day or $49.99/month. If you want to free Internet access, you can use the PC near the front desk or hook laptop to a LAN cable next to that PC. The table is only big enough for one user at a time though.

Fourth, the noise level is outrageous in this place. The previous posters pointed it out – the walls are paper-thin. I can hear conversations in the next room. I hear the guy upstairs walking. The floor creaks in the hallway. I can hear toilettes being flushed. Bed creaking. I can hear workers unloading goods for the restaurant. And perhaps the worst noise of them all – the wild birds! I know I’m in a tropical rainforest, but the walls of this hotel did not shield the birds’ croaking all day and all night

Fifth, the ‘free’ breakfast is a Continental breakfast without the pastries. So your options are fruits and OJ. Or you can go down to the street like I did and enjoy a wonderful breakfast for cheap.

Finally, the hotel service was sketchy at best. Julio appears to be the General Manager of the place. His name was on my confirmation email. The checkin incident alone dropped him down my list of people I think highly of. The night shift manager was a little better; he offered a wake up call on the day I left. However, I wouldn’t give him high marks either since he contributed to some of the late night conversations with coworkers that kept up at night (very inconsiderate). The only helpful staff member was a young lady that worked in the morning. She offered me a map and pointed out to many of the attractions around town. She even helped me located a church for Sunday mass. Also, the maids did a wonderful job cleaning up my room. I didn't try the resturant so I have no comment here.


In conclusion – stay here only if you have no other option, or if think sleeping is overrated, or if you’re strapped for cash. $49/night including safe key is a very good deal for this location. Even with the customary 16% tax, it is still a good value. To be honest, I spent all the daylight time out exploring. I only come to the room to sleep. It is the time around 1am to 8am when I’m actually trying to recoup from the day’s action that will make or break my experience with any hotel. This hotel failed miserably on this category. I did not have decent night sleep on either nights I was there. I felt sluggish when the resident 'roosters' step up their croaking and I had to wake up . Then again, once I got my breakfast and coffee, all that was behind me and I was off to take in all that San Jose had to offered.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wchb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

DearWchb


Thank you for the feedback on our hotel and thank you for choosing Hotel Vesuvio for your lodging accommodation in San Jose. We really appreciate it when our guests let us know what they love about our hotel or what we can improve on, in order to maximize our guest’s happiness. We agreed with you about Hotel Vesuvio being the perfect location 5 minutes walk from downtown San Jose, near to banks, shops, restaurants, night life and museums. Also I am very glad to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly with you. We are constantly evaluating our staff to provide the best possible service. Thanks for taking your time to let us know how you feel. We understand that you were not satisfied, and for that we really apologize. I am glad to inform you that since july 2009, we have free internet for all our guests and we are now offering a much bettetr breakfast (american breakfast). Also would like to inform you that our safety security box is now free. We appreciate customers who let us know when things are not right so that we can improve. Thanks for your comments.

Laura Jiménez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We were supposed to stay at a different hotel in San Jose, but at the last got switched into the Hotel Vesuvio. From the outside, the hotel looks very clean and pleasant.

Our room was somewhat cramped, however it did have a walk in closet and normal sized bathroom. The rooms were close together, such that you could hear your neighbors. There was no A/C which made it difficult to sleep in late March (it's probably worse during other parts of the year). Our room had a television with very limited reception, but certain other rooms had much better reception.

The hotel is very protected, there is a fence with barbed wire around the perimeter and the entrance to the hotel is an electronically locked gate.

The breakfast in the hotel was mediocre, a few slices of fruit and toast lying around. I was more annoyed about the fact that slabs of butter had been cut and placed in a bucket of water (I presumed this was tap water, which put me off from eating the butter).

The staff were trying to make our stay a pleasant one, but seeing as we were here for only one night I can't make much comment on the service.

Overall, this is a good hotel for an overnight stay- but nothing more than that.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear TimS1706

Thank you for the feedback on our hotel and thank you for choosing Hotel Vesuvio for your lodge accommodation in San Jose, Costa Rica. The guest satisfaction is our highest priority in Hotel Vesuvio. We are glad to inform you that this year we have changed our breakfast for an American breakfast, which I am sure you will like it. This year too, we changed the cable TV company and now all our rooms have a great signal.

We agreed with you about Hotel Vesuvio being the perfect location, 5 minutes walk from downtown San Jose, near to banks, shops, restaurants, night life and museums. Hope you stay with us if you ever come to Costa Rica again.

Best regards


Laura Jimenez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vesuviocr, Director General at Vesuvio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#26 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 78 in San Jose
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes
Hotel Arrecifes
#62 of 78 in San Jose
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apartotel  La Perla
Apartotel La Perla
#43 of 78 in San Jose
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
162 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#31 of 78 in San Jose
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vesuvio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesuvio Hotel

Address: Avenida 11, Calle 13-15 | Barrio Otoya, San Jose 10106, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £37 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vesuvio Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vesuvio Hotel is located in the historical downtown, walking distance from the most important attractions of San Jose city, such as The National Theater, The Cultural Plaza, The National Library, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Banks, Nightlife and beautiful exotic parks. The hotel is located in Barrio Otoya, one of the oldest districts in the area and is away from the noise and traffic of downtown, yet close enough to be able to walk the central business district within a few minutes. The management makes it a priority to give their guests the fullest attention to every detail. Personalized service is the key to this owner management hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vesuvio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesuvio Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing