We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Spent two nights here as part of a tour group. Only negative is location. It's not in downtown San Jose and is located in a residential community near highways. You'll need a taxi to get anywhere from this hotel. Other than that, it has a very nice swimming pool and nice grounds. Rooms are fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEESKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you, every comment is important for us so we can improve our services.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    499
    249
    78
    71
See reviews for
229
432
108
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late Nov/earlyDec The first night was post-Caravan tour. The hotel airport shuttle met us upon arrival. We had a lovely spotless room on the 6th floor with a mountain view! It was nice to have a separate dining/snacks/drinks area on that level. They also had a business center area to use on that floor. The hotel let us stay in that room for the other 2 nights even though the Caravan rooms were on a lower floor. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom amenities were upscale. The hotel grounds (inside and out) were beautifully decorated due to the Christmas holiday and very well kept. The hotel is fenced in from the surrounding area and we never felt unsafe, even at night when we walked through the gardens area. We did not use the pool as the weather was cooler but it was a very nice area also. We ate breakfast at the buffet but also ordered from the menu for lunch. Both were excellent. The entire staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations and that our staff made your stay comfortable.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Positives:
1. Beautiful building with luxurious landscaping
2. Very nice and helpful staff
3. The restaurant had delicious food on the buffet
4. Between the airport and city, so proximity is good
5. The rooms were very comfortable, and the air conditioning worked well.

There are a couple negatives, however, to be aware of about this hotel:
1. You can not walk there from anywhere, since it is surrounded by expressways. I tried walking from the city back to the hotel, and had to give up and hail a taxi cab. That is not necessarily the hotel's fault, but be warned it will be a $15 taxi ride to go anywhere from the hotel.
2. The fitness room has limited hours. It closes at 4 PM on Sundays, and the next day I was there it was a holiday, and it closed again at 4 PM. Both the Holiday Inn and the Doubletree in San Jose leave their fitness rooms open much later.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations except with the new schedule of our Fitness Center.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, VA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The facilities and staff at the Barcelo Palacio were a great introduction to Costa Rican hospitality and a great way to close out our stay. The views from the room of the mountains are impressive, the grounds are lovely and the breakfast is good local food. The shuttle to and from the airport is complimentary and excellent. The hotel is only a few miles from downtown San Jose, but the only way to safety get to and from there is via taxi.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views, and one overlooking the hotel ground and the mountains are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations and that all the staff was very helpfull all the time.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Beautiful garden and pool that are immaculately kept. The grounds are secure with lovely views of surrounding mountains, but this is not a place to go walking out from. Delicious and healthy breakfast and dinner buffets with excellent service. Nice poolside cafe for tasty lunch. Room had upscale amenities and furnishings. The wonderful and plentiful staff cared very much to assist us with arrangements for an unexpected health problem. We very much appreciate the genuine caring manner of this hotel!

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor for good views. Rooms to south have highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We do appreciate very much that you chose us to be your host in Costa Rica, and thank you so much for sharing with us a moment that mean so much for you.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed here two nights, arranged on a Caravan tour. This is an excellent hotel in many ways. Located on a hill about a two miles from the central city (San Jose). Nothing around it except for great views. Don't try to walk anywhere except around the nice grounds. Amenities abound (toiletries, etc.). However, WiFi is not free (except that I discovered that there might be free WiFi near the pool, which I did not visit). Great beds and pillows, and nice grounds. Spacious rooms. Excellent food, especially the breakfast.
Be prepared to spend $8-10 for a taxi (each way) to the center of the city. I cannot give it 5 stars because the hotel should provide a shuttle.

Room Tip: Room with a view toward the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surfonmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations in regard to the services that our staff provides, at the same time we apologize for any inconvenience at your stay.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2012

It is very easy, to write, that every thing was okay in a hotel. But what especially happened here?
We came from Germany, my wife carried four very important injections to Costa Rica. they need very special conditions, not to loose their effect. The Reception called the guest manager Daniel Cabada, I explained our problem, he did not hesitate five seconds, to use the frigidaire and the freezer of the hotel-kitchen, to keep our injections as they needed it, up to our checkout. We thank him very much, to be in this way personally engaged to his guests!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Va00rna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank very much for taking the time to write a comment with regard to your visit to the Hotel Barceló San Jose Palacio and we are very proud to know that your stay was exceeding your expectations.

For all of us, as part of the Barceló Hotels and Resorts, we strongly believe that each guest has a unique experience and it’s glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

Your continued patronage is the utmost importance, and hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,



Daniel Cabada
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing