We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December 2013”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“December 2013”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Easy pick-up from the airport. Hotel is nice,but felt that a lot of the staff need to smile. Easy tour booking from the hotel and enjoyed both La Poas waterfall and Arenal tours. A taxi is needed for any other trips. $10.00 to Walmart, $14.00 to the big mall for two.The best thing about the restaurant was the breakfast was included with the stay but I did not eat evening meals there as I thought it was overpriced ($30.00pp) for what little food I would have liked or eaten.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the staff of Barcelo San Jose Palacio. Thank you very much for your comments; we are glad that you visited nice places in Costa Rica, which is such a wonderful country to enjoy the nature and relax.

Thank you so much for your advice about smiling at the front desk, you are right, the clients are our push so we are very happy to meet them. As well we already talk with the manager of this area, to reaffirm the compromise to attend our guests always as better as we can.

We are almost in downtown, it only takes 15 minutes to get there so there is a highway by the hotel for that reason is easier take a cab.

Thank you again for your comment and for choose Barceló San José Palacio.

Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    484
    243
    74
    68
See reviews for
214
417
104
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have mixed feelings with this hotel. The room was fine, staff was nice, the swimming pool, although the weather wasn’t warm enough for bathing, seemed really nice and welcoming. However, other small things left me with a bad feeling.
I stayed there for business for almost a week, and from Monday to Wednesday, the hotel was almost empty and very calm. On Thursday, a huge group arrived for a conference, and it was just impossible to have breakfast, due to the number of people in line for the different food stations.
Besides, what I found as being the worst problem is that the location is really bad, and it’s difficult to go walking anywhere. The entrance of the hotel is in a road, and there’s no sidewalk for pedestrians (or at least, there’s no space for people to walk in and out).
I’m not sure I’d stay there again…

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sofiacrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 22 May 2017
Dear Mrs. Sofía

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló San José hotel for your holidays in Costa Rica, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The "5 Star" Hotel is the first hotel on this level which disappointed me so much. I've stayed in a lot of 5 Stars hotels worldwide, but never met so unfriendly and unwilling staff. Maybe smiling is forbidden here. High additional costs for internet. Nice garden and pool, nevertheless I can't recommend this hotel, because for 5 Stars the quality is too poor.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfgang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Convenient, with a shuttle to and from the airport every hour, a fairly complete gift shop and good restaurants, the hotel was a short drive away from the city attractions. The hotel seemed to be better suited for families as they tend to host and be better informed about family activities, I.e. Christmas, New Year's Eve, etc...

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nadersalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest it’s very important for our hotel that you took the time to let us know your opinion about your stay with us, here In Barcelo San Jose Palacio we open our doors and receive every type of guest with warm and welcoming attention.

From families to business people we have a variety of services that can satisfy all of our guest’s requests and a premium concierge service that can set up tours, restaurants, sightseeing, shopping recommendations and a wide range of other services available for all types of guests here in Barcelo San Jose Palacio.

We hope that we can have you stay with us soon again once again thank you for taking the time to give us your review.

Best regards.

Luana Sanchez
Servicio al Huésped / Guest Services
Hotel Barceló San José Palacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The reception is really bad and unfriendly. We couldnt check in until ar night because we didnt arrive all together (we had passports and possibilities to pay but had to wait for the other person)Not worthy the price

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stéphanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Guest.

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of Barcelo San José Palacio; we appreciate your comment in our tripAdvisor´s web page. Is truly important for us know which our skills and fails are, that’s the best way to concern about them and start immediately with the necessary changes.

We want to apologize for every inconvenience that you had in your last stay.
Thank you again for your opinion. Is also remarkable for the company to receive complaints and use them like tips to get better. So we hope that you come back as a visitor at the hotel, and make you feel like in home.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The only good thing about this place is the free breakfast buffet
Upon arrival I asked for a king suite received a double instead. I was told my room was ready but when I got to my room there were no towels. I had to call the front desk as well as guest services multiple times just to,get towels before midnight. When calling to ask about cabs there was no one at the front desk and when I went down stairs to the desk there was no one there as well. The pool was very dirty and there was no one cleaning it or looking like they were going to clean it.
As you are in the middle of no where I would recommend an excursion just to get away from is boring hotel. The restaurants are below sub par and cost a little too much for crappy food . The hotel as a whole could use a complete remodel.
I would highly recommend staying somewhere else if you would like to enjoy your trip to Costa Rica

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel desk was fantastic. The concierge Mr. Webster was helpful and friendly. Andrey at the front desk was also extremely helpful and a fantastic Spanish teacher. The breakfast buffet was great. Get there early before the crowd. The Junior Suite should be called Executive Suite because I have paid 5 times as much for less in other cities. If you are staying for a few days, then it is well worth it for the upgrade and you will rarely experience greater value for your money. All of the personnel are wonderful. The restaurant by the pool is fantastic although a little understaffed at peak times, but perhaps that is difficult to predict. In spite of having too many guests, the food was still fantastic, the chefs friendly, and the waitresses patient and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up if you go to bed early because this hotel is popular for weddings, meetings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest; it’s wonderful for all of our staff here at Barceló San José Palacio to know that your stay with us was so pleasant. We have greeted and congratulated Mr. Webster and Andrey on your behalf!

We are very pleased to know that our suite was to your convenience, and that you enjoyed dinning in our restaurants. We will make sure to pass along your amazing reviews to our different departments.

Thank you so much for your suggestion about the staff in the pool area this will be address with our manager’s team.

We hope we can have you again in our hotel so we can keep exceeding your expectations!
Best regards,


Luana Sanchez
Servicio al Huésped / Guest Services
Hotel Barceló San José Palacio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing