We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Comfortable”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Arenzville, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Comfortable”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was my second time staying at Barcelo San Jose Palacio and I was just as pleased this time as I was the first time. The rooms are great with comfortable beds and a nice, clean bathroom. I thought our service was good. The staff was helpful if we needed anything. The pool area was beautiful and an overall great place to relax. I enjoyed laying in a hammock by the pool which was very peaceful. The food was excellent. I highly recommend this elegant hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    461
    231
    70
    65
See reviews for
191
392
97
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property, lots of amenities, young and helpful staff. The weather today is a little blah, but I imagine on a nice day the Rancho snack bar where I'm sitting now by the pool would be mobbed. Pool itself is big and imaginative and surrounded by lush palms. I would come back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank firenze1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Landing at San Jose airport at 8:45 pm after non-stop travel for 23 hours, we knew we needed a comfortable hotel that could be reached without hassle so that we could recuperate and get over the jet lag before continuing our holiday. Barcelo Palacio did not disappoint in this respect.
We use the shuttle bus operated by the hotel to transfer from the airport and were checked into our room by 10:00 pm. We had requested a non-smoking room, but were initially allocated a room on a smoking floor (5th floor). No problem, we were quickley moved/upgraded to the executive floor for a no smoking room. Although the was some traffic noise because we were facing the highway, it was not too intrusive and did not interupt our sleep in the very comfortable bed.
Breakfast choice was extensive from a seve yourself buffet, with an omelette station as well for fresh cooked eggs. Pool area was very relaxing with hammocks and sun loungers available. The was a good outside bar and rstaurant next to the pool area which eased the recuperation after our journey. Evening meal choices were the main indoor restaurant or an in house Japanese restaurant. We opted for the main restaurant wher you could either have a buffet or a la carte menu. The buffet looked good, but we wanted only a light meal so picked from the menu. Choice was adequate, but the chicken dish in coconut sauce turned out to be a bit scrawny and in a tamarind sweet sauce, fish dish however was excellent. The waitress was very helpful and offered a free alternative to replace the chicken and also free desert and coffee from the buffet in recompense.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel for the purpose that we use it for (2 nights), but would not recommend it for a longer stay as it is a bit isolated from any other local facilities and without a car it is difficult to get out as there are no pedestrian walkways.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter, but noise was not really a problem on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 4 April 2017
Dear traveler

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had a wonderful experience in Guatemala City, thus leading me to this hotel in San Jose. Not the same at all. My family was there over Christmas and because of the isolated location, we had no options for a nice meal or even a grocery store. When we asked where is a good place to order out from, the only suggestion was Denny's. Are you kidding me? I am in Costa Rica. The room was icky, did not feel clean. The pool was freezing, not heated and therefore unusable. The fitness center was closed, one of the main reasons for getting this place. The breakfast was good. Overpriced for what it was, not a good value at all. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julianswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear guest:

Receive greetings; also apologize on behalf of Barcelo San Jose Palacio. If the experience wasn't what you expected, at less we have the opportunity to read your review and learn about your specific case, arrange a feedback with the team´s managers, and reorganize the points where we aren’t strong yet.

We´re also thankful with you to show us the fails we had, because every mistake is a new chance to do our best effort day by day to get our clients’ satisfaction. Actually there are a lot of good options near to the hotel to take a good dinner. Include our restaurants.

About the fitness center, it have a wide schedule, usually is open during the week from 6:00am. to 10:00 p.m. that just different on weekends., but it still open.
We want to apologize again and expect be your host again if you come back to Costa Rica, and provide you a beautiful stay with us.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My Worst experience ever in any hotel. The front desk manager will black mail you especially at night. They ask you to pay for a lot of basic things. They will charge you $45 for every friend who wants to visit you even for few minutes. Very rude, they let me get sick and didn't turn the AC. they cut my phone at night because he wants money. I would not recommended it even for animal shelter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear guest:

Receive greetings; also apologize on behalf of Barcelo San Jose Palacio. If the experience wasn't what you expected, at less we have the opportunity to read your review and learn about your specific case, arrange a feedback with the team´s managers, and reorganize the points where we are not strong yet.

We charge for people who will sleep at the hotel, no for friends who come to visit the guests. So maybe it was a misunderstanding. About the phone and the services that we offer, they have an extra cost, for that reason the front desk will always ask you at check in if you want open a voucher to charge those services.

We are sorry if your stay wasn't pleasant, if you have another suggestion for the Hotel we will glad to receive it. We looking forward to get the opportunity to serve you again and restart the experience.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Easy pick-up from the airport. Hotel is nice,but felt that a lot of the staff need to smile. Easy tour booking from the hotel and enjoyed both La Poas waterfall and Arenal tours. A taxi is needed for any other trips. $10.00 to Walmart, $14.00 to the big mall for two.The best thing about the restaurant was the breakfast was included with the stay but I did not eat evening meals there as I thought it was overpriced ($30.00pp) for what little food I would have liked or eaten.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the staff of Barcelo San Jose Palacio. Thank you very much for your comments; we are glad that you visited nice places in Costa Rica, which is such a wonderful country to enjoy the nature and relax.

Thank you so much for your advice about smiling at the front desk, you are right, the clients are our push so we are very happy to meet them. As well we already talk with the manager of this area, to reaffirm the compromise to attend our guests always as better as we can.

We are almost in downtown, it only takes 15 minutes to get there so there is a highway by the hotel for that reason is easier take a cab.

Thank you again for your comment and for choose Barceló San José Palacio.

Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have mixed feelings with this hotel. The room was fine, staff was nice, the swimming pool, although the weather wasn’t warm enough for bathing, seemed really nice and welcoming. However, other small things left me with a bad feeling.
I stayed there for business for almost a week, and from Monday to Wednesday, the hotel was almost empty and very calm. On Thursday, a huge group arrived for a conference, and it was just impossible to have breakfast, due to the number of people in line for the different food stations.
Besides, what I found as being the worst problem is that the location is really bad, and it’s difficult to go walking anywhere. The entrance of the hotel is in a road, and there’s no sidewalk for pedestrians (or at least, there’s no space for people to walk in and out).
I’m not sure I’d stay there again…

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sofiacrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus San Jose
Best Western Plus San Jose
#23 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Property: Barcelo San Jose
Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing