We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough for a 5 star stay”
Review of Barcelo San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo San Jose
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

With really high expectations I booked a couple of nights on this hotel, I found goods/average things and really bad things, the list is as follows (I really hope this is useful as reference for other tourists):

- At our arrival, nobody to help with the luggage, even when there were a couple of persons from the hotel outside nobody seem to care
- At the front desk while the check in, no smiling, not even a welcome script, nothing! This supposed to be standard on a 5 star hotel
- Internet could be "free" if you talk to the front desk and ask for one of their vouchers for 1 and up to 3 day stay, but take in mind that the speed on this scenario is limited, I measured 0.5 MB download and upload of 0.2MB, so enough for Whatsapp and Facebook, not enough for business or VOIP or else, I ended up paying for what is supposed to be high speed for 20 USD for 2 days but how dissapointed I was when I connect and got only 1.5MB download, how bad this is!!!!, if I'm paying 10-12 USd pernight I would expect something better, but I guess it has to be something at country level because i had similar issues at Flamingo Beach and other places.
- Room is clean, with carpet, feels old fashion
- Pool looks nice, but when you touch the water and realize that is not heated, well is the same as having not pool at all, not nice when arriving with kids that was my case.
- 2nd day, people from the front desk in a different shift was more friendly so I have to assume that the thing about been nice is just not stardardize, what is a bad thing on a 5 start hotel.
- Nothing walk distance, you really need to take a cab or have a rental car to go anywere
- Ok hotel for the night before departing (airport), is conveniently located at 18 min driving distance from the hotel
- Free buffete is ok, lots of fresh fruit and some other options (like personalized omelete) , from my point of view, since the dining area is large it feels like a great and large buffete but if you count the options available then you realize that it's really not that great in options, I would say that is just average but in a large area that feels ok and looks nice.


Bottom line, close to the airport, not really kids friendly since pool is not heated, friendly staff depends very much from person to person or shifts.

If you have to stay here, just don't pay too much or you will regret, for my it was 85 USD that was ok, although I've received better quality service in other 4-5 stars hotel for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest.

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of Barcelo San José Palacio; we appreciate your comment in our tripAdvisor’s web page. Is truly important for us know which our skills and fails are, that’s the best way to concern about them and start immediately with the necessary changes.

Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate and continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction. The managers are on charge of that.

We want to apologize for every inconvenience that you had in your last stay. Excuse us again for that disappointing experience. Is also remarkable for the company to receive suggestions and use them like tips to get better.

So we hope that you come back as a visitor at the hotel, and make you feel like in home.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,393)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for just one night before starting my trip around Costa Rica and was a great selection, the hotel has a shuttle bus from the airport every hour so if you get there between 4am and 10 pm you get the chance to be pick up at the airport and drop of at the hotel and save $30 by not taking a cab, the hotel is very clean, conveniently located close to the airport and Escazu. Breakfast is delicious and healthy and starts at 5 am. Gardens and pool area are very relaxing after long day of flying.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Playero1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Guest:

Firstly, the entire team of Barceló San Jose Palacio want to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the Trip Advisor community.

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve. We also thankful with you to gave us the opportunity to serve you as a wonderful guest.

We will be glad to welcome you back again. We are at your disposal for anything you need.


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I was put up in this hotel following the cancellation of my return flight to Europe.
The place is completely outdated, dull and seem to cater only to tourists' buses from the neighbouring countries.
The rooms are filthy and those with a balcony (such as mine) gave out onto a 'ball room' for local family events. So, unless you are invited to join the party, stay away!

Room Tip: Do they have any decent rooms?
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Guest.

Receive a warm greeting on behalf of Barcelo San José Palacio; we appreciate your comments about us, each suggestion is an opportunity to work harder and learn about the situations to grow as a company.

Is truly important for us know which our skills and fails are, that’s the best way to concern about them and start immediately with the necessary changes. Excuse us again for that disappointing experience. We are already updating the hotel.

Thank you again for your opinion. Is also remarkable for the company to receive complains and use them like tips to get better. So we hope that you come back as a visitor at the hotel, and make you feel like in home.

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Lovely gardens and pool!
Buffet breakfast with lots of fresh tropical fruits, hot food, and fresh omelettes to order.
Rooms have been updated. This was our 3rd visit.
Great location if you want to be outside San Jose, only costs $5 by red taxi to downtown.
Only problem was the rude and loud Caravan tourists waking everyone between 5:30 & 6 am!
A top quality hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are fabulous.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting Barcelo San Jose Palacio as a lodging option. It is a big pleasure to read this wonderful opinion about our hotel. Thanks for sharing it on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your wonderful description about us.

We are also very proud to know that your last experience at Barcelo chain exceeded your expectations. As you know our principal goal is to give you our best service and make your stay exclusive and unforgettable.

Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to ensure our Guest Satisfaction.

We will be glad to welcome you back again and provide you an amazing experience with us!!!

Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is very clean, but the supplies varied from day to day. We didn't always get towels, wash clothes, soap, etc. A phone call to the front desk resolved that. We stayed on two separate nights. The second night we had everything we needed plus more. As mentioned, the food was not the best and we were a bit surprised that drinks were not included with the all inclusive. The wait staff was non-existent. Needed to go find someone to get a glass of water, then we were on our own. Of course there was a nice buffet, but if you wanted any drinks, it was a long wait. There are beautiful gardens, which are worth a walk around. The rooms were a nice size with comfortable beds. It was quiet. We had a nice view of the city. They allow smoking in the rooms, but I did not smell the residue of smoke, which I appreciated. All in all it was a very nice hotel to stay at in San Juan. We were with the DreamTrips travel group, so all of our transportation was provided, which was very nice. It was our first time in a foreign country, so this service took the mystery out of finding appropriate transportation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biker5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear traveler

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is really comfortable, nice pool (with cold water though), spacious rooms and nice staff. Breakfast is great and begins really early! They even have an everyhour free shuttle to the airport, which is just 15 minutes away. The hotel location is not great to walk around but it s perfect if you have a car or use their taxis. San Jose city is not a city where you really want to go sightseeing so I d say this hotel is perfect for a business trip or a holiday trip on your way to the most touristic places in CR, so being near the airport is what really adds. We used Barcelo to stay on our 1st and last nights on our tour of the country and got a premium room on the 6th floor, with this upgrade you don t need to pay for lunch or snacks as they serve cheese, olives, crackers, cold meat, kebabs, sweet stuff, coffee, water, beer, soft drinks and even sparkling wine, all included in the price. It s really worth the upgrade!

Room Tip: get the premium room, definitely
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ceci1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Guest:


On behalf of Barceló San Jose Palacio, receive our warm greeting. We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our wonderful hotel.

We know premium club is a wonderful lounge and will always be the place for those guests who love the exclusivity. It is a pleasure that you enjoyed our gastronomy, rooms and services as well.

A comment like yours is the best way to motivate our team in our effort to keep the level of service and satisfaction for each guest.

Thank you for having preferred us, we will be waiting for you next visit to Barcelo!!


Best regards,
Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I emailed my arrival information ahead. I got a reply giving me helpful instructions as to where to meet the shuttle. The hotel is a lovely oasis in an area that you don't want to explore. To go anywhere you do need to take a cab.

The room, a standard, was large and comfortable. I was impressed that they supplied slippers as well as robes. (Those slippers said with us for the remainder of the trip.) The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

We loved the pool and grounds. It is very tropical and pretty. They have a lot of shaded hammocks around the pool when you just wanted to relax. The exercise room was well equipped.

The breakfast buffet was very good. There was a lot of selection, the fresh fruit was wonderful, and you could get omelets made to order. There was even soy milk available for those that need it. I love my coffee strong and the coffee here is delicious.

The front desk service was good but we did feel neglected by the gift shop staff and some of the waiters.

We did not use the casino or dine anywhere else but the buffet.

I felt that I was staying at a very quality hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Dear Guest,

The entire staff of Barcelo San Jose Palacio want to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. Was amazing for us receive you at this hotel and provide you a wonderful stay, as you let us know by your review.

We are really proud to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve. Our priority is giving to our guests the best service ever, and you note it!!

We will be glad to welcome you back soon.


Best regards,

Adriana Duran
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo San Jose

Address: Residencial El Robledal | La Uruca, San Jose 458-1150, Costa Rica (Formerly Barcelo San Jose Palacio)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo San Jose Palacio Hotel San Jose
San Jose Barcelo
Barcelo Palacio Hotel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing