We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,875)
Filter reviews
1,875 results
Traveller rating
694
659
330
96
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
659
330
96
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan tour japanese restaurant costa rica room service guest services pool area breakfast buffet tour group free airport shuttle very nice hotel nice pool close to the airport pura vida pollo palacio hammocks taxi
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,875 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We had a great time over all, staff was very attentive, the food was amazing.Although we did have a small inconvenience . I had to stay behind and when my girlfriend checked in, she was given the wrong key. A gentleman was in the room already. It was no a very pleasant experience for her. They just have pay more attention with this kind of stuff.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago


Dear Guest
Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló San José, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.
Our most sincere apologies for what happened with the key to your room, we will take the measures of the case so that it does not happen again.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruíz,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Everyone was very nice and helpful, they went above and beyond to accommodate us. The shuttle service was on time both when we arrived and left Cost Rica. We also were able to check in a bit early which was nice. Breakfast was great! Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank zairaamparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló San José. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.
We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruíz,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We ate breakfast, lunch, & dinner at the hotel. Every meal was great, wide variety of all the foods, everything fresh and fixed perfectly. The staff was wonderfully accommodating, good wifi, comfortable beds, large rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveHom1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018


Dear Guest
First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.
We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours.
we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruíz,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We arrived one day early for a Caravan Tour. I pre-arranged transportation from the airport with the hotel which was flawless. Check in was quick and we were happily surprised with a room upgrade from a Master Suite to the Presidential Suite for the first night. Unfortunately, we could not upgrade the two Caravan regular regular rooms we had for a Master Suite. Nonetheless, the regular rooms were clean and comfortable.Concierge helped us with items of interest in San Jose and areas to avoid, along with navigating taxis. Although the hotel is a bit out of the way, a taxi to the National Theatre area was only about 10-15 mins and $8-$10 US, each way. There are also two ATMs at the hotel to get colones, if desired. The on-Site restaurants, including the sixth floor lounge area, are very good and we found the waitstaff very attentive. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Andy1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Guest

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards,
Carlos Ruíz,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I always choose Barcelo in every country I travel to. Accomodations are comfortable, food is great, amenities such as pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam are commonly available and airport shuttles to and from the airport are available.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jatania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel M, Gerente at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Dear Jatania

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San Jose and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Carlos Ruiz
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews