We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is great! Safe, clean, good location. The staff if very attentative and helpful. We stayed four nights and everything was affordable. (2 queen sleep number beds, executive suite, approx. $100usd a night). Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecbindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear ecbindy :

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel and all the services provided, we are grateful that your stay was first class.

On behalf of all staff of Radisson and my own, we would like to thank you for your choice and we hope to see you again when you travel to this area.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I don`t know who decorated the rooms but the style of my room was rather strange. Plus that heavy smell of brocade fabrics when I opened the door. There is a pretty bizarre combination of naked concrete walls, dark furniture and curtains/pillows/lamps in the infamous 70th green color scheme. Generally I like to stay at Radisson cause they give you that cool Nordic style in your rooms- at least in Europe and Asia. Don't know what happened here. Beside the rather unusual styling, parts of my room were really worn down, with one wall socket popping half way out, an older desk chair with dirt and smear on the armrest and faucets which have really come to the end of their life span.
Hotel staff in general is very friendly and helpful and that definitely is the asset of this hotel.
The Radisson is some 15 walking minutes away from downtown SJ. Breakfast buffet is good with eggs, juice, bread, cereals, fruits, yoghurt… I learned from another guest that from time to time a cook shows up to prepare warm meals in front of the hotel guests.
Pool area is nice as the garden with small waterfalls.
But all those things are only secondary if you don’t feel comfortable in your room. Actually the whole compound needs to be refurbished and transferred into the new century, piece by piece. It's literally a concrete-jungle. There are also windows in the transfer pass between pool and guest-wing that have been pushed out by limbs from the garden trees! Not nice.
I found nothing in this hotel that made me say "Huh, that's nice". After all I give this hotel still some 3 points for its decent breakfast, the great staff/ employees and the nice garden court.  

Room Tip: At the reception I learned that ALL rooms come with the same GREENISH styling! Huuuuuh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McNamara_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear McNamara_44:

Yours faithfully by all our staff and my own, is a great pity that we have not exceeded our expectations and did not like our hotel if we are pleased that our services were to your liking and thank you very much for your comments as we detailed improvement opportunities, we hope to have the pleasure to see you again here when visiting our country.

Sncerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a nice hotel for business and tourist travelers. The exterior gardens of the hotel are very nice. However, as a tourist, be careful of the surrounding area. Tourists could be a potential target. The rooms were very nice. The bed was very comfortable. I had very positive experiences with the restaurant and room service. The staff was very nice and helpful. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear morlev:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, with this we thank you for choosing us for your stay in San Jose, we are pleased to know that our services were your total satisfaction, all at the hotel are extremely grateful for your wonderful comments, and hope to have the opportunity to visit us again in the future to return to exceed your own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisso San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

During our two week eco-tour of Costa Rica, we stayed our first two nights at this hotel, which is beautifully designed, with gorgeous outdoor gardens, an outdoor swimming pool, and attractive, rooms, lobby, and restaurants. The service staff speaks reasonably good English and is quite hospitable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear LouBobHarborSprings :

Kindest regards, we are very pleased that we chose to stay on your trip ecotourism in our country, also we are very pleased that all our services were to your liking and first class, hope it's not the only check dae you in this beautiful country and to our hotel, we are all very anxious to see you again.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed here the first and last night of the tour I was on. The prices were high in the bar and restaurant and going into the city was not reasonable given our short time there. Tried to order a bottle of wine but no one seemed to know how much it cost...they managed to work it out but still overpriced. Shower was warm at best but good water pressure. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Our second morning we left to early to get breakfast but they were gracious in giving us a bag breakfast on departure with yogurts, Apple and granola bar...it helped a great deal. Staff always tried to be helpful. I would prefer staying near to the airport though...for convenience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Lora M:

Kindest regards by all our staff and my own, this is to thank you for your choosing our hotel for your stay in San Jose, also want to thank you for your wonderful comment but not before ask apologies for the small disadvantage they had in the restaurant Watercolors regarding prices, have dealt with the food and beverage department to take the necessary measures to prevent reoccurrence of such situations with our team and hopefully we can have the opportunity to have them in back with us for so to overcome their own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Overall, very nice hotel but a little bit of a walk from Central Ave. Lots of food options near by, and parking was abundant. We didn't get a chance to visit the gym or hit up the pools, but they were nice to have. We rented the place for 4 days, but primarily used it as book ends for our trip, since we slept there literally 1 night. Costa rica just has so much to see that we couldn't just spend it in San Jose :)

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room near the pool, there's an outdoor one and the one in the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear jvmoney :

Kindest regards by all our staff and my own, this is to thank you for your choosing our hotel for your stay in San Jose, for us it is a great pleasure to know that our services were first class and its total satisfaction, all here waited for an opportunity to have you with us again so to overcome their own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed for three nights at the Radisson. Facilities are well maintained, clean and they have good wifi. Breakfast was really good, and the staff were really good helping me out dealing with some flight reservation issues. Rooms were nice, but, during the night there is an annoying humming from some sort of fan I couldn't identify... probably from an old AC unit... Maybe it was something only in the room I stayed in on the 3rd floor, but i couldn't get good sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose

Dear Mr carlog:

With the present receive a warm greeting from our staff and my own, here are all extremely grateful for your wonderful comment and rate us excellent gift at this prestigious website, we are pleased that your stay at our hotel was first classes and all services provided by were to your liking, I also want to ask apologies for the inconvenience with the noise in the room, I have dealt with the maintenance department to take the necessary measures to ensure that such situations do not return happen to our team and look forward to the opportunity to have you back with us for so to overcome their own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.6 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
926 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#5 Green Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £57 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing