We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business base in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

While in San Jose to evaluate a business opportunity, I stayed at the Radisson-San Jose hotel. I found it a great location for seeing things in the city and for all my related business and communication needs. The hotel property is first class with a selection of restaurants and bars. The rooms are typical Radisson style with all the expected amenities. Great courtyard and pool area with the typical Costa Rican tropical folage. The hotel is just a $3 taxi ride from the major shopping areas of downtown; a bit farther from the Santa Ana malls.Being a few blocks out of the traffic made for a quieter stay.
The staff was excellent in helping me to arrange some last minute travel plans, including a day trip down to Quepos for a business meeting. In all a great place to stay in San Jose for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter if you are on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear CaptJason:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, with this we thank you for choosing us for your stay in San Jose, we are pleased to know that our services were your total satisfaction, all at the hotel are extremely grateful for your wonderful comments, and hope to have the opportunity to visit us again in the future to return to exceed your own expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

For a 5 start rate, this hotel is just ok. It is located in a very weird area surrounded by noisy streets. The hotel itself is nice,the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is good although I was kind of expecting a bit more continental stuff but this is just my liking.
I have worked in hotels myself and I was a bit shocked with the customer service experience at this 5 start radisson hotel. There was lack of information from the guy at reception when you check in, in particular when without saying or explaining anything he took a deposit of my card which I though it was the payment of the room therefore I got very confused at check out when he charged me again. This could have been avoided just by explaining the hotel procedure to the customer or at least that is what I would do. The lady at the bar wasn't of much help either when my boyfriend asked for a bottle of wine and overall the staff looked like they were just having a laugh between then most of the time instead of looking after clients and be more professional - specially when you are paying a fair bit of money in a prestigious well known hotel. I would try to go to the other radisson next time or choose another place instead of coming back here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Angelida:

On behalf of our entire staff we thank you chose us for your stay in San Jose, we are very sorry that the amenities provided were not completely to your liking, I have dealt with the human resource department to take the necessary measures to ensure that all our staff provide better service to all our guests, if we have the opportunity to serve you again and to exceed their own expectations when traveling through this area, thank you to make the points that we know we can improve and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel with our 5 month old daughter. The hotel and room were clean and well maintained. The bathroom was clean and modern and the shower was hot. The staff was great and extremely helpful and welcoming. The pool area was nice. It is walking distance to the cool areas of San Jose. There was a model photo shoot while we were there too, which was an added bonus. I would definitely stay here again if we return. My only complaint is the internet in the hotel was slow and often required resetting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose

Dear EvanUTVol:

On behalf of our entire staff we thank you chose us for your stay in San Jose, we are pleased that your stay with us was first class, and that our services have been to his liking and satisfaction, thank you for your wonderful comments every day makes us commit more to provide better service, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and hope to exceed your own expectations on your next visit.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manger
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

When the bellboy opens the room door, we are overcome by stale and stuffy smell. The AC is not working. The stopper in the sink is stuck in the closed position, and the water won't drain. The refrigerator has not been defrosted in ages, and the open freezer compartment has thick slabs of ice all around it. When you touch the taps in the tub, thry are rattling and you are afraid that they will come right off the wall and into your hands. The list goes on. It is hard to believe that this hotel bears the name of a reputed chain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramsey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Ramsey2000:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, we would have liked to stay out of class very sorry that the hotel and the services provided were not completely to your liking, thank you very much to do if we know the details of which we can improve, we waited for another opportunity to serve you again and we can exceed your own expectations when traveling in this area.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manger
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is not a nice place to stay. Bad location, bad food, expensive, and hasn't been renovated since the 70s. Besides the Internet working well and decent but uneven service, there is nothing I can really say to recommend this hotel. Also quite noisy -- they pump music into the hallways early in the morning and late at night. Beds have polyester pillow cases and covers. Carpets are dirty. Yikes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z_R1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Z_R1000:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, we regret that the hotel and the services offered were not completely to your liking, but if you do we are grateful to know those points where we can improve to be able to offer so better service, we ask again the most sincere apologies, we hope to have the chance to serve you with best quality.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radison San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Even as some of the reviewers describe the hotel as being too"cold" and ugly I would agree with them to the certain extend. The rooms are in good condition though and the complimentary breakfast is a good addition. Stayed there for two nights, did not spent too much of the days inside. The staff was professional and courteous and check-in/check out was a snap. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear MilenSt :

We are very pleased to have had a visit at our facility and give the most cordial greetings on behalf of all the staff working in this hotel and especially mine, all are grateful for your choice for your stay in San Jose, also thank your wonderful comment and rate 4 star in this prestigious web site, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon when traveling through this area.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Radisson Hotel San Jose is older hotel with older equipment. Big room and bathroom, bad view, good breakfast, average staff, bad location, for 1 night ok. BUT San Jose is ugly town, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Ivana B:

We are very pleased to have had a visit at our facility and give the most cordial greetings on behalf of all the staff working in this hotel and especially mine, we are all very grateful for your choice for your stay in San Jose, we regret not have been able to exceed their own expectations for the time in our country, but thank you very much for making knowledge service points where we can improve, hopefully we can have the opportunity to have him back with us, would we a great pleasure to serve in near future.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M,
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
2.2 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £55 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing