We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager, infested with bed bugs, dirty rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for over10 days, changing rooms throughout my visit.
1) one night the night manager refused to speak to us as we asked him to show proof indicating that we, paying guests, could not have guests over in our rooms. He just stopped talking to us. Luckily another employee was around to speak to us.
2) I stayed in a total of three rooms while at the hotel and got bedbug bites out of two of them.
Extremely inconvenient as as soon as I got home I had to make sure to avoid spreading the infestation to my other things.
3) the last room I stayed in was not clean. I had to call people to clean it. In addition there was an intense vomit smell next to my bed. Also had to call someone to clean it, not much was done and the smell remained there.


Breakfast was excellent, the people who work in that area were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Camila M:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, we ask the most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay at our hotel, our policy is not to accept visits in the area of guest rooms Subjects security, but we'll make this kind of situations do not happen again measures, I have also directed the department housekeeper for the inconvenience with the lack of cleanliness and other disadvantages, hoping to have the opportunity to get back to serve and to exceed their own expectations when traveling in this area.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Perfect service super breakfast. Everybody speak english. Excelent rooms. Fitness,pool,whirlpool,sauna. We were very happy and relaxed in this hotel for 80 dollars per night. Next to the downtown and busstation to the caribian

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Schmiddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear Anthony :

Kindest regards from all our staff, we are pleased that your stay at our hotel was first class and our services were completely to your liking, thank you very much also to take some of you time to write about your experience in our hotel, hope to have the opportunity to get back to serve in the near future and again when traveling through this area.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Friendly Staff, Helpful Staff!!!! I especially liked the Gold's GYM---free for guests. THE BEST GYM in San Jose. I had romantic stay and Room Service was Excellent. Food in Restaurant was excellent---but very pricey. In Room Mini-bar can get you in trouble if not careful--very expensive. In ALL a very pleasant stay. You Get What You Pay For. 4 star in all!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy road with heavy traffic night and day. (South Side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flowerskahukuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear flowerskahukuj:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, hoping that they are fine, thanks for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel and your visit to our country, hoping that carry fond memories during his visit all hope here also the chance to serve you again would have it soon.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After spending several days in a sub-par, rat-hole in Santa Teresa, we booked several night stay here. It is a wonderful, 5-star hotel. It is a bit difficult to locate the entrance as it is located in a sort of huge traffic circle where you could easily enter onto a freeway or into a neighborhood and like everything in Costa Rica, street signs are non-existant or difficult to see or find. There is a big sign/billboard above the hotel but the entrance was on the other side street. We arrived at night adding to our difficulty.

The hotel was clean and well maintained. There is security gate manned by a guard. The surrounding area didn't appear dangerous but the hotel was not located in the "main-stay" of commerce although not far. There is a bricked wall enclosing the hotel which added to privacy & safety. The pool was clean and we enjoyed the jacuzzi. The hotel is well landscaped in tropical flair around the entrance, pool, jacuzzi, and breakfast area.

The hotel staff spoke English and were courteous and helpful. The first night we had a room with a huge king bed, huge bathroom. However, it was located above the outside jacuzzi and any sort of noise enminates into the room. There was a group of teenagers on a trip and as teenagers do, crammed into the jacuzzi being loud & giggling.  We requested a room change and was quickly accommodated by the hotel staff. The room has a well stocked mini-bar.

Although the hotel was not near the shopping, we were able to walk to town center without issue. It was about an eight block walk to get to the main avenue. Within four blocks you will see shops, bakery,  stores, etc.

We resisted taking a taxi at first but this is the way to go if you want to go out at night to dinner. We had a wonderful driver who didn't charge us even when he got lost and he was honest and fessed up to it! Again, even the Costa Ricans have trouble finding locations! The taxi cost was very reasonable.

The hotel does have a nice restaurant and the food was good but priced slightly higher. One night, we requested our taxi driver for a recommendation and he picked a great little restaurant actually very close to the hotel. He dropped us off and left his card for the waiter to call him when we were ready to go back. He was prompt and we had a great evening hassle-free. 

The hotel bar is nice and you could order some food items (burger, club sandwich, etc.) there if the restaurant is closed (closes at 9 pm). You can order room service 24 hrs. Each morning there is a complementary breakfast which is superb - juices, milk, coffee, teas, fresh fruit, eggs, yogurt, cerals, pastries, omelet chief, Gallo Pinto, etc.

There are couches (sitting areas) located in several locations throughout the hotel. The one dig is the layout is kind of "maze" like, a bit confusing.

There is a casino located on the premises. We didn't go in so I don't know how it was although they were advertising "Texas Hold'Em".

Great hotel. A little off the beaten path but worth it. The Juan Santamaría airport is an easy 20 minute drive.  

Room Tip: Careful in getting the room located above the outdoor jacuzzi. Very nice room but noise from people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reddog4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear reddog4613:

Kindest regards from all our staff, let me comment that we are extremely grateful for your wonderful comments and for choosing us for your stay in San Jose, we are pleased that all our services were your total satisfaction and staying out of first class, all here are looking forward to serve you again when traveling through this beautiful country.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I traveled here with my two younger brothers, we are from the USA & knew absolutely no Spanish & planned the trip in two days. I was a bit concerned because of those facts, but this Radisson is absolutely wonderful!

I emailed the front desk the day before to ask about the rainy season (we came during "rainy season" but it was really nice out) and also to ask about excursions & they sent me a list of adventure options & prices (thanks Sergio!) when we got off the plane I was apprehensive about trying to find the shuttle, but our driver was waiting right at the exit with a sign with my name on it! I almost hugged the man.

Ruby at the front desk was happy to call the zip line tour guides to book our tour (since I speak no Spanish) which was so great of them.

We payed the $50 extra to upgrade to the business suite & that was THE BEST DECISION we made. The breakfast was free with executive level and was AMAZING. Chicken, tamales, pastries, fresh fruits, coffee, and so much more... I will go back just for the breakfast. Seriously. Plus you have free coffee, pop, and snacks all day on the executive level.

My only complaint was that the pool was freezing (and I'm from North Dakota!) but other than that everything was absolutely wonderful.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank DalzellMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear DalzellMD:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, this is to thank you for choosing us for your stay in our country, everyone here is delighted that all services were to your liking and your first stay level, and enjoy the benefits of our executive floor, we all want a chance to return to them to serve and so to overcome their expectations.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M
Guest sevice Manger
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our Gate 1 Travel tour and the hotel was very nice. Even though it is clearly a business hotel (service is outstanding), had rooms of decent size, bathrooms were large and modern. Different from the boutique hotels we stayed in during the rest of our stay since it is a chain, but it was a very good stay (free wifi, water bottles). Fairly short walk to downtown, but they also had complimentary shuttles if you're not comfortable walking.
Pool is very nice and the grounds within the hotel are well kept.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelermom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear travelermom23:

Kindest regards from all our staff and my own, we are pleased that the services offered were your total satisfaction, and what is more we are pleased to know that your vacation time in our country was very satisfactory, wait have the opportunity to get back to serving soon.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at the Radisson Hotel as our jump off point for our tour of Costa Rica with Gate 1 Travel. Me and my family loved this hotel. They had good customer service, the room was clean and comfortable, but the room does show some age.... The Radisson was about a 15 minute walk to Mercado Central which was great for us!
They have great amenities such as a beautiful pool and the onsite gym is actually a Gold's Gym. Unfortuantely, we did not get the opportunity to use either one....
My one big complaint would have to be the thin walls. We were able to hear the conversation of the guest in the next room, as well as the guest walking past our room.
The Radisson provides a free hot breakfast, which was great in getting us started for the day. They offered an omelette station, beans and rice, fruits, juices and breads.
Great hotel, has its rough spots, but I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joel1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Greetings from Radisson San Jose Costa Rica

Dear joel1316:

Warmest greetings from all our staff and we are very pleased to own my your comments about our hotel, the staff is extremely grateful that your stay and the amenities were first class, also want to thank him for his 5 star rate has given us, we hope to have the opportunity to come back through this area and this your hotel to exceed your expectations so a next visit to San Jose.

Sincerely

Jose Pablo Zarzosa M.
Guest service Manager
Radisson San Jose
Tel 2010-6000 Ext 5555

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,596 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
2.2 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica

Address: Central Street & 3rd-15th Ave, San Jose 558-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Green Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a convenient location near the historic city center, the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica offers comfortable accommodations in the city's vibrant financial, commercial and government district. The hotel is also close to major attractions including the National Theatre, Golden Museum and a range of shopping and dining options. While staying with us, you will enjoy on-site amenities such as a Fitness Center, Executive Lounge, an on-site casino, spacious meeting rooms and two restaurants - everything you need for a truly exceptional hotel stay. Reserve your stay online today and experience the comfort and convenience of the Radisson Hotel San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Europa Hotel San Jose
Radisson Europa Hotel And Conference Center
Radisson San Jose
San Jose Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing