We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location; Welcoming Staff”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location; Welcoming Staff”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Balmoral is not only in a perfect location for enjoying a number of different parts of town, but the staff is welcoming, warm and friendly. There is a delicious, inexpensive restaurant as well as pharmacy and shops (unfortunately one is temptingly full of dozens of types of mouthwatering candies) right in the Hotel. Outside there is access to everything from street vendors and good shops to museums and parks, even a casino, within meters of the hotel.

Room Tip: Even the small rooms are comfortable and all rooms are sound proof so that you sleep well despite no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    482
    193
    50
    46
See reviews for
209
389
135
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I had the privilege of staying at the Balmoral Hotel for a night while waiting for my next day flight home after spending time in Puntarenas. The service was excellent, the room was extremely nice and the buffet breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend the Balmoral Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetranger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived late in the day and here was no way to get to to Puerto Viejo until the next morning so we stayed at this hotel overnight. We had a room overlooking the main shopping area with a balcony. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant downstairs and the next morning we were delighted to learn that a complete breakfast was also included. And I do mean compleat! They had every breakfast item that you could imagine or want, including the local breakfast of rice and beans. Absolutely LOVED the Lizano sauce on the rice and beans and also put it on the eggs. Made a point of buying a bottle to take home (wish I had bought more though) The shower in the bathroom was very strong and a very pleasant way to end the night before going to bed for the evening. Checkout was efficient and the staff was exceedingly helpful in helping us arrange transportation to Playa Chiquita. We wound up staying there again on our way back home because we had an early flight and didn't want to take the chance of missing it because of any delays on our shuttle trip back to San Jose. This time we were quite disappointed that we had to leave so early that we were not able to have the free breakfast. All in all, a great place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The service especially front desk (Adriana and Christopher) were very helpful and always cheerful even when they're swamped with guests. The rooms are generally kept clean, however the construction was quite noisy. My room was quite small compared to the others in the same price range but the beds were comfortable and generally clean.

The breakfast buffet that was included during my stay was pleasant enough as well. Their chef was always very enthusiastic. They have a good selection of food, I guess the price was fair since everything around the area was priced just as expensively. In the mornings it got quite noisy in the restaurant because there is usually a woman selling lottery tickets like there's no tomorrow from 7 ish to 8 ish in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a proper desk. Not all rooms have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Asia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Arrived at the Balmoral earlier than expected, about 10:30 am and our room was not ready - not to be concerned as they had an identical room available and we were registered and taken to our room within minutes. Have to thank Adriana for her kind attention to our needs, from getting us into our room really early to negotiating taxi rides for us (saved us considerable money) to providing easy to follow directions. Our room attendant was Margarita and she was a gem making sure our room was always done promptly and bring us additional towels when we needed them. One of the perks of staying at the Balmoral is the free breakfast - Gerardo cooks up eggs/omelets just right and always with a smile. The restaurant staff comprising Andrea (boss), Marjorie, Jimmy, Manrique, and Michael were always ever present with a smile and some nice early morning conversation. We shall miss them all.
The pictures of the hotel are a little misleading as the entrance is not where one would expect but rather through the garage which is managed by a number of bell hops who always appear to be waiting just to serve you. Really enjoyed Erich to always welcomed us with a hug and a familiar have a great day.
Overall, we would have to say that the hotel is in good shape, some renovations going on but the noise is muffled and does not detract from ones stay. The newly renovated rooms are really nice, large and modern'
We specifically asked for a room facing the street and have to admit the street noise was somewhat over powering but we got used to it and actually enjoyed the street activity from our patio window.
I would not hesitate to choose this hotel again, it really is a gem situated in the heart of busy downtown San Jose.

Room Tip: If you do not want the constant street noise (it starts as early as 5 am and goes to 11 pm or later...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank billandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The renovated Balmoral hotel in San Jose is fantastic! Its reasonably priced and has everything you would need. I've stayed in a number of hotels in San Jose and for me I'd say this one is the best. Definitely my first pick for my next trip back to San Jose. I highly recommend it. Reminded me of an Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Important to note that the rooms over looking calle principal that are not on a high floor are loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AD4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hotel is in the busy section of San Jose, close to many restaurants and museums. Whether you're looking for Costa Rican foods or global (McD, Kentucky Fried Chicken, etc) all types are very close and walking distance. Hotel staff is very good and very helpful, especially the front desk. Bilingual and very patient with all and any help. Rooms were clean, hotel had some construction going on but still was neat and non-intrusive. Breakfast was a traditional type breakfast, eggs, sausage, fruits, etc instead of continental type - it was very good, eggs cooked to order. I will stay here again next year! If there is one bad item, I would point out the noise in the morning, as the autos are backed up in the streets and honk their horns, but what would you expect being in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LeomtzLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing