We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,479)
Filter reviews
1,479 results
Traveller rating
577
557
229
64
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
557
229
64
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel patioroad scholarcosta ricagold museumparking garagecentral locationpedestrian streetnice hotelheart of downtown san josefree callsbreakfast buffetmini barwalking distancefront desk staffsuperior roomnational theatredowntown area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 1,479 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Though located in a non attractive city, this place is quite nice and very much affordable. The staff were responsive and welcoming, and the room was nice, clean and spacious. It had all the facilities we needed (mini bar, safe). Breakfast was really nice, and all this for a very reasonable price, right in the city center. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Balmoral in December 2013 the last night of our Costa Rica trip before returning to the states. I wish we had stayed here longer. The amenities were great. We stayed at 3 other hotels as we travelled through the country, but Balmoral was by far the best. The resort is very clean and modern. We didn't eat any meals, but we did have a few drinks in the bar. Balmoral will definately be at the top of my list should I return again to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: My only regret is that we didn't stay long enough to enjoy the amenities.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMeTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

...but maybe a little lacking in some areas.

First, it is in central San Jose. The neighborhood is a little shady after dark, but during the day there is a lot to offer nearby.

Secondly, the rooms are very nice - very fresh and modern. The hallways and lounges on each floor are a little raggedy, but since very little of my time was spent there, it was not important to me.

The personnel is friendly enough, but not overly so. This could be improved.

The internet works very well, except they have blocked Facebook. I suppose an argument could be made that if you're in San Jose, Costa Rica, upset about lack of Facebook, something's wrong. :-)

You could do a lot worse than this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekinwilliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very nice, very clean, helpful hotel staff. Business facilities, meeting rooms, great gift shop, Wonderful restaurant with a good breakfast buffet and good open air seating with an extensive dinner menu. One of the best parts is it's right on a pedestrian only road with shops and other restaurants within feet. You can set outside and watch the people of Costa Rica passby and feel as your part of crowd.

Room Tip: Don't expect a pool or special activities for kids but do expect on site parking, GREAT.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBbrown93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very good breakfast buffet. the hotel has a strand entrance from a parking. In overall it's not that bad, but different from what you see on pictures. The furniture were basics and the rooms a little sad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews