We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in the City”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location in the City”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at the Balmoral. Firstly, the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The superior room was spacious, very clean and well appointed. No view to speak of from my room, but even with the hotel right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of San Jose, it was quiet and secure. The breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant was fantastic. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and affordable. The location allowed me to walk to parks, the national theatre, museums, the post office and a couple of casinos all right off of a central pedestrian way that was lined with shops and eateries.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    482
    193
    50
    46
See reviews for
209
389
135
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ames, IA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The only negative is that you have to run the water for a long time until you get hot water and for me, that seemed wasteful. rooms were clean and spacious, close to shopping, museums, and restaurants. breakfast was great. also there was construction nearby.. we did find that nerve wracking if you wanted to sleep in late.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bassethound3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here before and will stay here again, staff very friendly and helpful with any needs you might have, they will go out of their way to help you, location is good, clean rooms, food is great, breakfast buffet yummy, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Balmoral Hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica is an amazing hotel. Very good amenities and an outstanding staff. It is located in the middle of downtown near many parks and the wonderful National Theater. The value is very good considering the it's location and amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Tucker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was my second stay at Hotel Balmoral, and I couldn't be happier. Friendly staff throughout the hotel and restaurant, splendidly clean rooms and downtown location right on the pedestrian walking mall make this hotel my favorite.

Room Tip: I preferred the spacious deluxe over the standard. If you don't like the sound of celebrative ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lenworley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS, FRANCE
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Balmoral HOTEL has friendly staff, good breakfast bouffet and a good location right by Avenida Central. Yes, it can be very noisy if you're planning on sleeping while josefinos work. Otherwise, it's confortable, good facilities, gym, internet, a small mall, pharmacy, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETERParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed there for our last night before an early morning flight back to the states and it was a great experience. We booked a family room which turned out to be a huge suite with a sitting area, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a giant balcony spanning the width of 3 rooms. Everything was very nice and comfortable and the hotel had a great food selection. We also enjoyed our night in the hotel bar listening to live music - I recommend ordering the giant 3 liter beer, it comes served in the giant tube with a tap at the bottom, it was perfect for me and my two friends to share.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing