We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night passing thru SJ and we found it to be actually quite nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. In terms of value, I think it's reasonable. We enjoyed sitting in the patio restaurant and people watching. Since we had an early flight time and missed the free breakfast, they packed us a small to go brek, which was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChinoMorenoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    442
    177
    43
    44
See reviews for
183
367
124
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel only one night in early February before beginning a Caravan tour. We were pleased with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the room, the comfortable beds, and the very helpful staff. It is two short blocks away from the Gold Museum and the National Theater and only a short walk further to the Cathedral. Going in the other direction, we found ourselves at the National Museum with an Artisan's Market right in the area.

Breakfast was part of our package, and we found it very good. We also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. There is a small shopping area within the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the street side, as the streets are very busy and noisy all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

we stayed one night on our way in to costa rica shower and toilet didnt work. they up graded us to a great room. Its in the center of the the city, food good, service great!
I would go back, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dodgerfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Central location and a nice, spacious clean room. Complimentary breakfast had eggs cooked to order and was very good. Friendly, helpful front desk staff, all of whom seemed to also speak English quite well which really helped me out. I stayed on the 5th floor and the air in the hallway was fresh and smelled good.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the main street shopping area for a much quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were of need of a layover hotel in town before we went onto Quepos.. The hotel was nice and clean, staff was very nice and helpful. They arranged a driver to meet us at the airport both coming and going . They were always on time and very helpful. Be sure that if you want to get some sleep that you request a room away from the shopping area. Not all of the rooms have a coffee maker or a clock. Do not go into the casino outside of the restaurant apparently you can leave your slot machine for quit sometime and if some unsuspecting person starts to use it and did not realized there was credit on the machine the management will side with the local and demand that you pay back the local the amount they said they had on the machine which we had to do rather than have it escalate. Otherwise the restaurant is very good as well and the breakfast is very authentic and tasty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank beckybird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked a hotel in San Jose just to get in and do a quick walk about and then head north. The best thing about this hotel was the concierge, Christopher, he was so helpful! He helped translate with the car rental company because they sent an agent that didn't speak English. Actually he basically translated the whole thing. Our room was basic, nothing amazing but it was clean. It was on the 6th floor, I think the renovations haven't hit that floor yet so try to get something lower. The restaurant was actually pleasant - they tell you its in the basement but it's actually on the main floor and is a cute welcoming place. The food was great, depending on what you order. and the breakfast's were standard. Good location, and very helpful. That is to say that when we asked the other concierge for help, she was not quite as helpful as Christopher. He really helped us out on this trip. I hope the hotel realizes what a great asset he is.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the 4th floor or lower, we were on the 6th and it wasn't renovated yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent hotel in the downtown location. Recently renovated, modern decor, comfortable bed.
We were late for breakfast but they served it to us anyway. Friendly and efficient concierge service, parking inside the "lobby' is a bonus!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 555kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing