We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balmoral stay”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was hard to find as all places are with little signage in the city (not what we are used to in the States). It seems like the hotel photo shown online was photoshopped to make it look like this "grand" hotel. The breakfasts were good, freshly made eggs/omlettes and consisted of fruit, pancakes (if not sitting at the bottom of the warmer all morning), nut bread, cookies, breads, cereal, plantains, sausage and potatoes (my fave). Seems like a good location as far as proximity to restaurants and shops. Staff is very friendly/accomodating and thank you for bilingual capabilities when my husband wasn't around to translate :)
Be careful if you're driving in the area! Traffic (pedestrian + auto) there stresses us out...

Room Tip: upgrade if you want something nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Conveniently located to the Cathedral, National Theatre, Gold Museum, Mercado Central, National Museum, Jade Museum, dining options, and parks. Neighborhood is not scenic and is questionable after dark, but I was with a group and never felt unsafe. I believe I was in an updated room, and they were painting the hall and other rooms on my floor as I was there. I had an interior room, so no view, but that was probably better than being on the noisy street side. Key cards stopped working daily, but the desk staff was helpful and friendly. Meeting room was set nicely and the hotel was clean. Breakfast was decent - much better than the other hotel in which I stayed in C.R. Restaurant offered an OK variety of food for other meals. Bar was nice and offered live music. I utilized the pharmacy on the first floor, so that was convenient. I would send my group back there.

Room Tip: Interior rooms offer no views but are quiet. The hotel sits on a busy pedestrian mall with loud bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I sometimes wonder how hotels maintain their star rating! This hotel is very tired, although this is not obvious in the reception areas. However when you emerge from the elevator to go to your room you are immediately struck by the marked paintwork of the walls and the badly stained carpets. Once in the room it becomes even more apparent. The closet couldn't be used because the doors were jammed. The bathroom door couldn't be closed because the door was so buckled. The bath enamel had been crudely painted over where it had rusted or been worn away. The tiles were damaged. Shall I go on... The redeeming feature was the clean and comfortable beds. It was also centrally located which helped. The breakfast buffet was mediocre. The helpful and friendly staff were some compensation for what can only be described as a very scruffy hotel.

Room Tip: Check whether any rooms have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Average hotel with below average breakfast. Helpful desk staff. Would stay again if we are spending a night or two for its convinience. Close to shopping, museums and good restautants. Rooms and bathrooms are small but OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is located right in the center of San Jose, right on the main pedestrian street. The rooms and bathrooms are small (we had a standard room), but sufficient for a 1 or 2 night stay. The breakfast was really good. Parking and WiFi was also included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator and main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I will stay in this hotel again.this hotel is very clean and at central location. Staff is friendly, specially sharon at front desk reception is very courteous, friendly and helpful. car parking is very safe

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khanusainc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you wish to know that you are staying in Costa Rica and not in a high-rise in yet another North American or European city, then the Balmoral is for you. This hotel is at the center of downtown San Jose and at the heart of action in busy portion of a busy city--and importantly fronts on a pedestrian street. The rooms are large and clean, the staff is accommodating and very friendly (and nearly all speak excellent English if that is important to you), and management is efficient and responsive. The hotel restaurant, El Patio, is famous and bustling, full not just of tourists from away but, importantly, Spanish-speaking people from Central and South America--a reminder again that you are here at the heart of an important city in Central America and that you will have a chance to participate in, even if vicariously, the local culture. The food is excellent and the prices reasonable. The breakfast buffet is also very tasty and exceedingly generous. The waiters and waitresses are warm and helpful. I have stayed at the Balmoral in both rainy and dry seasons, and cannot wait to return to what is, for me, a home away from home. It might become as addictive for you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 78 in San Jose
989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £58 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing