We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Balmoral San Jose”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“New Balmoral San Jose”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at the Balmoral for two weeks. The location is convenient to the walking zone and there are plenty of taxis and buses if you need them. The breakfast was included and a chef prepares the eggs and pancakes to order. Locals can also eat breakfast there for 4,000 Colones. The staff are very helpful for getting directions and ordering rental cars. The bar overlooks the street and is a popular place on the weekends or anytime there is a big sporting event on television.

Room Tip: The hotel has a central atrium and if your room has a window facing the atrium you will hear pidgeon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    476
    192
    48
    46
See reviews for
204
386
134
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the Balmoral hotel in June 2014. It is a very nice hotel in the center of downtown San Jose. It is geared towards the tourist trade, so you will find all amenities here. On the plus side, it allows certain San Jose guests to accompany you to your room should you choose to do so. The price is great, the staff is professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JR71796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hi, we were at this hotel 2 nights at the beginning of our trip in Costa Rica. They helped us to plan our trip to Monteverde. This place is okay if you want to visit San Jose a little bit, it's very in the heart of San Jose. The restaurant is practical, but expensive (I guess as most restaurants in Costa Rica). The room is okay. Don't expect complete silence to sleep, but it's not so bad.

Room Tip: I guess higher rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our family recently stayed at the Balmoral Hotel and were very happy. The location is right on pedestrian street and is a few blocks away from the National Theater, Gold Museum and in the other direction the Jade Museum.

The front desk also, very helpfully, arranged for a taxi pickup from the airport. The rooms were clean and functional and the beds very comfy. Our room was air-conditioned and came with breakfast which was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank slr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeley, West Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here a few years ago and it was a typical inner city hotel (old, little run down). The renovation changed it to one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in in Latin America. Very nice room, great staff. They also have nice bar, restaurant, wine cellar and shops. Breakfast is excellent for anywhere. Free calls to the US!! Es probablement el mejor hotel que he quedado en latinoamerica que no fuera de cadena internacional.

Room Tip: If you get an interior room (around the vent shaft) close the curtains so the neighbor's lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great staff specailly Front desk Andria and Yulina, vary clean room and good Housekeeping.
Staff always smilly. Breakfast alwyas nice, safe environmet and decured place.
we will keep cpming back to this Hotel.

Amin

Room Tip: Room Number 501 vary quiet and spacious room next to Fitness Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aminmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Balmoral Hotel is very well located, you can walk in the main street in San Jose town. The hotel includes a breakfast is quite good for the hotel price, i was expecting fruits and real juice because is a country that sells that everything is natural not true. They provide free wifi y local areas also the have computer that you can use for free that really good too. My room was kind of noisy but was ok for a night sleep we were all day out, was clean and very good A/C. As i have to mention the hotel offer very good prices so you should not be expecting a luxury hotel. But it worth the money you pay. The staff is VERY friendly. Near the hotel you can find the gold museum its nice and its walking distance. DON'T take the city tour does not worth the money at all. Near the hotel you can find a lot of stores.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
882 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing