We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Surprisingly Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had to make 2 stops in San Jose during our recent trip to Costa Rica. The staff was amazing and very responsive to our requests for extra towels and shampoo. The front desk staff happily helped me write a note in Spanish to someone. The rooms are very modern and clean and the buffet breakfast was excellent - the best scrambled eggs I had not only in Costa Rica, but in any hotel buffets (and some restaurants). We weren't really sure about the location as we had never been there before, but it turned out to be a good place to walk and do a little sight seeing. While there was some street noise, it must have died down fairly early because we had no problems sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_K_WRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    589
    133
    28
    14
See reviews for
213
651
126
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We wanted to stay downtown so that we could walk the museums and see the culture. the hotel did not disappoint. The service was great, the people accommodating. the room was nice and the A/C worked. very important in summer. The easy location allowed us to do all our wondering around on foot except for the dinner we had at the Grand Oro. if you drive it will be almost impossible to find unless you ask directions.

i can only speak of breakfast and it was a typical hotel buffet. good not great and filling. we did not eat any other meal there and the restaurant is in the lobby. literally. great jump off spot.

Room Tip: they do have a spa but i didn't use it so i don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggietraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the first night of our trip. The hotel is in the perfect location. We got in kind of late, but still had time to walk across the street for dinner and down the street to see the theater. The employees were very friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and nicely decorated. They have wifi in the rooms and also tv. The breakfast in the morning is included and very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a one or two night stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluvtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one week, it's downtown and it's perfect because most places are in walking distance. Excursions come pic you up from the hotel and like I read on reviews, the breakfast was great and free which is a plus. I looked at staying in other areas, but glad I washy far away from everything in a condo. KFC, QUIZNOS, PIZZA Hut, Taco Bell, Burger King, Popeyes, and Wendy's all within walking distance. Room was clean except for a small spot in bathroom and room service handle immediately. They clean the room with real cleaner "bleach" instead if places that smelled like they just spray are freshners. The basic room was small but okay with us. Also taxi to airport is $30, they also do currency exchange but 10% few if credit card used. Ask for pancakes, o did I say free breakfast was great? :) by the way in very picky about rooms. Let faucet water runs a min or so before you brush your teeth or anything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigjay500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Bigjay500,

Thank you for your review.

The Presidente is blessed with the best location in San Jose for travelers who wish to walk and explore without the need of a car. Downtown has many attractions and interesting places to visit on foot.

We greatly appreciate your kind comment regarding our breakfast.

I am a bit confused as there is no additional charge on currency exchange if done with credit card. There is a small commition for cash advances, but not for currency exchange. We seem to have miscommunicated the policy to you. I would really like to get in touch with you to find out a bit more about this, and also about your concerns with the water in our guestrooms. We run frequent lab tests on our water and ice through the building (on file) so we can assure our guests that the water at the Presidente is perfectly safe to drink.

Please contact me at daniel@hotel-presidente.com, so I can personally find out more.

We wish you great travels!

At your service,
Daniel Mikowski
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Clean! Immaculate! Great service! Great location! We could walk to the central market -- walk to the handicraft market. Also could walk to Galeria Namu .... read other reviews about that place! We had two rooms -- family of six (3 generations). I stayed with the kids one night while the parents went down the pedestrian walkway to a bar where a soccer tournament was being cheered on by locals. An ATM is nearby at a food court -- restaurants -- taxis -- museums if you have time -- great location! Helpful and friendly staff.
No pool but we didn't have time anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debracake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Debracake,

Thank you for choosing the Presidente and for sharing your experience.

Mercado Central (Central Market) is a very interesting place, one that we highly recommend to our guests.

I see that you also got to witness one of the world cup qualifying rounds. It’s a joyous occasion, especially when we win, and our national team is doing very well.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to San Jose, and hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were booked in there for the first and last nights of our holiday as being convenient for the airport. Situated in centre of San Jose on a pedestrian precinct. First stay: Internal room with a single window into what appeared to be a ventilation shaft. Second stay: 6th floor room with views over San Jose roof tops.
Comfortable rooms with large TV, which we never used, and a safe but most disappointingly no tea or coffee making facility in the room.
Buffet-only breakfast has a reasonable variety of choice, including hot and cold. Most people give up on the toaster after 4 or 5 rounds of ineffectively toasting the same piece of bread. Breakfast coffee is served but it’s a bit of a pantomime if you want tea and when you eventually get the tea it’s the atrocious American style warm water and a separate tea bag (as it is all over Costa Rica).
If you need to make an emergency exit, first grab your room key card. Floor-2 stairs are separated from stairs to floor-1 (ground) by an emergency exit door operated by your room key card. Didn’t find an emergency exit button to open the offending door, so either there isn’t one or you are unlikely to find it quickly if you are unfortunate enough to really need it. Perhaps not the most obvious need to use up your limited escape time groping for your room key card in the dark when there is an emergency, assuming that the electricity is still working to operate the door release.
The gym / spa facilities on the top floor were closed / not available.
Domestics: Electricity: 110v US flat pin. We found the tap water was ok to drink. Free Wifi.

Room Tip: Get a room on floor 5 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Kevgy,

Thank you for your detailed review. It has been of great help to us.

I am glad to report that the day your review was posted we bought two new toasters for our breakfast buffet. Sometimes these type of small inconveniences are hard to detect, but are easily and immediately dealt with once brought to our attention.

Also the restaurant staff has tea readily available and it is now presented to the table as an option to coffee. Thank you for the heads-up!

Regarding our Gym and Spa, there seems to be a miscommunication on our part as the facilities are open and unlocked 24 hours a day. I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me personally at daniel@hotel-presidente.com so we can find out about and correct the source of the information you were given. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Finally, I can see what you mean regarding the glass door in the second floor. We have an emergency exit at the end of the corridor, but you are absolutely right that in case of an emergency a guest may just as well try to use that one and it needs an emergency mechanism. We will make the necessary adjustments immediately and also improve our emergency signage to better direct guests to the emergency stair. We are currently finishing a comprehensive upgrade of our fire extinguishing systems, and your suggestions come at a great time to facilitate swift implementation as part of the project.

We once again wish to thank you for dedicating your valuable time to share your comments and suggestions with us. As a result, today we can offer an even better service to our guests.

Best wishes for your future travels.

At your service,

Daniel Mikowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at Hotel Presidente for the first and last night of our trip to Costa Rica. The best part of Hotel Presidente is the location (if you want to be in the middle of downtown). You are really close to several of the city's major attractions and surrounded by lots of local shops and eateries.
The rooms were clean and nice, and we had a great view of the city from the sixth floor. The staff were pleasant and professional. There was a decent buffet breakfast in the morning. The hotel was like a little oasis in the middle of downtown. I was super glad that we had not rented a car. Driving in downtown San Jose would be quite intimidating and the hotel is not super easy to find. Only disappointing part of our stay was the recommendation we received from the front desk for our last dinner in Costa Rica. The Nuestra Tierre was probably the worst meal we ate in Costa Rica. It could have been because the restaurant was deserted and the staff distracted by the Costa Rica v. Panama soccer game that was on that night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing