We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Presidente
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$82
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$155
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$99
US$82
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
744
705
157
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
705
157
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricacentral locationpedestrian mallrooftop barheart of san josenice hotelgold museumnational theatrestreet noiseking bedyogurtstandard roomrental cardowntown areafelt very safebreakfast was includedone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel for a quick visit to San Jose. The place itself is well appointed with modern design and amenities. It is centrally located near Main Street. Their staff is friendly and efficient. Jill and Pablo made the difficult easy. Thank You

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nednedned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just completed a 5-day stay in San Jose Costa Rica....it was great with a great hotel! The Hotel {residente is located rightin the middle of downtown with access to everything right out the door! Walk in seconds to shopping, restaurants, attractions and museums. The city has long stretches of "mall" walking where no vehicles are allowed and makes for easy walking. The hotel is located right on one of hte "mall" areas. A full Costa Rican breakfast is included with the room rate (great food). The hotel is about to undergo an expansive renovation to be completed by the fall of 2014. Rooms were large...fantastic showers!! ocarpets on floor due to tropical climate. If you like pineapple and papaya, you will love this...tons of it served at every breakfast! Very courteous staff....very helpful with information on where to go, restaurant suggestions, etc. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailLawrencevilleGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and end of our Costa Rica holiday. Firstly my son and I were given a room with one bed! We then changed rooms and may have been given the noisiest room in the hotel, neither of us slept. Our next room was slightly better but had no window. Breakfast was small and boring. We asked for water in our room (i'm still waiting for it!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel from the outside is not apealing at all, it needs some make over. If you are expecting to get there and have a bellman or luggage assistance you are out of luck. The rooms are lacking lights as well as the hallways. If the add more lights to the inside it will make the inside look much better. It is centrally located walking distance to pretty much everything, thats what I like the most. The breakfast buffet is very good!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wife and I spent the first two nights of our CR vacation at the Presidente. We must have got the best room in the whole hotel #801. Large balcony over looking the city with views of the mountains. We even had a 4 person jacuzzi outside. GPS is a must if driving. Breakfast was included and very good. Olger at the front desk was very helpful. The bar tender Diego was very friendly and answered many questions we had about CR. Jeorge was very helpful with bags to and from the car. Only stay here if you want a true San Jose downtown experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camarillodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews