We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel clean and comfy”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central hotel clean and comfy”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in downtown San Jose. Central to the shopping district as well as the museums.

AC worked great and king size bed was comfy. We had a rental car which was parked In a tight spot in a guarded lot.

We were to stay 3 nights but checked out early. There is little to do in San Jose! We should have stayed only 1 night in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmhereadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    604
    140
    28
    16
See reviews for
219
687
128
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Some reviewers have found the mall outside the hotel a bit unsavory and yes, it is in the heart of downtown, but it is also very handy for visiting museums and surrounding parks. The staff are very helpful and our room was spacious and quiet (ask for a room on a higher floor). We are glad we decided to spend a day here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a small hotel situated on the pedestrianised section of Central Avenue less than 100 meters from the National Theatre and Museum of Pre-columbian Gold. Service was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was enjoyable and filling, coffee excellent. There is a small snack bar which does a limited selection of simple dishes at reasonable prices, quite sufficient to keep off the hunger pangs and provide a cold beer. If you need a restaurant there is "The Patio" across the street. Although situated right in the middle of town we saw no other restaurants that we would have wished to patronise in the area.
Our en-suite WC and shower room was excellently furnished and clean. The problem was that it took us two days to discover that there was hot water if the tap was turned on full during the whole time it takes to do one's ablutions.
The hotel could be much better if the following simple things were done:-
1/ There is plentiful hot water, but it takes about five minutes to arrive, a decent services engineer could resolve this problem by introducing a pumped hot water circuit, which might save money in the long run, as less water would be wasted running taps for so long.
2/ Lighting levels in the bedrooms are appalling. It is impossible to read except with a book held within 1 meter of a light bulb.
3/ An instruction manual is required for the air-conditioning. I could not fathom how it worked. I do not know why but it came on at 2:00am waking me up.
4/There is insufficient furniture in the bedroom we had. There were two generous sized double beds, but no comfortable chairs, nowhere to put suitcases and no bedside table or shelf on which to put an alarm clock and coins, keys, glasses etc. overnight. There was an alarm clock in the room, which was showing the wrong time, there was no explanation as to how it worked and the two of us could not find a way to change the time or set the alarm, so we unplugged it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel for a quick visit to San Jose. The place itself is well appointed with modern design and amenities. It is centrally located near Main Street. Their staff is friendly and efficient. Jill and Pablo made the difficult easy. Thank You

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nednedned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just completed a 5-day stay in San Jose Costa Rica....it was great with a great hotel! The Hotel {residente is located rightin the middle of downtown with access to everything right out the door! Walk in seconds to shopping, restaurants, attractions and museums. The city has long stretches of "mall" walking where no vehicles are allowed and makes for easy walking. The hotel is located right on one of hte "mall" areas. A full Costa Rican breakfast is included with the room rate (great food). The hotel is about to undergo an expansive renovation to be completed by the fall of 2014. Rooms were large...fantastic showers!! ocarpets on floor due to tropical climate. If you like pineapple and papaya, you will love this...tons of it served at every breakfast! Very courteous staff....very helpful with information on where to go, restaurant suggestions, etc. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailLawrencevilleGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and end of our Costa Rica holiday. Firstly my son and I were given a room with one bed! We then changed rooms and may have been given the noisiest room in the hotel, neither of us slept. Our next room was slightly better but had no window. Breakfast was small and boring. We asked for water in our room (i'm still waiting for it!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieNelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel from the outside is not apealing at all, it needs some make over. If you are expecting to get there and have a bellman or luggage assistance you are out of luck. The rooms are lacking lights as well as the hallways. If the add more lights to the inside it will make the inside look much better. It is centrally located walking distance to pretty much everything, thats what I like the most. The breakfast buffet is very good!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,234 reviews
5.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing