We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value- clean good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value- clean good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good value considering hoe much was paid. Very little to do in san jose city but if you need to stop here the presidente is clean, breakfast is nice enough and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseajay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    589
    133
    28
    14
See reviews for
213
651
126
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

El presidente : Very good location and attractively priced. Wifi generally worked for me. Breakfast was tasty. Some renovation work ongoing but not a problem. Friendly service. Would stay again if visiting San Jose

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. The hotel offered free wifi and breakfast, which was delicious. I loved the gallo pinto and plantains. The rooms are clean and up to date. We were able to walk I the museums and restaurants. It was a short cab ride to Peppers Good Times, where we enjoyed a live band and salsa dancing. The hotel is a great value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gumbogal504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Though the area is hustling and bustling to say the least, Hotel Presidente was quiet, clean and very nice and modern. We were able to easily walk from the main bus station from the airport to the hotel along the pedestrian-only street and were promptly given a great room and good recommendation for food, drinks and shopping. There's a safe in the room, nice bed, nice TV (which we didn't use) and a well-done bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for something on a high floor as it's a busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YouGoGirl_115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This hotel is nothing fancy, but its location, friendly staff, and comfortable accommodations make it a good downtown choice. The only drawback to the hotel is its close proximity to gringo gulch and the goings on there.

The staff are very helpful. They helped find me a last minute rental car even comparing rates. The breakfast buffet was fine (perhaps not quite as good as the neighboring Bamoral hotel).

Overall I would say this is a good affordable choice, but watch out if you have your family to not accidentally wander into the zona rojo. ....or you may have to answer some interesting questions from the little ones.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better....less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Well I don't know where to start. I stayed in 4 hotels in Costa Rica over 8 nights... While the first 3 were stellar, Hotel Presidente was a big disappointment.

Now I'll admit, I shoulder some of the blame for staying in downtown San Jose at the end of a trip to other magnificent areas of the country, but nonetheless, I still expected better.

I'll give Presidente props for nice rooms (the bathroom was superb), and the location (proximity to local museums, shopping, and restaurants). On the downside of the rooms - there was no coffee maker (really??? This is still Costa Rica, right?), and I had to ask for a fridge. Now, I normally wouldn't comment on a hotel's lack of a fridge in my room, but I just found it odd that 1-2 days prior to my arrival, I received an unsolicited email from Presidente confirming my reservation and stating in the first few lines, "All rooms come with a refrigerator." So...... naturally, I showed up with beers I wanted to keep cold.

I'll also say that the hotel's breakfast was lacking, and again, my least favorite of the 4 hotels' on my trip (by far). On the upside, the room service at 9 pm was pretty good.

My wife wants to add that she felt the overall vibe of the place was a little "cold." It just wasn't as warm and welcoming as other places we visited during our stay.

Finally, I'm still a little perplexed at this: I booked this stay at a pre-pay, non-refundable rate several months ago to get a better price. Now, conventional wisdom would lead me to think my card would be charged at the time of reservation (since even an immediate cancelation would result in a forfeit of the entire amount). However, they asked for my card upon check in (turns out I forgot to bring it - that's another story). I asked why we couldn't just use the card I booked the room with and the reply was, "Well we can if you have the card with you." So ok, no big deal, I gave them a different card. Then, at check out, I'm asked for the new card AGAIN. They told me they only put a hold on the card at check-in. Mmmmmkayyyy..... Stranger still, the hold they placed is, in fact, on the original card used to book the room.

When I told people I had 2 nights booked in San Jose, the common response was, "why??" Believe me, I don't care to go back. However, if I do, I won't be staying at Hotel Presidente.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmarsh420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at Hotel Presidente for two nights at the end of November. Their customer service is excellent - prior to arriving, I exchanged several emails with Josue who accommodated our every need and even called to check on us upon arrival. We arranged for a taxi pickup at the airport, and they were there on time, which was wonderful. The location is excellent, right in the middle of everything, making us feel safe. The room was lovely, and the breakfast very good. I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone spending time in San Jose.

Room Tip: Higher floor may have better view and would avoid some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing