We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“El Presidente-San Jose” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“El Presidente-San Jose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from spending 4 nights at this hotel. First 3 nights were in a very standard room, even tho we had requested larger to accommodate 3 people traveling. Last night, after returning from Jaco Beach, we were upgraded to room with Jacuzzi. If only we had that room the first 3 nights! Felt safe in hotel, but right outside very scary...people living in boxes, missing limbs, holding cups to collect money, beggers, panhandlers, very rough local crowd. If you can get past that, there are a few restaurants near the hotel. Everywhere is caged/gated with wire over the top!! Not advised to go out at night; not safe after 10 pm!

Room Tip: Try get an upgrade, otherwise just a very small room with 2 double beds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mints2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    580
    132
    27
    14
See reviews for
211
627
124
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the first two nights and the last night of my trip around Costa Rica which I returned home on Feb 22nd this year. The hotel was very central, clean and of a good standard with restaurants/bars close by, to visit in the evening within walking distance. Upon looking around San Jose this hotel looked like it was one of the higher standard hotels. Found staff friendly and helpful, would recommend this hotel. The only down side was the noise from the city, from morning to late evening there are a lot of street traders shouting selling there goods and a club nearby that you can hear the singer until early hours of the of the morning. Though this would not put me off going again as it is in the centre of a big city and noise is to be expected!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Presidente at the beginning and end of each of our last three vacations to Costa Rica. We like soaking in the downtown San Jose experience and the Hotel Presidente is a perfect place to land. The complimentary breakfast each morning is quite adequate and pleasant. Each year it has been in a new location. The first year the breakfast was in the News Cafe location. Since that closed (and is now a cellphone store), last year breakfast was served in the lobby. This year we were up in the restaurant on the second floor. The offerings were all the same - just a different venue each time.

I like that the Hotel Presidente has the Fiesta Casino attached - gives me something to do at night! There are many restaurants close by and you are a short distance from the Central Market.

We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: We have stayed in a number of different rooms - especially liked our room this year that we stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed our last night in Costa Rica at this hotel.The location is exellent in the downtown of San Jose and located next to the pedestrian walking and shopping district. Within walking distance there are some nice restaurants. The room was spacious with fast WIFI and a good A/C, although the interior was pretty basic. Breakfast is buffet variant with a small selection of hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenaCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel is terribly managed,,reception people dont know what they do,,,
We got wrong rooms,,1 of the rooms had no window,, in the middle of the night strange people got our room key and simply entered ,, woke us up,,,,,made calls to the room and kept disturbing,,,e hell of a night
Pls dont go to that hotel,, although its location is ok
San jose is the ugliest city ever,,,,,dont waste time there if not needed

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed for one night at Hotel Presidente. Security met me at the guarded parking lot for the hotel (nice perk since it's free and there is NO parking to be found). He transported my luggage to the lobby for me. Check-in took no more than a few minutes and the front desk was friendly. The room was large and clean. Nice bathroom with shower and separate bathtub. Breakfast was good the next morning, which was included. The hotel is located on a main block. It was a good place to stay for one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sari2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in the center of San Jose in order to make a bus connection at the Musoc Bus Terminal to the cloud forest around Cerro de la Muerte, where we went to see resplendent quetzals. The staff of Hotel Presidente--particularly Josue and Jonathan--were very responsive and helpful, especially in helping us coordinate our connection with our cloud forest lodge. The room rate was reasonable, our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the hotel's buffet breakfast was quite good. We found no reason to linger in San Jose, which felt somewhat unsafe, but we'd certainly stay at this hotel again should we be passing through.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBadger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing