We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt return easily”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were given an inside room, with no window.This made the room completelyclistophobic.Lobby was something like on construction, common areas where not been taken care.
The pros are the position (you are in the middle of everything) and the very good quality of the breakfast (dont expect the amer.buffet, just some good costa rican choises).I would go back only if it was extremely necessery and I would ask for a room with at least a window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a good place to stay if you wish to experience downtown San Jose to its fullest. The hotel itself is family-friendly, seemed pretty safe, and had professional staff at the front desk all day and night as far as I could tell.

Service at the front desk was excellent. Everyone at the front desk spoke English fairly well. Jill was extremely helpful to us and helped us straighten out an issue we had with one of our tours. They also exchange currency at a pretty decent rate, just be aware that they are not allowed to hand back dollars for some reason (not sure if this is a hotel policy or a banking regulation or some such), so it's a one-way trade to CRCs.

Location-wise the hotel is in a bustling city center and is close to many museums, local attractions, bars and restaurants. But the area around it can get sketchy pretty fast too. Day time seemed safe, but night time can be a different story. Bear in mind that prostitution is legal and quite popular in Costa Rica, especially a couple blocks north of the hotel in the Red Zone (Zona Roja) where there are plenty of strip clubs (which double as brothels), hotels (which also often double as brothels), and street walkers at night. The girls and brothels are safe, it's the pick-pockets and thieves on the street and in bars you need to watch for as they will be out looking for touristy-types with wads of cash in their pockets. You can get a taxi ride from the hotel to any number of fine restaurants and attractions within a few kilometers for just a few dollars, so when in doubt just take a taxi. Also remember to do a little research on nearby restaurants to avoid getting ripped off, and don't let taxi drivers take you to a restaurant you did not specifically ask for as they may have been paid to take you elsewhere (write down name and address of where you're going to show them).

The main problem with the location is if you want to do tours outside the city, such as in the mountains. The issue is that returning to the hotel at the end of the day is a disaster due to traffic coming into the city. It can easily take close to an hour of stop-and-go traffic for a tour shuttle to get from the outskirts of town back to the Presidente. If you plan on doing tours, consider booking a hotel outside the city and then enjoying the Presidente when you're more focused on activities within the city. Or have your tour bus drop you off at a restaurant a several kilometers away and dine until traffic dies down after dark.

The suite we got was spacious and comfortable. Being a downtown setting, be advised that you'll likely hear street vendors from your room most of the day. We were on the 8th floor so it wasn't too bad, but the yelling and traffic was definitely audible -- just part of the experience. The housekeeping service seemed lazy and failed to replace our bedsheets a couple times, did not replace soap in the bathroom (or even clean the soap tray, leaving a soggy mess instead), and really just failed at doing anything but the bare minimum to make the room look somewhat tidy. So I had to ding this place on cleanliness.

All-in-all this is a pretty decent hotel if you want to experience the urban center of San Jose.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Udo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to visit San Jose by foot but you hear the noise from the street on weekend nights. Ask the front desk for a room not located on the street side if you want to go to bed early. We stayed there on the first and the last night in Costa Rica. The rooms were big and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. We did not have time to visit museums, but we walked around and found good restaurants. It's' nice to walk on the pedestrian street and get a real immersion in the capital of Costa Rica: lots of people, stores and American fast foods!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo201403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

El Presidente hotel was in a great location on the main pedestrian shopping street downtown. It didn't have all the big amenities of a giant business hotel, but it felt authentically Costa Rican to me - I like it when your hotel feels like its location! My room was spotless and comfortable - small, but pleasant. My window faced the main street, but I didn't notice any bothersome noise.

One small detail I liked: instead of bottled water, the hotel provided information that the tap water was safe and discarded water bottles are a major problem for the local environment. If you care about the ecology, this hotel shares your values!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blurgeshmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Presidente on the 1st night and last night of our Costa Rica trip. It seems to be a popular hotel where tour groups begin their journeys. The area seems kind of run down but the hotel was nice. We arrived late on the 1st night and were meeting our tour group early the next morning. We had flight delays and missed a connecting flight that day and were looking forward to a good night's rest. It didn't happen. Our room faced the street and there was loud music, loud talking and non-stop motorcycles outside til about 2 am. The room was nice and the breakfast good but it wasn't the way we expected to start our vacation.

When checking in for our last night after our travels around Costa Rica, we asked for a room away from the street and we were accommodated. It was a nice room with a decent view. We had the whole afternoon free before we had to leave for an early flight the next morning. We walked up and down the pedestrian walk and felt safe. We visited the National Museum, looked around the square and did some souvenir shopping in the market. There was a constant flow of people walking up and down the street. We didn't want to stray too far away from the hotel at night so we had a good dinner at a restaurant across the street.

On a final negative note, since we had a very early morning flight, we were promised a box breakfast. When checking out, the front desk knew nothing of this.

This is not a destination hotel but adequate for a 1 night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvsdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Only stayed here one night on my way to the coast. Staff was very nice. Our room was small but comfortable. The hotel reminded me of European hotels that are old but well kept. Breakfast was free and terrific - don't miss it.

My wife and I walked around the area for several hours. We saw no evidence of crime and no one hassled us for money. There were police walking everywhere and several gave us directions and suggestions. Although many people were strolling the streets we always felt safe. This hotel should alter its entrance to make it more attractive, but other than that it is a beautiful and well kept property. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Terrible locale, the reception area is in an alley — a would-be paradise for a rat community. Advised to stay in after 10 p.m. due to possible violent crime. I have visited many risky locales worldwide including Vietnam, Turkey, Southern Europe, North Africa, but El Presidente got under my skin. Just outside the hotel, I was confronted with drug pushers, beggars and rough looking characters. Most doors are gated with bars and locks. Staff issued me an ID and urged me to carry it with me at all times while inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing