We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in the heart of the city”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great hotel in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at hotel presidente during our stay in costa rica. it was centrally located about 30 mins from the airport. The area that the hotel is in is a bit loud and hectic, but it is close to shopping and the central market, theater, etc. The rooms were nice and very clean, as well as the washroom with a nice walk in shower. The only downside was there was no fridges in the rooms and the cable was all in spanish. we were out most of the day on tours and this was a good location because all the tours provided transportation to and from this hotel. Otherwise the staff were kind and helpful and the meals at the restaurant were delicious. Breakfast included omeletes made by request but no one told us that until our 4th day. I think the staff could be better with their communication.
all together it is a good, clean central hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    613
    142
    28
    16
See reviews for
221
699
130
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I arrived to Costa Rica around 1:00pm and I got to the hotel no later than 1:30pm. The check in time wasn't until 2pm but the hotel staff was gracious enough to allow me to check in early. The room I had was on the 6th floor and had a great view over downtown San Jose. The hotel staff was absolutely amazing. They were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast that was included was good as well, they have great options to choose from and the Costa Rican coffee was nice and flavorful. I didn't spend much time in the hotel because I was out and about but my time there was pleasant and I would definitely stay here again as well as reccamend this hotel to those who want to stay in the middle of downtown San Jose where there are bars, stores, malls, parks, museums and anything else you can think of!!!!

Room Tip: I read a lot of reviews about noise from the Main Street but I didn't encounter any problems reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is situated right in the centre of San Jose with a small back entrance on to the main road with shops and restaurants close by. The front bedrooms are noisy in the evening if you need an early night after a long flight - so ask for a room at the back.
Bedrooms have free WiFi and a hairdryer, but no fridge or coffee making facilities. Each room has two queen size beds which are very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you wanyt a quiet night, ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleckney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The breakfast that's included in the stay is amazing! Everything was so delicious and all of the staff was kind and courteous! This was a very nice hotel in a very crummy city. Thankfully we took plenty of tours that picked us up from the hotel and took us to our destinations. If you're going to stay in San Jose, stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michi941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location near the Gold Museum and the National Theater, big clean rooms, good breakfast buffet, great staff, decent WiFi. Don't expect fancy, and at this price you don't get it, but it's good value for the money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonchaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our stay in the Presidente was not a particularly memorable experience.
From check-in we were told we were one room short of what we booked and that our group would have to share rooms. This was rectified a bit later but after a long journey was not the news we were looking for.
The hotel is clean and fairly modern but it is very cramped and dark. There seems to be no natural light and the hotel is difficult to locate from the street on first arrival.

The room air-conditioning didn't work too well, and the hard beds made for a broken sleep.
Breakfast was also fairly basic.

The hotel is located in the center of San Jose, opposite the pedestrian mall which has a few bars and restaurants that are conveniently located.

Certainly nothing flash that will stick in my memory.

Room Tip: No international adapters in the rooms or bathrooms so remember to bring along an adapter or two if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigcat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is right in the center of San Jose, on the pedestrian shopping street that runs down the middle of the city. Very convenient if you are looking to do some shopping and go to the parks and Opera house. Rooms are clean but fairly spartan. The free buffet breakfast offered a wide choice of foods.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel, away from the pedestrian mall. The mall is noisy until close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
945 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
5.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing