We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in one Place”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in one Place”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I always enjoy to visit my friends in CR, and stay at the Hotel Presidente...why?...great location, excellent rooms, restaurant and lovely staff...weak points: it is a shame that the last time id check in, theres was a loud rock music at the little info desk...dont forget the details....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    603
    140
    28
    16
See reviews for
219
685
129
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We wanted to stay one night in San Jose, Costa Rica to experience the bustle of the city for a short while, prior to departing on our flight home. This hotel is located at the corner of a busy shopping thoroughfare/ retail area in downtown San Jose. We had previously (and mostly) stayed in the Arenal/La Fortuna area during our weeklong vacation; we wanted to be in the city on the morning of our flight's departure day in order to avoid stress of traveling a long distance to get to the airport on-time. The hotel room is spacious and clean, but the furnishings struck me as a bit stodgy and sparse for the amount of square footage that the room had. The bathroom is also large with a large tub. The food at the restaurant on the first floor was excellent but pricey. When staying at this hotel, there is a definite feeling of security wherever you are inside the hotel confines (elevator, restaurant, hotel room and hallways) which was a plus.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Admiral_Zheng_He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This is a great hotel in a great location within the city. The restaurant is also top-notch. The rooms are very spacious and trendy/modern. All in all, this is a great place to stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal_in_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My wife and I went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon. We were just staying at the Presidente the night before we left as a jumping off point to go to the airport. On the way here, our passports, camera, etc were all stolen. Needless to stay, I can't say I noticed a whole lot about the hotel the first night. However, the front desk did call up that night and offer a lake check out the next morning, as we had to go the US Embassy. I found that to be very kind.
We ended up having to change our travel plans to the next day, and upon re-checking into the hotel, the manager asked how our stay was. I told him "its been awful" and that we were on our honeymoon. He upgraded us to a beautiful suite, even though it wasn't even their fault! We got into our room, and 20 minutes later, we were greeted at the door by a bottle of champagne and some chilled strawberries for our honeymoon as a gift! It was by far the best night of our honeymoon, and was all thanks to the courteous and understanding staff, wonderful manager, and the beautifully done rooms (both the standard rooms and the suite).
As far as the rest of the hotel, it too was wonderful. There is a great shopping area on the road outside of the hotel, the concierge knew where to find everything around there, and the breakfast was simply wonderful. The hotel itself is beautiful and well-maintained. This hotel was truly a great representation of what a nice hotel should be.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsnow1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My standard room was stunning - the entire room was refurbished and repainted, the bathroom too! The LCD tv and mini bar were a nice treat as well. Check in was a breeze and the concierge was helpful when I requested assistance. The gym is located up on the 7th floor. You have a panoramic view of the city from there. A couple of exercise machines and weights, just enough to squeese in a satisfying work out. The restaurant/cafe on site was absoutely delicious. I would recommend the chicken breast with grilled pineapple or the coconut shrimp. Very tasty. Quick service.

This property is conveniently located in the heart of San Jose - right on the main shopping boulevard. You don't have to take a taxi anywhere. Everything is at your doorstep. I felt very safe here.

No real cons - except for the fact that the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelito123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielmh, Thank you for your review of Hotel Presidente at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 3 July 2009
Dear Mr.Carmelo:

Thank you for choosing our Hotel, and for taking time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviews such as yours are invaluable to small, independent hotels such as the Presidente. I will translate your kind words and post them for all our Staff to read and enjoy.

We would love to receive any other comments and suggestions you may have on how we can improve our service and become a better Hotel. Your experiences would be very valuable to us in our effort to fulfill and surpass our costumers’ expectations.

You can contact me directly at daniel@hotel-presidente.com.

Thank you for your time, patronage, kind words and extremely valuable review.

At your service,


Daniel Mikowski H.
Director
Hotel Presidente
San José, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Having just spent a week a this hotel I can say that I would stay there again without hesitation, although housekeeping could definitely improve. Our room, a junior suite was large and reasonably well-appointed, but the room was clearly not vacuumed daily (possibly not at all during our stay) and amenities were not regularly replaced (shampoo and, especially toilet paper).

With that one exception I liked everything about the hotel. Yes, the restaurant and bar area is small, but if I wanted larger there were many nearby options. My wife described it as cozy. The staff were helpful and extremely friendly and the breakfast was large and varied somewhat daily. The location, on the pedestrian area, is perfect for any reasonably active person.

One note: flag a taxi, don't use one waiting beside the hotel unless you want to pay double or more than the normal meter rate.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigguy425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Right in the centre of the city on a pedestrian avenue, a very clean and
modern hotel.
The rooms have all required facilities and the service was excellent.
A great bar and restaurant on the ground floor open onto the
pedestrian avenue giving a really good
atmosphere to the place. My only negative comment would be the cost of internet access in the lobby $20 for 30 minutes, if you need
to keep in touch there are two locations just down from the hotel with
reasonable/realistic charges.
The places in San Jose worth visiting can probably be covered in a maximum 2 days, do arrange a trip out to see one of the nearby volcanoes and have a tour around the National Theatre, its a beautiful building whatever your taste in music.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielmh, Director at Hotel Presidente, responded to this review, 1 June 2009
We are very pleased and grateful with this wonderful review. I will be sharing it with all our Staff for them to enjoy.

We wish to clarify the issue regarding our Internet access in the Hotel’s Lobby. I believe there was a misunderstanding, as the service is complimentary for hotel guests and it always has been. We have a wireless signal as well as two terminals for our guests to enjoy with no charge.

We do have a sign that states that we charge $20 for 30 minutes to non-guests. We have this up to prevent individuals who are not guests from requesting to use the service for free or simply taking over a terminal. Those terminals are meant for our guests’ enjoyment only. That is why we have a rather pricy rate to discourage non-guests from occupying them and claiming that it is a free service.

Our Internet connection is complimentary for guests in all areas of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,233 reviews
5.9 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing