We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service....”
Review of Hotel Presidente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Presidente
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service....”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I can't say enough good things about the accommodating staff at Hotel Presidente. Jonathan and Erick went above and beyond to help procure bus tickets to Panama, and book last minute excursions for us. In addition the hotel was extremely accommodating when our air conditioner had problems, quickly moving us into another room. Even changing a light bulb or battery in the safe was responded to and resolved promptly. The hotel has a nice buffet breakfast included in the room rate, and the lobby News Cafe is great for lunch/dinner, cocktails, and people watching. The hotel is centrally located in San Jose. I very much enjoyed my stay in this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B11SeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    600
    139
    28
    16
See reviews for
218
671
128
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I had gotten everything stolen before arriving in San Jose and had no ID, cash or credit cards. So, I couldn't get money wired to me. I stopped into Presidente and they let me make an international call for free and then arranged for me to stay there, while I waited to get cash. They even upgraded me to a suite. It was soo clean. They spoiled me. The food is great in the restaurant. Huge portions. Also, walking distance to nearly everything. Great experience. Thanks again for taking care of me! :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyleelud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Located in the heart of San Jose, this hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and museums. We arrived to the city after an early morning flight, and were greeted by the hotel's pleasant and efficient staff. Surprisingly, we were upgraded from a spa room to the top floor honeymoon suite. Even though the room wasn't ready when we arrived, we were able to safely leave our luggage at the hotel and enjoy lunch in the city. The room was large, with a sitting area, walk-in closet, large LCD TV, and in-room safe. The bedroom had a very comfortable king-size bed (so comfortable that we laid down to rest around 3pm and didn't wake up until it was already dark). We also had a balcony overlooking the city with a private hot tub. With all the hustle and bustle of the city, the view was not the greatest, but it was nice to have one. Since we were on the 8th floor, we had less city noise than we'd expect the lower rooms to have, but the upper air conditioning unit was a bit noisy. Since we had an early departure for Tortuguero the next morning (6:10am), we just ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant (a nice meal with open-air seating). The included breakfast began at 6am, so we were able to check out, place our luggage in the hotel's complimentary storage, and have a very quick breakfast before we had to leave. When we returned to pick up our bags a few days later, we had no issue and found everything as we left it. (We'd advise using TSA-approved locks, like we did.) We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Hotel Presidente had nice rooms, crisp white sheets and cable TV. The views were not that great but the location is - its right in the center of San Jose on a pedestrian street. The News Cafe down below is very good. Breakfast is incl in the rate $100 a night. The staff esp Gabriela was superb and booked our trips and transport - we liked our stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allieh75
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I wish this hotel wasn't located in San Jose, because otherwise I would have been compelled to stay another night. However, the city is dirty and loud and there is so much beauty to see in Costa Rica just within a half hour outside the city.

Anyway, we truly enjoyed our stay here. We were updated to the hotel's suite with a jacuzzi on the balcony. And when I mentioned that it was our honeymoon, they sent a woman up to light candles all around the room, to set the mood, you know :) The room, by the way, was gorgeous and so reasonable too.

Lastly, I cannot rave enough about their food. Our first dinner there was such a treat and we got a bottle of wine compliments of the manager, just for being newlyweds.

If you want to stay in a luxurious hotel, with great food and great staff, please look into hotel presidente.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allieh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I always enjoy to visit my friends in CR, and stay at the Hotel Presidente...why?...great location, excellent rooms, restaurant and lovely staff...weak points: it is a shame that the last time id check in, theres was a loud rock music at the little info desk...dont forget the details....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We wanted to stay one night in San Jose, Costa Rica to experience the bustle of the city for a short while, prior to departing on our flight home. This hotel is located at the corner of a busy shopping thoroughfare/ retail area in downtown San Jose. We had previously (and mostly) stayed in the Arenal/La Fortuna area during our weeklong vacation; we wanted to be in the city on the morning of our flight's departure day in order to avoid stress of traveling a long distance to get to the airport on-time. The hotel room is spacious and clean, but the furnishings struck me as a bit stodgy and sparse for the amount of square footage that the room had. The bathroom is also large with a large tub. The food at the restaurant on the first floor was excellent but pricey. When staying at this hotel, there is a definite feeling of security wherever you are inside the hotel confines (elevator, restaurant, hotel room and hallways) which was a plus.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Admiral_Zheng_He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Presidente

Property: Hotel Presidente
Address: Central Avenue Blvd | 7th Street, San Jose 2922-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Presidente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic landmark in San Jose, Costa Rica, Hotel Presidente is a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown San Jose. With its vibrant ambiance, modern decor and great service, our 4-star upscale hotel is the symbol of hospitality and the cultural soul Costa Rica's capital city. Celebrated for our eco-friendly tourism practices, Hotel Presidente is a window into Costa Rica's land, people and heritage. Experience an unforgettable vacation adventure, romantic getaway or business trip at Hotel Presidente... the place to relax, connect, inspire, dine, and explore Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing