We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This boutique is filled with beautiful antiques and tropical plants and is truly a lovely place for romance and relaxation. We had an excellent dinner in the open terrace - an atmosphere of total romance.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozlocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

It is extremely difficult to find a quality accommodation in San Jose. Since the capital is often just a stepping stone to other destinations in the country, many hotels are run down or simply just not nice.
Grano de Oro is an exception in this bleak landscape : the setting is simply great, the rooms are big and very nice, the restaurant is very good, and the staff does everything they can to make guests welcome and assist them.
Furthermore, the interior courtyard is a wonderful and soothing place to spend some time.
I've stayed here 3 times in the past month, and would definitely come back here next time I'm in Costa Rica

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank knilfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed here for a night before heading off to Guanacaste- the neighborhood was kind of freaky-lots of barbed wire fences-but the hotel was very beautiful. They have a rooftop hot tub, and you can just lay up there and listen to the sounds of the city. It was relaxing. The bellhops were very helpful. The room was nice. We had breakfast at the restaurant, and our waiter was awesome-he asked me if I spoke Spanish, and after I told him "un poquito" he guided us in ordering our food in Spanish. It was fun. The Continental breakfast and the Traditional Costa Rican breakfast were both very good. The juices were delicious too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sierra5484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We needed a stop before heading to the airport, so we settled on the Hotel Grano De Oro based on the other reviews of the hotel. I'm glad we did. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. We even had our own private courtyard with water fountain. It was very elegant. The breakfast in the morning was the best we had by far on our trip. The food was gourmet and the wait staff was extremely nice. Our waiter went out of his way to tell us how in Costa Rica you only have to pay an additional tip of food service if you feel that it was well deserved. They automatically charge a 10% service fee on the bill. Our nature is to tip 20% back in the states, so we did tip 10% additionally. But we both agreed that it was nice of waiter. I guess he thought we had just arrived in Costa Rica! I would highly recommend this hotel. It's great as a stopover or a full stay as well in Costa Rica. Keep in mind it is about 15minutes to the airport from there. Not a huge deal. But if you have a really early flight you may want to consider staying near the hotel. I also recommend venturing outside the hotel. A 10-15 minute walk to the shopping area is worth it to check out the central market. It's the local market where folks sell fruits, vegetables, meats, and more. It's very authentic as it's not geared towards tourists but local individuals. It was fun walking around, I felt like I was on an episode of Anthony Bourdain!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed here overnight to rest up for the bus trip to La Fortuna and we are glad we did. This is a very well kept small hotel with great rooms and fabulous bar. The staff are uniformly helpfull.

We ran into others later in our trip who also had stayed their first nifgt here and just loved it too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rippercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Very simple, in a few words this hotel is BAD NEWS!!! They gave our room to another party and the manager did not have any good explanation at all... front desk staff very unfriendly and careless...The hotel was full so we had to find another hotel. NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank rogerlmendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Can confirm that this hotel's Trip Advisor rating of #1 is not an accident. It is spectacular! I would go as far as to say it's worth the trip from Europe to San Jose just to eat at the restaurant. I was virtually unable to speak for the 2 hours of the meal. Absolutely sensational. The rooms are also immaculate and extremely comfortable, and the spa is truly decadent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 78 in San Jose
944 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £121 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing