We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No doubt, the best hotel in San Jose.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“No doubt, the best hotel in San Jose.”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have been to San Jose in 1996, 1998 and again this year. Each time we have stayed at Hotel Grano de Oro and although it has changed over the years, it still has the feel of a small luxury hotel with wonderful, friendly staff. The rooms are updated and very comfortable. The restaurant, while expensive, is fair value for the money. Everything about this hotel is professional and done with the guest in mind. Cannot imagine staying anywhere else in San Jose.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the reception area. Many people depart very early for morning flights and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGDO, General Manager at Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for your continued support and for your kind comments regarding our wonderful and friendly staff. We agree that they are indeed a wonderful group of people and we are very proud of each and every one of them and it is so nice to hear that you feel they are still the same as they were 14 years ago. We hope you don’t wait 14 years to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    389
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
289
1,038
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse Yukon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We started and ended our stay in Costa Rica here - and were very satisfied. The standard room was really nice and comfortable - great value. The ambiance of the whole place was lovely and relaxing, the staff and service excellent. Short walk to the Art Museum, which was probably the highlight of San Jose (other than the hotel).

Room Tip: The standard room was great (#14), however I could hear the footsteps from the room above - so a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitehorseYukonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here on our trip to Costa Rica. The first and the last night before traveling back to the states. I loved both our standard which I booked since we would only be in it about 12 hours and our deluxe room. Charming is probably the best word to describe it. We will always stay in this hotel if/when traveling through San Jose.

Room Tip: Eat at the outdoor portion of the restaurant after dark. You will not be sorry. Don't expect i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber_Anastasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed three nights in a Deluxe room in January, 2012. The service, room (including bed), food and furnishings/decor, were all excellent. This is a very nice boutique hotel I'd unhesitatingly recommend. I found the hotel on TripAdvisor (thankyouthankyou) and it exceeded my expectations in every way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynettelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by the company which designed our tour package. It is located in downtown San Jose and it is certainly the hotel of choice for the downtown of San Jose itself, although there may be other hotels in the suburbs of San Jose which may have advantages lacking in the Grano de Oro, specifically spacious grounds and/or outdoor recreation opportunities. The Grano do Oro has no swimming pool or tennis court, for example. However, it is a very charming hotel. The original hotel was located in a Victorian house which has been progressively expanded in a manner which is very tasteful and was cleverly done. The result is a maze like structure which permits the illusion of great privacy in each room. There are several courtyards upon which the rooms look out so that guests feel that they are in a little village of their own. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are very well appointed, with full bath tubs as well as showers. In spite of being downtown, the rooms are quiet. The restaurant associated with the hotel is touted as the best restaurant in San Jose. I have no way of knowing if this is true, but the hotel's restaurant is very good indeed. I highly recommend the Hotel Grano de Oro to anyone staying in Costa Rica's capital.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We fell in love with this hotel at first sight of the foyer!
It is an eclectic mix which somehow works to give it an unique charm and style.
Obviously an amalgam of different buildings, its corridors meander at unlikely points while stairways sprout unexpectedly to take you to what should by logic be a downstairs room. Getting hopelessly lost in such a small hotel is part of the fun.
The decor is period, and there are period pieces of furniture and other decorations scattered throughout the buildings and the rooms, adding marvellously to the charm. This could have been overdone, but someone knew when to say "when."
There is a nicely appointed dining room with a mouth-watering menu, and a coffee shop that fills a partly covered courtyard and that serves breakfast and then snacks throughout the day.
Reception, along with the rest of the staff are extremely welcoming and make checking in as smooth as possible. Any queries or requests are dealt with expeditiously and with a smile.
This seems to be a Costa Rican trait, particularly in evidence here - nothing ever seems to be a problem, and whatever it is they do it with a smile!
The rooms are wonderful, again period style with large double beds and bathrooms. Seats and coffee table with coffee maker. TV. We had an upgrade and our room had an exquisite water feature in a little annexe which was extraordinary.
I would strongly recommend this hotel. It is a welcome antidote to the ersatz style dished out by the big chains.
I would highly recommend this hotel -

Room Tip: See if you can get a free upgrade - this means a bigger room and something like our water feature. U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Superlatives are very much deserved. Cuisine is very good. The design of the interior courtyard's elegant dining area, with tables both inside and outside is exquisite. Warm, deep , dark woodwork every where. Quite a unique property that you are delighted to return to after exploring SJ. Glad we booked an extra night. No pool.

Room Tip: A screw up landed us in #3 a standard room with a queen. It is smallish, although one does not spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
875 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing